New Writers’ Network: The Life List Club

There’s been inspiration floating around the blogosphere lately and several writers have been infected.  No, it’s not the Zombie Apocalypse.  It’s a new club!  Fellow writer, Marcia Richards, and I have been going back and forth trying to think of a way for writers and readers to connect over their goals, their life lists.

Brainstorm baby:  The Life List Club!

We’re calling all writers and readers who are interested to post a new page to their blogs called The Life List.  It’ll be a page for you to make a list of all the things you desire to do in the next 12 months.  Make it however you like, it’s YOUR LIST!

Then follow along with other writers and readers as we encourage one another, learn from our mistakes, and celebrate our successes!  You’ll find a new sidebar with The Life List Blogroll on our pages, so check out more Life Lists!

And, we’re all about the social media here, so we’ll be guest posting every other Friday (and tomorrow) to share stories about how we achieve our goals.  Follow along, or become a member!  Marcia and I are heading up the rotation cycles for all those interested, so we’ll help you get ready.  All you need to do is COMMENT!  Share your own life list, your aha! moments, your milestones.

Virtual parties are what we do best (less cleanup), so be sure to pop in on Twitter using the hashtag #LifeListClub.  Help us spread the word and the love for anyone that’s interested in a totally awesome, fun-loving, support giving community of goal achievers!

Here are the writers who will be guest posting this Saturday along with myself!  Be sure to visit their Life Lists!

Marcia Richards

Jennie Bennett

Sonia Medeiros

Gene Lempp

52 responses

  1. Hey, everyone! Be sure to check out all of our writers, they have sites just as awesome as Jess’s! Then join us over on Twitter for our kickoff party! Great food and drinks and lots of laughs! See you there! Hi, Jess *waving wildly*.

    1. I’m just loading the car full of extra napkins, heard you were bringing martinis to the #LifeListClub and didn’t want them spilling on my list! LOL. I said I’d bring strawberry tart, but maybe a bag of jalapeno cheetos are more me. Yum!

  2. Great Idea!

    Life List:

    Save $1,000 for Christmas.

    Finish first draft of novel.

    Stay sober another year.

    Read every book on my Kindle.

    Ride my motorcycle to New York.

    Stay true to myself. (this is a toughie!)

    Milestones for the past 12 months are:

    five years sober.

    my daughter is back home with me after five years.

    I am back into my writing.

    my debt is almost gone.

    one of my blogs has almost 10 followers (yay me!)

    My aha! moment came to me last summer when I realized I am very good at connecting with people. I love to help people, love to write and love the path my sobriety is taking me down.

    I was not meant to sit in an office 40-50 hours a week. I have that feeling in my body everyday that I was meant for so much more. I am pretty sure y’all know that feeling!

    1. Darlene this list is awesome! Congrats to you on all your achievements, especially 5 years sober and getting your daughter back home! Hope you make that motorcycle trip happen for sure!

      If you like, you can join our Life List Club and be a part of the guest blogging we’ll be doing! Just post your list as a page on your site and shoot Marcia or I an email. We’re creating the guest blog rotations and all are welcome! We want to support each other in our Life Lists.

  3. Hey Jess! Wonderful launch post!

    Great list Darlene. So are you going to be joining us? The more the merrier!

    1. Glad to have you on board too Gene!

  4. […] Read all about it at Jess Witkins’ blog…  There’s been inspiration floating around the blogosphere lately and several writers have been infected.  No, it’s not the Zombie Apocalypse.  It’s a new club!  Fellow writer, Marcia Richards, and I have been going back and forth trying to think of a way for writers and readers to connect over their goals, their life lists. Brainstorm baby:  The Life List Club! We’re calling all writers and readers who are interested to post a new page to their bl … Read More […]

  5. Hey, Jess & Gene! Thanks so much for the invite 🙂 I’ll be sure to post my list and shoot one of you an email tonight. Thanks again..

    Darlene

  6. What a wonderful idea! Marcia mentioned to me that this was coming down the pike, and I love the idea! Will be doing and posting my “life list” soon, and look forward to encouraging others as they work towards fulfilling theirs!

    1. Yay! Glad to have you with us! Can’t wait to see your life list! Let me know how I can help!

  7. So, in order to participate, we set up a new page on our blog and list our 12 months goals….that’s it? So, it’s like #Row80, but it’s not entirely writing related?

    1. Right, it’s more of a link for writers and readers to support each other. And if you like, you can be included in our guest posts too. Let me know!

  8. I love this idea! I’ll have to mull over my own life list for awhile. But at least now I can cross off “visit my childhood home.” 🙂

    1. Didn’t want to pester you while you were on your life list road trip. But when your home and settled let me know if you want in!

  9. Love this idea! It’s gonna be good to share goals and share the joy when we hit them. Not to mention the cheering on (and maybe brownies and margaritas :D)

    1. Absolutely brownies and margaritas!

  10. Forgot to mention how much I love the pic of the kitten attacking the eagle’s claw. That’s great!

  11. […] Everyone!  Today’s post comes from the newly launched Life List Club blogroll and is written by Science Fiction writer, Gene Lempp.  The Life List Club is a group of […]

  12. Ok. I’ll spread the world all right. Kudos for creating a hashtag, I have a feeling this will be a great thing for writers and readers alike. *round of applause* — I brought my minions to applaud for me, they’re sort of like umpa-lumpas but cuter. If I had a pennie every time a round of applause was required, I’d be handless. 😛

    1. You should start practicing applause with your feet then, the party’s just getting started!

  13. Hi Jess!

    I’d LOVE the chance to join in on the guest post fun! You can reach me at occupationwriter [at] gmail [dot] com if you’d like.

