Girl dumps Protagonist in Pit, Battles Troll, Counts Her Blessings

Writing is Exhausting and Caffeinated, I mean fun!

Step 1:   300 words a day.

  • With the exception of one day, I have been faithfully adding to the story of Lydia, my quirky heroine of a somewhat children’s tale about a little girl whose best friends are ghosts.  One day, those ghostly amigos are taken by an evil skeleton man!  Lydia is now quickly uncovering the reasons for their disappearance after sneaking into the evil man’s house.  Tragically, her intended night of valor and rescue has left her trapped in an afterlife and there I’ve dumped her.

Step 2:  Blog.  Read.  Repeat.

  • Found an exceptionally helpful writer’s blog by Kristen Lamb here.  Have read other blogs she recommends, researched writing workshops, fantasized about a trip to Texas…who’s with me?!  🙂  Making serious plans to restructure my blog.  Need ideas for what to blog about.  Should I do an overall happiness project memoir and structure it similar to Gretchen Rubin‘s, focusing on one task each month, or should I devote it to only writing specific practices?  Any suggestions greatly appreaciated.

Step 3:  Journal every day.

  • Failing miserably.  As Kristen puts it, the “Crappy Excuse Troll” has made a sucker out of me and I have not been journaling.  I did however spend time daydreaming about buying a new journal.  As the current one is only half full, I will nix said expenditure.  I also spent over an hour dancing in my room lip-singing to the new Adele song!  Damn, Troll!  I said I would record at least 5 things I was grateful for each day.  Here is what I came up with.
  1. ice water
  2. winter socks
  3. Joe making dinner
  4. white wine
  5. red wine
  6. books that make you laugh out loud
  7. helpful advice about writing
  8. a great friend who listened
  9. Christmas tree lights, they are magical
  10. Joe and Andy helping shovel my car out

Step 4:  Read each day.

  • Have successfully time managed to read at least a half hour each day.  Biggest change has been actually taking my break at work and not working during it.  Now, I sit in my office and read while I eat.  I finished “A Girl Named Zippy” by Haven Kimmel.  Amazing read!  Laughing out loud more than once, causing people to stare, and I’ve been dramatically rereading chapters aloud over the phone to my family.  Books now on reading list include “The Mayflower” by Nathaniel Philbrick, “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, and “Breaking Dawn” by Stephanie Meyer.  Yes, I admit to being totally obsessed with the Twilight series and am RE-READING the final novel before the film comes out this summer.   Smirk all you want.  I will continue to read my book and watch the films.

Step 5:  Chips are not a food group.

  • Does skipping meals all together count as an improvement?  Hmm, again, most grateful for the night Joe made dinner.  Several fast food runs this past week.  But Joe and I did have one morning where he made eggs and hashbrowns and I made lemon poppyseed muffins.  To be continued…
One response

  1. I love Kristen Lamb’s blog also. It’s great that you’re setting yourself reasonable goals. I remember when I first started writing, I committed to 1000 words a day, and it was *tough*.
    BTW I recently stumbled on a website called OnePagePerDay.com which has been a great tool to help me keep up with my writing. Maybe you could benefit from it as well.
    Also, Chips are Not a Food Group made me LOL. 😀

Tell me a story...

