Earning Your Scars: Guest Blog by Emily Moir

Hello Friends!  It’s the second edition of the guest blogs from the newly formed Life List Club.  I have to give a big thank you to everyone who read, commented, tweeted, and emailed their encouragement and interest in the Life List Club.  To date, we’ve established 12 writers who will be guest posting every other Friday, but the club keeps growing.  We encourage everyone to make your own Life List and post it on your blog!  Check out our 12 featured writers’ Life Lists in the blogroll on my sidebar.  We’re all blogging today and would love your feedback.

Today, I’m blogging over at Jennie Bennett’s blog, talking about relationships.  *Gulp*  Jennie is a fellow bookworm and busy mom carving out some space to write in, so definitely go check out her blog!  And I’m pleased to host Emily Moir, a newcomer blogger working on a fantasy series with a beautiful title: Chronicles of the Gossamer Dreams.  Welcome, Emily!

Earn Your Scars and Wear Them With Pride

My sister Sara is one of the most insanely motivated people on the planet. I don’t know how she does it, and personally I think it’s unnatural. She must secretly be an alien from an advanced race, but the woman gets what she wants. Sara does cross fit because she wants to be healthier, stronger and of course look amazing. Her  instructor breaks her at every session. And I mean literally breaks her. In one of her latest classes they were doing pull ups and crazy moves involving a pull up bar. The skin on her hand broke open, a nice big tear right across the palm. Sara laughed it off and finished the workout. She proudly displayed her first tear and wore it as a badge of achievement.

When I hear something like this it makes me ask what have I given to achieve what I want?  What scars have I earned in the process? MOST IMPORTANTLY: How have they made me stronger?

Whatever we suffer to achieve our goals, it is always worth it for the strength it gives us. Our scars may not be tears in the skin, or even something visible. If you’ve ever read one of her rejection letters or studied her life story, you would know that Emily Dickinson was definitely a woman with scars. But she gave so much love to her poems that even her death couldn’t stop them from coming forward and changing the world of poetry forever. Socrates died for philosophies that shaped the western world. If you knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that achieving your goals would change the world for good, ensure your infamy, or even just inspire those you love to lead more fulfilling lives, what would you give for it? Going back to my sister, it may seem the motivation behind driving herself to exercise so hard is selfish; however, her daughter ran four laps doing the stadium stairs at the track the other day. That child will live a healthier, stronger life because of the example her mother is setting. I’d say that’s worth a tear in the hand.

Thank you Jess for having me on your wonderful blog.

     Emily has lived in Utah for nearly twenty years, and in the Tooele area for about fifteen of those years. When not writing, she can be found with her nose in a book, lurking around the movie theaters or out enjoying nature. Emily primarily writes fantasy, short psychological-horror, and humorous articles. She is currently writing a fantasy series entitled The Chronicles of the Gossamer Dreams and encourages everyone to visit her blog and keep their eyes peeled for more information.

27 responses

  1. Some times I can really push myself and see amazing results and other times- I sit on my couch eating ice cream and not even getting the dishes washed. LOL but I guess pushing and learning to live with the scars- and even accept new ones is what helps us grow and become better people and writers.

    1. Oh, if we’re being honest, who doesn’t have those moments?! I don’t know how many times I’ve seen some variation of “if you eat 6 oreos it will take you 1/2 an hour on the elliptical to work them off.” It doesn’t stop me from occasionally eating 6, or an entire row, of oreos. I think it comes down to learning from our mistakes, and making progress to move forward, it’s about the continuation of trying. As long as we keep moving, keep writing, keep pushing ourselves, we’re growing as a person, but when we give up entirely, that’s when things start to pitfall.

  2. I think as writer our scars come often because it’s an emotional investment, but at the same time if we don’t get hurt we will never learn. Great post!

    1. So true. Reminds me of what Kristen Lamb always says, “Feelings lie.” We might feel like we’re tired, not up to writing, can’t write anything good, but if we persevere through it, we usually find it was all worth it.

  3. This is a new perspective for me, Emily. Earning your scars and being proud of them. I love it! Great post!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Marcia! LLC is up and running and lookin good!

  4. Nicely done, Emily! When we look at the “long term” it puts the pains we may have to suffer in perspective and helps to us to push through and achieve. I love how your sister has inspired her daughter to pursue healthy things as well. A great reminder that people will watch and learn from the examples around them, including ours.

    Always a gracious hostess Jess 🙂

    1. I’m good at earning scars, Gene. Need I link to the Circus World post? That lovely scar cost me $622. But I’m pretty proud I stuck it out that day and went to the circus, dripping bloody nose and all.

  5. I think everyone is going to gain scars from working their way toward what they want out of life. Whether they’re physical or emotional scars or both, I can’t imagine going through life unscathed.
    Patti

    1. So true. Life would be boring if we didn’t have scars. Thanks Patti!

  6. I agree – great title! And fun post. I earned a few scars myself after hiking yesterday. OK, they’re not scars, but blisters. Close enough!

    1. Were you hiking without a compass or flashlight and only a canteen full of wine again?! That was you, right?

      1. No, I’m the one who smashed my face into a door at the circus.

        1. You klutz!

  7. Wonderful post, and one I’ll keep in mind. It may not always show in my blog where I try to let the more upbeat side of personality out to play, but I can be a whiner when the going gets tough. I like the idea of looking at those scars as badges of honor rather than complaining about them.

    1. It’s always easier said than done, I know. But I think being honest with ourselves is a big part of that adjustment to seeing scars as signs of victory.

  8. Your scars make you able to succeed. Know what I mean? If you can’t take the pain, if you run from it, you’ll never learn what you need to keep going in the face of adversity. Great post and nice to meet you Emily. 😀

    1. Thanks for stopping by Catie and for all the LLC Tweets today! I totally agree that pushing past our scars makes us able to succeed.

  9. You post got me thinking about how when people meet, they often show each other their scars (ok, maybe not the first time they meet, but you know what I mean). It’s the things that are a little painful to get that are the most memorable once you get them. Very thought-provoking post – thank you!

    1. You’re right, it can be an ice breaker of sorts. A way to show each other we’ve all survived our own multitude of dangers and trials.

  10. Great reminder to look at the long term. Sometimes it’s hard to keep on but I know it’s worth it in the end. If I give up, that’s when I really have nothing to show for it.

    1. ABSOLUTELY! Giving up is the worst. We’re all about perseverance here!

  11. We certainly never want to give up. Frank Tyger says, “Success often comes from not knowing your limitations”. Jess- Thanks again for having me.

  12. Wear those scars with pride. Personally, I try to avoid them in the gym – maybe that’s why I’m a bodybuilder – not a crossfitter.

    1. I would think bodybuilding comes with some scars. All I can think about is sore muscles. The key to bodybuilding requires the symmetry in form, and that must require you to push yourself consistently or you’d have one really big arm and one little arm. Or so I learned from watching Pumping Iron, is that right?

Tell me a story...

