Day 4: Junk Food and Writer’s Block

Prepare yourself, writers, NaNoWriMo is not for amateurs.  I can’t imagine what all the poor writers committed to writing 50,000 words are feeling right now.  I’m having a hard time with my 500 words a day pact.  My story is about Lydia, a little girl whose best friends are ghosts.  I’ve done alright with the background story and the character quirks, but now I have to actually invent some sort of plot, there needs to be conflict!  Introduction, rising action, climax, falling action and denoument.  Isn’t that right?

My dinner diet of cheetos followed by breakfast/lunch of cheetos and a luna bar cannot be helping me.  What a terrible idea to keep a food journal when you’re stressed out.  It reads “hello glutonous, overworked and unimaginative swine.  You could make yourself a spinach salad, but there’s a bag of peanut butter chocolates right next to you, and really, won’t they do?  P.S.  Your writing sucks.  Love, indigestion and doubt.”

I’m determined to keep this up.  I want to continue this project next week by starting a new story or creative writing piece again.  I have to tell myself this uneasy, worrisome, daunting and inopportune task I’ve assigned myself is good for me.

Tell me a story...

