I See You Shiver With Antici…pation!

Dr. Frank-N-Furter

While I hope, dear readers, you all immediately recognized the title of this blog as a quote from the fabulous Dr. Frank-N-Furter from Rocky Horror Picture Show, but in case not all of you may have seen it, please, go rent it right now!  I have a copy, I’ll lend it to you.  Better yet, go to a screening in a theater and bring toast and hot dogs, you’ll catch on when you get there!  😉

Why did this quote come to mind on a monday, Jess?  And what do a bunch of transvestites creating a well-chiseled love God have to do with writing, or real life for that matter?  Glad you asked!

You see, first off Dr. Frank-N-Furter is a man with a plan.  And, like any writer inventor, he has a story a tell.  It just so happens his story is about rescuing an engaged couple by helping them release their most secret desires in his mansion/trannie love cave and while they’re there he just so happens to be creating the perfect man who doesn’t speak and is well-toned and wears gold underwear and nothing else (This is Dr. Frank-N-Furter’s dream man, not mine).  However, *spoiler alert* his wickedly wonderful plan is all put to an end when his “friends,” Magenta and Rif Raf turn out to be aliens that take over the whole lot.  Muahahahaha!

Ok, now as to why I’m shivering with Antici…pation!  I feel good about what I’ve accomplished in my writing journey thus far.  I am finished, making word count goals, meeting all deadlines, editing successfully improving.

  1. I have attended two book club meetings since I began this blog.
  2. I ordered Kristen Lamb’s book, We Are Not Alone, and let’s face it, she’s THE literary genius of publishing in the new millenium.  http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com  (Will link to her blog as soon as WordPress is running smoothly.  Momentarily the linking feature, or my computer, is working only as well as a loaf of bread.  My sincere apologies for the inconvenience.)
  3. I submitted one page of my story and one poem for a writing contest.
  4. I will be submitting to another poetry/photography contest in town deadline May 1st.
  5. I sent my 15 pages to Kristen Lamb for critique on Friday!  *Gulp*
  6. I am enrolled in and going to the Writers Institute in Madison THIS WEEKEND!!!  Yay!  (Big shout out of appreciation to Kristen Lamb and Clay from Educlaytion (link posted when WordPress, or my computer, work better than a box of sticks) for posting about their experiences at writing conferences, great reference material, thanks a million!

I’ll be the first to say I have LOTS to still work on, but honestly, it’s the GETTING INVOLVED part that has boosted my energy and passion and commitment to writing.  I haven’t had that the last couple of years, so these simple steps are a GOOD THING.  And I’m practically doing the TIME WARP to learn more!  *sings* Tell me, tell me, tell me, tell me, what keeps you wriiiiiiting?!

What does keep you on task and passionate at the same time?

And just for giggles:

13 responses

  1. Busy busy! Sounds like you’re making progress ten steps at a time! =]

    1. I have my moments, I’ve got lots to learn too!

  2. I thought you were referencing the old Heinz ketchup commercials. “Antici…pation!” Which means, nope, I’ve never seen Rocky Horror. I’ll have to Netflix it, for sure.

    These things you are doing are huge! They may be first steps, but they’re all-important ones. You’re making time for your writing and getting serious about pushing yourself with it…good job! Writing contests are a great way to help your creativity to blossom, too.

    1. You must see this film, it’s a cult CLASSIC!

      I don’t know if the steps I’ve taken are all that huge, except the writing conference; I feel really good about that one and I know it’ll be a wonderful and educational experience and I’m hoping a big push to finish some projects so by next year I can sign up for a pitch session with an agent. That would be killer, and a run on sentence. lol. Wordy…

  3. Jess, I think it’s all about inertia. I find that not writing makes it so much easier to just keep on not writing. And then when I finally get down to work, I always wonder what the problem was. The very act of writing makes it easier to keep writing. It sounds simplistic, but I don’t think it needs to be any more complicated than that.

    You’re doing great — keep it going!

    1. That is very true! It’s difficult to get back into it when you’re out of practice, but when you start up it is something to look forward to.

  4. I write to keep my sanity!

    Have fun at the writer’s conference!

    Wendy

  5. Keeping on track is my bugbear at the moment (horrid mental image of a teddy bear with bug legs….YUK!). Today I have completed a play appraisal and a play review (not the same thing – the second pays less than the first, but I get more of them!) and will be having an MSN meeting with my writing partners in half an hour. THAT will give me a kick up the impetus and I shall feel inspired and productive until I have to go collect the weasels from school. Good on you for sending off your fifteen to Kristen. I’ve never regretted getting professional feedback on my work, because you can agree with the criticism and bask in the compliments (and I bet there are both!)

    1. Have fun with the writing group! I’ve been hoping to start one up but it’s not going as planned. I hope to make some contacts at the writers institute this weekend!

  6. Looks like you have a lot going on — good luck! (And, thanks for the giggle.)

    1. Thanks for the well wishes!

  7. Good luck with your critique. Hopefully it’s not gonna be bloodied red.

    1. Yikes, me too!

Tell me a story...

