Writer’s Group Wanted

I’ve facebooked a few friends and proposed starting a writer’s discussion group.  We can meet once a month if that’s all that works out, but at least have some time to get input on writing we’re working on, or share conversations on great books we’ve read.  I know I’m not alone in the recent english college graduate world of never finding time to write or not seeing writing as a real career option.  But all of us are in withdrawal.  We studied to do our own writing!  And instead, we’re folding sweater tables, at least that’s what I’m doing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the people I work with, but now that it’s been two years since I’ve had any kind of english related activities, I really, REALLY miss it.

Goals for the week:

1.  300 Words a day on the Short Story that won’t end.  Must give Lydia pertinent information that will help her find her ghost friends.  No editing allowed until complete.

2.  Update blog.  Read blogs.  Learn how to do something new with blog.

3.  Journal each day.  And record 5 things you are truly grateful for in journal entry.

4.  Read each day.  (Books currently in progress:  “A Girl Named Zippy” by Haven Kimmel, “The Mayflower” by Nathaniel Philbrick, and “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows)

5.  Do not eat the next bag of chips you buy in 1 or 2 sittings.  Make time to make dinner.

3 responses

  1. I hope you are on track with your goals! Are you still looking to start a writer’s group? (Once a month is about all I can commit.)

    Funny, I met Haven Kimmel. I used to live in her hometown. She was an accomplished poet before she became a novelist.

    1. I absolutely loved her book! It made me laugh out loud, and I did several dramatic readings aloud for my family from her book. 🙂

  2. Great goals for the week!
    My goal is to continue typing when my hubbie tries to make me feel guilty about not becoming a couch potato with him:-)…watching t.v. makes me restless, unless it is something funny!
    Count me in for the Writer’s Group. We can keep each other inspired. I think I have to check out this Haven Kimmel book…the last gut laugh I had came from viewing a Chris Rock DVD:-)
    Okay….’til next time!

Tell me a story...

