Negotiating with the Dead

Come out, come out, wherever you are!

A Letter to My Protagonist:

Dear Lydia,

Honestly, where are you taking me?  I’m afraid our initial journey into the cemetery has gone beyond what we’ve discussed.  I know, I know, your friends are missing.  I want them back too, but maybe they’re not the ones meant to help you through this.  Maybe in this underworld you seem to have traveled to, you’ll make a new friend.

Oh, I forgot, you’re only in an underworld because one of your friends got you to break into an old man’s house, steal some of his paperwork, and then confront him in the graveyard, where he ate you.  Hmmm…

Clearly, it is time to make a new friend if you wish to survive.  Together, we’ve made it past the ghosts with the rolling heads.  We’ll make it through the snowy road of angels, too.  Just don’t touch them, everything they touch turns into frost.

That’s it, Lydia!  If you don’t start to listen to me you’ll never make it out of the labyrinth.  I mean it.  Quit running.  We can figure this out together.  I’ve kept you safe so far, and it’s a miracle I haven’t told your parents where you’ve been creeping to at night.  Yes, I know threats are childish!  Fine, don’t stoop to my level.  Oh, go ahead, stick your tongue out, see where that stubbornness gets you.  Maybe you can hang out in the mausoleum for another page!

……

I’d really like you to tell me where we’re going.  When you’re ready to stop acting so childish (and no, I don’t care that you’re only 8 years old), I’ll be in my room.

Sincerely,

the Cryptkeeper, I mean Author

2 responses

  1. Sounds like things are progressing right along. Wasn’t this originally going to be a short story? Sounds like you’ve been feeding it. You feed these things and they’ll never stop until they’re done with you.
    But I’m really looking forward to reading it when it’s finished. Keep up the good work.

    1. It did start out as a short story, but then I had all these ideas, and it has turned into a children’s book. I don’t think it will be novel length, but she’s not done with her story yet.

Tell me a story...

