Valentines For Pets – And People!

Today I’m pleased to welcome pet expert and thriller writer, Amy Shojai, to The Happiness Project! I’ve read Amy’s book, Lost and Found, and LOVED it!
She’s got bite – I mean, a great voice!
So please welcome Amy and her purr-fect Valentine’s tales!

*****

If you really want to please your partner this Valentine’s Day buy catnip and chew toys (and pet-centric books!) instead of chocolate. Love me, love my pet is the new Valentine rule of paw.

Cats and dogs show affection and devotion in very different ways. What some folks might find objectionable actually is the ultimate in a kitty or canine compliment! Here are a few examples:

  • Cats hop on our laps—then present their ass-ets for a sniff. (It’s sort of a backwards kitty compliment).
  • Dogs jump up and knock us down or ruin outfits. They’re trying to reach/lick your face, a way of saying “you’re the boss, I love you.”
  • Cats claw your most favorite chair—marking something that smells like you as their most favorite territory.
  • Dogs chew up your favorite purse—again, it smells like you and he wants to be close to his beloved.

I’ve written and lectured and been quoted about dog and cat behavior and care more times than I like to admit—in dog years, I should be dead! Lately, though, I’ve branched into fiction writing to bring the “good news” about pets to a whole new audience. People who have no interest in a how-to pet care/behavior book lap it up like BACON when presented as doggy (or kitty) litter-ature.

My dog viewpoint thrillers feature a German Shepherd service dog, a trained Maine Coon cat, and an animal behaviorist. The newest HIDE AND SEEK was just released, and here’s a teeny BACON-flavored taste to tempt you to learn more:

Hide and SeekHIDE AND SEEK masterfully blends ripped-from-the-headlines urgency with an emotional story of real characters in escalating dangers. Written with authority and deft brilliance that any lover of animals or nerve-jangling thrillers will cherish.” James Rollins, New York Times bestseller of “The Eye of God”

HIDE AND SEEK is a creepy must read mystery for animal lovers. Animal behaviorist Amy Shojai knows her stuff.” J.T. Ellison, NYT bestselling author of “When Shadows Fall”

“A shocking betrayal, a reality TV show gone horribly wrong, and murders related to an unthinkable cause, HIDE AND SEEK is a mystery/thriller you won’t be able to put down!” Alan Leverone, best-selling thriller author of “Mr. Midnight” and “The Lonely Mile”

“Recommended for anyone who likes a ‘bite-your-nails, hold-your-breath’ kind of thriller.” Dr. Lorie Huston, veterinarian and Cat Writers’ Association president

I adore my main characters in these stories (the first was LOST AND FOUND) because they’re real to me. Shadow the dog and Macy the cat love their human, September Day (a behaviorist) unconditionally just like my “real” pets Magical-Dawg and Seren-Kitty love me. What we’d do for those we love—human and furry—really drives these thriller stories. And in real life, we love our pets back. Some of us wish our human loves were more like the pets.

Don’t believe me? Get a load of this! A few years ago, a joint global poll by Reuters/Ipsos of 24,000 people in 23 countries found 21 percent of adults would rather spend February 14 with their pet than their spouse. And the American Kennel Club (AKC) surveyed dog owners and found even more startling results. Nearly 90 percent of women wish their boyfriend or husband was more like their dog. More than a third of women said, “If my dog was a man, he’d be my boyfriend!”

Men also wish their significant other shared some of the same qualities as their dog, especially the quality of “always being in a good mood.” Only 23 percent of men surveyed agreed with the statement, “If my dog was a woman she’d be my girlfriend.”

Based on the results, men and women should go to the dog for hints on pleasing the special humans in their lives. In fact, people have such strong bonds with their dogs and cats that the human in your life may become jealous. Reasons include dedicating “too much” time to the pet, preferring to cuddle with the dog rather than their mate, or that the dog “likes me better.”

Canine qualities women look for in men include a perennial good mood, willingness to spend time together, eagerness to cuddle on the couch, and being happy to eat her cooking without complaint. The survey also indicated women appreciated how dogs helped motivate them to exercise. Canine qualities that men appreciate in women include being as happy to spend time at home as out on the town, offering enthusiastic greetings when he returns home, and not getting mad when he wants to watch sports. Men also liked it that dogs were “up” for anything he wants to do.

So this Valentine’s Day, let your romantical inclinations take into account the cats and dogs that your two-legged honey adores. That’ll have them wagging their virtual tails in purrfect bliss!

