Writing and Reading, and Ghosts-Oh my!

There’s always so many awesome blogs to read, so I always appreciate mash-ups to help me find out what I missed and what’s happening in the blogosphere.  Here are my favorite reads from the past 2 weeks.  So settle in, enjoy some hot apple cider and a sweet roll while autumn rustles in.

Oops, I didn't mean to give you mine!

Writers and Readers and Speakers:

Piper Bayard blogs about her seven year journey towards being a writer and shares her tips on starting out and attending writer conferences.

Larry Brooks guest posts at Ollin Morales’ blog, Courage 2 Create, about The Most Powerful Learning Tool a Writer Could Ever Have.

Katie Ganshert poses the question of how to write a Love Triangle – will your reader love it or hate you?  She uses Vampire Diaries as her illustration!  *Squeal!*

Trish Loye Elliot from over at Wordbitches posted an interesting question for writers, Bookclubs – A Good Idea or a Huge Time Suck?  Share your take on the worthiness of reading when writing time is scarce.

Renee Schuls-Jacobson takes the Dialect Challenge and vlogs about pronunciation and accents in The Hybrid Accent.  It’s hysterical and fun, you must watch and share your own language quirks.

Creepy True Stories From Around the World:

Stacy Green writes about the creepiest child killer true story I’ve ever read.  Read it, it’s so eerie!  The Sweet Face of Pure Evil.

Catie Rhodes shares super spooky legends and videos about the Ghosts of Cameron Park in Waco, Texas.

Pam Hawley is turning Hawleyville into the Hawleyville Hauntings next month!  Check out her line-up as she gears up for Halloween!  Fall, Festivities, and Freakitude.

Exciting news:  Get ready this October as Jess Witkins’ Happiness Project turns into Jess Witkins’ Haunted Blog for the WHOLE MONTH!  Expect costume ideas, Halloween how-to’s, ghost stories, scary movies, books, and more ghoulie fun!  Muahahahaha!

19 responses

  1. Mmm like the Autumn food and drink! And yay a post using Vampire Diaries, I’m reading this one!

    1. I LOVE VAMPIRE DIARIES!!! LOL, the post was really thought provoking too.

  2. Dude! I am excited to see all the goodies you’re planning for this month. October is my favorite month of the year. Thanks for including me in your mash-up. :D

    1. I really want to go on a haunted road trip and look for the Witch’s Castle. And climb Jacob’s ladder. Great review!

  3. Looks like several of us have the same idea…Spooky October! I can’t wait to see your lineup! Fall is my favorite time of year…*grabbing that cinnamon donut* Mmm, love cider and donuts!

    1. Wait, wait, use a napkin!! LOL

      I know a lot of us will be ghost blogging this month and I can’t wait! It’s going to seriously spooky fun.

  4. Trish Loye Elliott | Reply

    Love your pics (I so need a doughnut right now) and your mash-up. I love being introduced to new blogs. Thanks for including me.
    I can’t wait to see what you’ve got planned for Oct.

    1. I had another great book club meeting this last week. I’m posting the book review on Wednesday, stop back and see if it’s one your book club wants to add. The discussion could be worth it!

  5. I’m with you. I love to read people’s favorite posts as there is simply no way to read everything that whizzes across my TweetDeck! Thanks for the mention. Can’t wait for your Fall Fun to begin!

    1. Loved getting to hear your voice! Really fun post, Renee!

      P.S. The Lawrence Welk theme song has been in my head for days! This is all your fault, well, truth be told, I don’t mind the song, but people are starting to look at me funny.

  6. Haunted Blog?! Sweet!

  7. Ooh I’m checking out the Vampire Diaries one! *Squeals too!!*

  8. Your picture makes me want to run down to the LaMarr’s donut shop and pig out. Thanks for including me. I’m honored. :)

    1. I’ll go with you, let me grab my purse! :D

  9. I am so psyched for your haunted blog, Jess! And I loved Catie’s Freaky Friday post last week! Will definitely check out some of these others!

  10. Don’t forget MAPLE bacon bars from VOODOO Doughnut! I don’t know how you could possibly get more autumn/Halloween than that!!

  11. Happy Halloween? I’ve never been on a book club before. :-) However, if it will recommend books that I’m supposed to read, why not? It makes my life easier.

    1. Great post by Trish, I think she spoke truthfully about concerns about book clubs while still stating why they can be so great.

Tell me a story...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,834 other followers

