The Nutrition Taxi Writer Mash-up

It’s the end of the week for my resolution to eat healthier and see how it would affect my energy and writing.

I can’t boast an amazing outcome as I’m now sick with some sort of cold and sore throat.  I think my niece coughed in my face a couple times and that’s what I get for coloring with her.  On the bright side, induced in a tylenol cold medicine sleep last night, I completely slept through some sort of war between my roommates.  Apparantly at some early morning hour a taxi showed up at our house and began ringing the doorbell repeatedly.  My boyfriend thought it must be our roommate and he locked himself out.  We have a spare key hidden that our roommate knows about.  My roommate, I guess, actually answered the door and figured out the taxi driver had the wrong house.  Oops, sorry.  However, my boyfriend, being in a particularly crabby mood this morning (unbeknownst to me in my medicated slumber) decided if he was up and awake, our roommate should be too.  So my boyfriend calls our roommate and repeatedly knocks on his door to wake him up, and now my roommate is also crabby.  I am positively delighted and cheery today because for once I slept through it all.  Yay!

Final Day Diet:

green tea and cough drops, if feeling better later, soup

I’m hoping after the weekend I’ll have a better appetite, so I did spend the better part of last night looking at recipes to make.  How does apricot chili pork chops with lemon spaghetti sound?  And chicken enchilada skillet?  And brown sugar steaks with parmesan potatoes?  Oh, I can’t wait to cook again!

Back to writing:

Last post, I challenged us writers to give ourselves SPACE and I’m still impressed with the idea to make changes in our lives, so I’m going to include that in my week’s resolutions.  I’d love to hear more about how each of you are giving yourself SPACE to grow, try something new, relax, reenergize.  What do you do get motivated again?  What are your guilty pleasures for writing?  What prevents you from arranging SPACE to grow in?  I can’t say thank you enough to the many bloggers/writers who have motivated me to keep going and think positive because any amount of change and any amount of writing is something proactive to have in your life.

This week I will give myself space by:

  1. Watching a Jane Austen movie.
  2. Cleaning my room of clutter.
  3. Journaling for my own enjoyment.
  4. Finish writing the icy mausoleum scene in my story.
  5. Blog ahead at least 2 posts.

Looking for more inspiration to get started?  Here are some posts I really enjoyed.

AJ Zaethe Great post on incorporating magic in your world building.

Albert Berg A post on how to plot when you hate plotting.

CM Stewart How to write realistic disabled characters.

Kristen Lamb Humorous post on Celebrity Death Match Author Edition.

Margaret Reyes Dempsey Serving up blurbs and hot tea while she’s snowed in!

Olivia Tejeda A brand new online literary journal debuts!

Ollin Morales Sending love to writers who haven’t figured out how to write just yet.

21 responses

  1. Apricot chili pork chops with lemon spaghetti?! Wow…sounds absolutely incredible. You’ll have to let us know how they turn out when you make them (and share the recipe).

    I give myself space by heading out downtown once every couple of weeks to wander around, have lunch, do something fun. In fact, that’s where I’m headed today.

    Have a great weekend!

    1. Be sure to eat a maple bacon bar from Voodoo for me! Soooo nostalgic for that goodness.

  2. Hey, feel better, you!

    I gave myself space from having to come up with a new post this week by sponsoring a giveaway on my blog. Ingenious, right? LOL.

    Thanks for linking to it in your post.

    Tie a scarf around your neck. It helps.

    1. Maybe I could do a giveaway for one of my blog aheads. I have yet to publish a book, so it’ll be a mystery box of things I clean from my room: one brown glove, two mystery cords, a collection of old magazines, and one bottle of fish oil capsules. First one to comment back wins!!!

      1. You’d do well to take the fish oil capsules.
        You can send me the rest of it at:
        1313 Mockingbird Lane

  3. Hey, thanks for the trackback! Yeah, I’ve been working on the “give yourself space thing.” I actually feel like I’m falling into a pretty good rhythm of writing daily. I don’t think I’ve ever done this much writing before, and yet it still feels more like fun than work (most of the time.)
    Keep on rolling with your wonderful journey. I hope it takes you somewhere incredible.

    1. I think the most incredible thing for me so far has been making connections to other writers out there and feeling part of a creative community again with all its ups and downs laid out there. I really appreciate everyone’s honesty, humor, and support. Thanks, Albert!

  4. Hi Jess, Thanks for the ping! I see you’re a Jane Austen fan? Did you know today is the 198th anniversary of the first publication of Pride and Prejudice? Big news! Are you celebrating??

    1. I had no idea! I feel like I should curled my hair and pinned it up in memorial or something. But my iron actually broke so flyaway bangs are my cold sick accessory. I will definitely keep reading Emma and watch Pride and Prejudice (I’ve already read that one).

  5. Thank you for the trackback! 🙂

    Ha! College memories. I went to a Christian college. Not being at all religious, it was a pretty surreal experience. Hope everything works out with the roommates.

    The space thing. That’s something I am still working on. Sometimes it’s tough sharing a computer. Or an apartment. Sometimes I think it would be tough sharing a whole mansion. lol

    p.s. Get well soon!

    1. I was informed an apologetic text was sent and shots of gin were downed. All is right with the world.

  6. Getting enough sleep does wonders for one’s morale. 🙂 Blessings to you, Jess…

    1. I’m still pumped over how well I slept for several straight hours. But I can’t take cold medicine every night. How are you with a frying pan? I could use someone with a good batting average to just knock me out at bedtime. That’ll stop me from lying there just thinking. Thanks for the well wishes!

  7. I slept for that long time, too, about 15 hours? It was the pleasure when I woke up and feel my sanity, not like other days. Sleeping a lot and refreshing brain can be some kind of giving ourselves SPACE, I think 🙂

    1. I agree, and yet I’m terrible at following that advice. On my days off, I set my alarm early cause I think I have to maximize every minute I’m off, but then I end up not doing a thing cause I wanna do is take a nap. lol.

  8. If you’re interested in my ghostly experience, it’s on my blog but is now a “private” post because the person I shared it with is no longer a part of my life. Long story, but feel free to read it here if you want to – no pressure, of course!

    http://markmywordssite.com/2010/02/25/who-ya-gonna-call/

    The thing I like about WP is the ability to direct people to “hidden” posts with a link. First time I’ve ever done this, though.

    1. I meant, it’s a long story why she is no longer in my life, not the post itself. 🙂

      1. Hmm, couldn’t pull up the post. Email it to me if you like, I LOVE ghost stories. Perhaps I’ll do a ghost story post too.

  9. OK, in theory it was supposed to work. I just read that tip in a WP book a few days ago…I want my money back! Wait, I didn’t buy it. No harm, no foul. I’d be happy to e-mail you the story – I love all things ghost-related and would love to hear your feedback and also read a ghost story post of yours, too. What’s your e-mail address? If it’s somewhere on your blog I can’t find it. Thanks!

  10. i don’t think all of your facts are straight, no banging of doors…just one phone call

    1. Oh is that how it went down, roomie? I know the shots of gin occurred.

Tell me a story...