Amy&Magic&SerenloresAmy Shojai (www.shojai.com) has been reinventing herself for years. She’s a certified animal behavior consultant, and the award-winning author of 27 best selling pet books that cover furry babies to old-fogies, first aid to natural healing, and behavior/training to Chicken Soup-icity. She is the Puppies Guide at puppies.About.com, the cat behavior expert at cats.About.com, and hosts a weekly half hour Internet Pet Peeves radio show. Amy has been featured as an expert in hundreds of print venues including The New York Times, Reader’s Digest, and Family Circle, as well as national radio and television networks such as CNN, Animal Planet’s DOGS 101 and CATS 101.

HIDE AND SEEK published by Cool Gus Publishing is available in Trade Paperback for $11.99 and all Ebook formats for $4.99 (for Kindle, Nook, iPad, etc.). You may order the book via online stories such as amazon.com and Barnes and Noble. Find out more at Amy’s Bling, Bitches & Blood Blog at http://amyshojai.com

25 responses

  1. Thanks for hosting me today, what fun!

    1. Thanks for joining me Amy!

  2. Oh, forgot to “check” the notify box, doh! *s*

  3. Love, love, love Amy! She’s helped me by answering questions about a deaf kitten. I own one of her pet books and Lost and Found! Loved both. As for my valentine pet, my ten yr old cat, Rocky, is the most affectionate and lovable kitty. My husband who could take or leave pets, in general, has come to love Rocky, too. I think it’s because Rocky curls up next to hubby for sleep time. Hubby’s flattered. Happy Love Day to you, Jess, and to you, Amy! Great post! Wishing you both a happy valentines day!

    1. Aww sounds like Rocky’s the perfect Valentine. Too cute. I keep trying to convince Joe we should get a pet, but he says no. :( Guess I’m stuck with him all to myself this year. Lol

  4. Awww….thank you Marcia! Those kitties have ways of wiggling into even the most reluctant heart. *s* Hope you enjoy HIDE AND SEEK as much as the first book. *s*

  5. Oh, goodie, you’ve got a new book out, Amy! I loved Lost and Found. Can’t wait to sink my teeth into the new one. Congrats!!

    1. Hi Kassandra! Thanks for visiting the blog–and I can’t wait to hear what you think of HIDE AND SEEK. *s*

    2. Hahaha “sink your teeth into”… Love it Kassandra! Happy reading!

  6. As a dog owner, I love this. As for Hide and Seek? Sounds like something that should be on my TBR list.

    1. Hope you enjoy HIDE AND SEEK when you get a chance to read it. *s* What’s your dog’s name?

      1. I have two female Shiba Inus. Their names are Isabella and Ryka.

        1. Oooh, Shibas are such pretty dogs. A few years ago I attended the specialties before Westminster and there’s nothing more fun than a whole ring full of Shiba Inus. *s*

          1. They are a riot, for sure. Sometimes a bit too smart for their own good, too. Yes. My dogs and I have a lot in common. :-D

    2. I loved it Kitt! Amy knows how to write great suspense. Thanks for visiting us on Valentine’s!

  7. I laughed at the idea of a dog saying “you’re the boss, I love you,” since my cats seem to be saying, “I’M the boss, I love you.” LOL.

    Amy’s multicat household book was amazing!!! So very helpful. I’ll be putting her fiction on my TBR list. While not really a dog person (sorry, y’all, bad experiences as a kid), I still enjoy a great pet story.

    Thanks for the tips! I will say that I sleep every night between my husband and my cat — so I get affection from both sources. :)

    1. LOL Julie! It’s all in the translation. *eg* And you should really enjoy HIDE AND SEEK as the plot is very cat-centric, too.

    2. Well then you must’ve had a very happy valentines. :)

      What did you and the hubster do for Valentine’s Day?

  8. […] Valentines for Pets & People my guest blog last Friday […]

  9. I’m glad my husband prefers me over our dog. :)
    Congrats on the book and endorsements Amy!
    Thanks for bringing this to the party Jess! I hope you have fun clicking on links and mingling with the guests!

    1. I did Susie! I even followed some new peeps! And I appreciated Kassandra’s post about wedding vows since Joe and I are writing our own.

      And I’m glad your hubby loves you more than the dog! LOL

    2. Thanks bunches, Susie!

  10. Glad you liked my post so much, Jess.

    Amy, go check out my comment over at Susie’s site re: your post. Jess thinks you will get a kick out of it.

    1. Yes! Thanks for sharing!

Tell me a story...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,868 other followers

