The Six Word Memoir is fun.

Ok, Christmas is over, and it’s time to stop lollygagging about the house in my pajamas and supersoft socks with rubber grips on the bottom.  Yep, that zombie with a cold and mug of green tea you’ve been seeing around your house is me.  Sorry for wiping snot on your sofa.

To jumpstart my writing goals for the new year I wanted to come up with some action plans and creativity projects that will help my writing.   After reading through a new post on creative writing prompts by Michelle Locke I decided what better way to feel renewed than some good old fashioned word games!  Hold on, I need to shove another kleenex up my nose.  *blow*

Where was I?  To date, I’ve successfully begun one of the books I picked up on writing.  It’s a book on journaling, which I already do, but I thought it would contain some prompts.  To go back to my original resolution, I’d like to try a new goal for writing each week and record its helpfulness in this blog, starting with writing prompts.  This week, every day I will do a different writing prompt and record how long I was able to do it and what writing tools I felt it strengthened.  I have a few prompt ideas in mind, but send me some of your favorites, I’ll try really hard not to get vicks vapor rub on them.  *blow*

I’ve been brainstorming some ideas on what to try.  Here is what I have come up with:  changing my workspace, changing the times I write, timed writing, making picture boards, only writing on my lunch hour, playing scrabble for a week, only eating foods that begin with the letter ‘W’ (water chestnuts?  watermelon?  worchestshore sauce?  hmm, take that off my list).  I’ll keep brainstorming and let you know how it goes.  In the meantime, I’d love to hear what your favorite writing routines or prompts are.

And today’s game is:  The Six Word Memoir!  This is a new favorite of mine, and if you’re unfamiliar with the story of Ernest Hemingway’s said memoir it goes like this.  Guy walks into a bar, bets Ernest Hemingway he can’t write a story in only 6 words, Hemingway accepts the challenge.  Scribbles for a bit, then reads, “For Sale, Baby shoes.  Never worn.”

Here are the memoirs I came up with today.

Boyfriend hates hairy legs.  Big deal!

Seriously, playing badminton gave me tendonitis.

Coffee?  Check.  Body in basement?  Check.

“Cookies at bedtime?  Again, Mr. Clause?!”

Tomorrow.  The transplant would be tomorrow.

I should probably learn to swim.

The car driving away.  He’d left.

Cake batter for breakfast.  My roommate.

Three hours making cookies.  Never again.

I saw you in the cemetery.

The best invention ever made: kleenex.

2 responses

  1. Dr. Wicked’s Writing Lab is probably the only prompt I use with any consistency. It’s a deviously little online program that makes noises at you if you stop writing for too long. Of course sometimes sometimes I change my writing space, but that’s because sometimes I don’t have time to write at home so if I want to get anything done, I have to sit in Subway on my lunch break with my headphones in and pound out those words.

    I really liked the last of your six word stories. “I saw you in the graveyard.” [goosebumps]

    1. NaNoWriMo had a blog on something similar with three levels of writing “helpers.” It included noises, subtle color changes, and the more direct deleting of words when you aren’t writing for 10 seconds. I will definitely be checking both of these out and blogging about it!

Tell me a story...

