Style Tips from the Happiness Project

Surely this day would never come.  Me, get a stylish blogger award?  And it happened without me having to bargain for it!  I mean no one was trapped under something heavy, or starving, or having an allergic reaction, or unable to zip their pants on their own!  It just happened!  Woohoo!  I always new I was stylish!

My Mrs. Peacock costume on Halloween. We dressed up as characters from the boardgame Clue.

So how did this eighth wonder of the world occur?  It’s all thanks to Mckenzie at the Unabridged Girl.  Always so supportive and genuine, her blog is like checking in with your bff to see what’s up.  She shares her struggles, so you ask if you can buy her some chocolate, when she is consumed with sweets, she writes flash fiction, shares writing quirks, and tales of friendship.  Thanks Mckenzie, it’s always fun to read your blog!

If I am understanding this blogger award thing correctly, it’s the new century’s popular way of sending a chain letter, right?  Only I don’t have to pay any money to a cause that helps gorillas in a zoo or buy girl scout cookies.  I can handle that.  I do have to share with you some tidbits you might not know about me though.  I’ll try to make them interesting.

  1. I think croutons are a perfectly acceptable snack.
  2. The sun hates me.  I literally break out into hives if I don’t wear SPF 80.  Although once, it happened in my childhood bedroom, and the only light on was a nightlight.  Nature vs. Jess vs. Nurture?
  3. I loved the french film, Amelie, so much when I saw it, I rewound it (dvds weren’t out yet), and watched it all over again immediately.
  4. I love graveyards and walk through them as much as possible.  On occasion, I’ve been known to tamper with some graves, but I swear it’s always respectfully.  I think graveyards are full of stories.

Last summer in the cemetery attached to Boston Common. I can't help myself, I love creepin' in the crypts!

5.  I’m more beatnik than hippy someone told me.  I’m quite liberal, I believe in being environmentally friendly, I am pro-diversity, I like to write and listen to music.  But, I’m more content with a cup of coffee in my hand than a joint.  🙂

6.  In high school, my favorite musician was Tori Amos and I have all her albums!  One year for my birthday, my best friends decorated my locker with the lyrics from Raspberry Swirl.  They rock!  If interested, my new favorite singer is Serena Ryder, she’s pretty rocker!

7.  Audio books have become my new favorite way to multi-task.  I listen to them while I get ready in the morning or drive home sometimes.  I find them especially wonderful when reading a book centered around a different culture or country.  I like hearing a native speaker read it aloud, I can appreciate the voice of the characters more this way.

And now, to award the Stylish Blogger Award to some of my favorite bloggers:

Stylish Blogger Award

Mark My Words: Mark is my go to guy for a laugh and a Portland, OR fix.  If you love to laugh or love Portland and miss it like I do, you will get along well with Mark.

Mostly Bright Ideas: Charles is my role model wannabee.  He writes eloquent, succinct prose and makes it look so easy I want to slap him, but I won’t because his writing is too damn good.  Suck it, Charles!  You’re amazing!

Conjuring My Muse: Margaret Reyes Dempsey is my roommate in a parallel life.  So Madge, (I’m nicknaming you), it’s your turn to buy the TP!

Whenquiet’s Blog: Living my dream life in France and writing beautiful, moving poetry, she knows how to instill peace in her readers.  I always find beauty in her blog.

Happy reading and writing!

14 responses

  1. I’ve never heard of this little award before, but its pretty cool. Congrats! Some of the other blogs you posted sound really interesting too. I’ll have to take a look.

  2. Congrats on the award. Have you tried Marie Callender’s garlic butter croutons? They’re yummy! I laughed at getting burned by a nightlight. Good one 🙂

    1. True story.

  3. Thank you, Jess. My grandmother always took us to graveyards to explore. My favorite was going to see Houdini’s grave, which was not far from her home. If memory serves, I believe there was a bust of Houdini on top of the grave that was replaced many times due to vandals and eventually removed. You would have loved exploring a graveyard in S. Queensferry, Scotland that dates back to the 17th century. The kirk (church) has been converted to a vacation residence and my friends and I stayed there.

    Here’s the link: http://www.holiday-rentals.co.uk/p87596. If you click through the photos, you’ll see that parts of the floors in the bedroom are glass so that the full effect of the cathedral-height, stained-glass windows can be appreciated from the downstairs or upstairs bedrooms. Really wild!

    (Also look at how inexpensive this place is considering it sleeps 12 people. One of the best vacations of my life.) I swear…I’m not the owner. I just loved it so much. 🙂

    1. Very cool. The place looks beautiful. What a fun vacation getaway; I’ll have to keep this in mind because it really did look reasonable. Is it really as easy to get around to other places as the site says it is?

      1. Yes. There is a bus and a train that take you right into Edinburgh. South Queensferry itself is also lovely. I was there in August during their annual fair, which includes the tradition of the Burry Man. And what a wild tradition it is. I’ll let you look that one up. There was also a magnificent parade down the High Street. I spent a couple of afternoons collecting beach glass under one of Queensferry’s famous bridges. August is also the month for Edinburgh’s Fringe Festival, which is an amazing time to visit. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Gather up eleven friends and go. You won’t be sorry.

  4. OMG, I love A Christmas Story – if I was really getting an award like the leg lamp there, I’d be in seventh heaven!! And you are awesome, too. Wanna know why? Because you love cemeteries. It probably won’t come as a shock based on my recent postings, but I love a good graveyard and wandering through newly discovered cemeteries is a favorite pastime. The older, the better. And, croutons rock! Especially the aforementioned garlic butter Marie Callender’s ones. 🙂

    1. I’ll send you a leg lamp. Watch for it in the mail, it’ll be marked “Fra-gi-le” which must be Italian…

  5. Congratulations to the winners! I love the headdress on the first picture. The second one, I thought you’re just checking for some lichens or some moss.

  6. Congrats on your award, Jess! I like graveyards too…I’m really into genealogy. Looking forward to checking out your nominees (although I’m familiar with Charles already!).

    Wendy

  7. Jess,

    I love audiobooks, too, especially non-fiction. I think you’d like Michael Palin’s stuff. And I like walking into old cemeteries, as well; I also really appreciate being able to walk out of them.

    “Surely this day would never come.” I’m shocked that this award has just reached you. I thought you’d gotten it a while ago. I appreciate your nice words about my blog, but do I do the Stylish thing again? I’m feeling self-conscious about that. Can I pass it along to someone who hasn’t received it yet? Please check the handbook and let me know!

    Charles

    P.S. Don’t ever wear those Mrs. Peacock glasses again.

    1. I never got a handbook, feel free to deviate as necessary.

      P.P.S. Those glasses MADE that Mrs. Peacock costume!

  8. Of course croutons are a perfectly acceptable snack! Doesn’t everyone know that? 🙂

    I like taking images of cemetaries. I did a post on one a while back when I was looking for my grandparent’s grave sites.

    Congratulations on your award. Really like your Mrs. Peacock costume.

  9. Congrats, Jess! Checking out Ms. France now. 😉

Tell me a story...