    Thanks!

    Carrie

    1. Look for an email soon!

  14. I love this idea! I am totally in 🙂 I’ve posted my Life List on my blog http://dianaligaya.wordpress.com/life-list/ and I’d love to get involved in guest posting as well! My email address is diana [dot] ligaya [at] gmail [dot] com 🙂

  15. Thanks, Jess, I’ll check this out and think about joining in as well!

  16. I’m definitely taking part in this!! It’s an awesome idea and the best way I can think of to be accountable for my goals! I’ll be emailing you the link to my list in the next few days – I hope I can be part of the guest post rotation?

  17. Erm, now I’m confused. Someone said I had to email Marcia for the information – what information? Help!

    1. Hooray for twitter! We are connected! Thanks for the interest Anne Mhairi. Be talking with you soon!

  18. I love this idea. So I just have to make a goal page on my blog to join?

    1. Yes. It’s two fold. We want everyone to be able to be a part of the Life List Club, so if you’d like to do that, just post your own Life List on your blog and make a blogroll of the LLC bloggers. Everyone is welcome to be a part of the club and we will support each other throughout our journeys. For the sake of scheduling, we’ll have 20 slots open to guest bloggers, so please contact Marcia or I if you’re interested in being part of the guest blogging which will take place every other week. We may make a second team and rotate every 3 months if lots more people want to guest blog too. Let us know!

      1. Awesome. I’ll have my Life List page up in the couple of days.

  19. Hey there,
    Stumbled upon your blog and Life List Project. I have a Life List and its on my blog. I’d love for you to stop by to visit. I’m a writer and there are a couple writing inspired goals – but many others, too! How do I officially join your group? Best, Jenn

  20. A noble endeavor. Is this sort-of like a bucket list?

    1. Very similar, but we’re looking at what we want to accomplish in the next year, so we have an accountable group of people to keep us on track, help us along, and celebrate our successes.

  21. This is such a great idea. I will definitely add a life list page to my blog; I am so used to letting life thunder past me that it will take a little thinking-cap time!

    1. That’s great! And Gene’s post had some wonderful advice on how to set goals for your life list that will be attainable and show progress along the way. Good luck making up your list! And have even more fun completing it!

  22. […] there’s a new writers group on Twitter called The Life List Club. Writers and readers from all over Twitter are getting together, sharing their goals and helping to […]

  23. […] encourage one another and cheer each other on as we achieve them. You can read more about it here at Jess’ blog and here at Marcia’s […]

  24. […] encourage one another and cheer each other on as we achieve them. You can read more about it here at Jess’ blog and here at Marcia’s […]

  25. […] Friends!  It’s the second edition of the guest blogs from the newly formed Life List Club.  I have to give a big thank you to everyone who read, commented, tweeted, and emailed their […]

  26. OK, Jess…I caught the LifeListClub Bug from Sonia and Gene and I want in. 🙂

    I’m posting a blog tomorrow and getting my Life List up the day after that (unless some time magically appears in my universe…it could happen…).

    Thanks for such a great brainchild!

    1. Yay! Happy to have more Life Listers. We’re loving it!

  27. […] Note: If I missed somebody, please let me know in the comments. I encourage everyone to visit these bloggers and help them celebrate their goals. For more information on “the Club,” click on this link to Jess Witkins’ inaugural post. […]

  28. Think I’d like to join. Think I understand how. I set up my own life list on my blog and then let you know? I might do a separate lifelist page with a link from my main page. OK – now off to try this….
    Jan Morrison

    1. Thanks for your interest, Jan. All are welcome to join and create their own lifelists on their blogs. Let me know if you’re interested in guest blogging too? We may make a second team due to interest.

  29. […] best definition of The Life List can be found here. The Life List Club is about connecting, and publicly stating some life goals you’d like to […]

  30. […] you new to the Club? The best definition can be found here. The Life List Club is about connecting, and publicly stating some life goals you’d like to […]

  31. […] to Life List Club Friday! The best definition of The Life List can be found here. The Life List Club is about connecting, and publicly stating some life goals you’d like to […]

  32. […] best definition of The Life List can be found here. The Life List Club is about connecting, and publicly stating some life goals you’d like to […]

  33. […] best definition of The Life List can be found here. The Life List Club is about connecting, and publicly stating some life goals you’d like to […]

  34. […] you. At the very least, ask them to help you review your goals for challenges like ROW80 or the Life List Club…they’ll tell you if you’ve taken on too […]

  35. […] months ago, when I stumbled across the Life List Club, I started thinking about how I have been driving on ice through life. For the Southerners among […]

  36. […] launch of the Life List Club.  We’re busy and boomin’ every other Friday!  Be sure to stop […]

Tell me a story...

