Who’s Your Favorite Vampire?

It’s Guilty Pleasure Friday again and since it’s almost Halloween, what better way to celebrate than to discuss the paranormal man of your choice!  No creature is more prominent this season than the elusive and stunning vampire.  Here are the nominees:

Bill Compton:  Starring in the HBO series True Blood, Bill Compton is a southern gentlemen vampire returned to his family’s plantation in Bon Temps, Louisiana.  He immediately takes a liking to Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress and supernatural creature herself – though it takes three seasons to answer the questions of what makes her this way.  Bill and Sookie are drawn to each other after each saving the others’ life.  Bill saves Sookie from a group of gangbanger hoodlums, and Sookie saves Bill from two drugged out vampire blood hunters.  Because they have shared one another’s blood (necessary in the healing process for both) they are cosmically bound.  Bill can now sense Sookie no matter where she is and rescue her if there is danger present.  I don’t know how any woman wouldn’t swoon hearing Bill call out your name…”Sookie!”

And even more enchanting, the actors who play Bill and Sookie, Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin, fell in love onscreen and off.  They were married in fall 2010.  *Swoon*

Eric Northman:  The Vampire Sheriff of Bon Temps, LA is Eric Northman, a Viking noble.  Played by Alexander Skarsgard, Eric is the leader and frenemy of Bill.  He lays low in his nightclub, Fangtasia, but believe-you-me he knows what goes on around him.  He keeps you guessing which side he’s on, but he definitely wants Sookie with him.  He saved her life during an explosion, but it could have been just to heal her with his blood.  Now Sookie can’t help but be drawn to him, and this leads to some rather risqué subconscious dreaming.  *Admit it, you’ve been thinking about me.*

Edward Cullen:  The teenage vampire that made hearts swoon around the globe!  Played by Robert Pattinson, Edward Cullen was rescued by his adopted father, Carlisle during the influenza epidemic in Spain.  The Cullen family now moves from town to town, hiding out, and living a “vegetarian” lifestyle – meaning they only drink the blood of animals.  Bella Swan is a total klutz who’s socially awkward to boot, but somehow, she fits in in Edward’s world.  The problem here, is that Bella’s balancing problems merely foreshadow the breakable person that she is; she’s human!  Bella wants Edward to turn her, but he can’t accept being the one to drain her of her soul.  Add some honey-colored amber eyes, a few snarky grins at the rival wolf pack, and the ability to basically fly by running so fast, what’s not to love?  Oh that’s right, Edward likes to protect Bella by lying to her and it usually blows up in his face.  Boys!

Rumorville has it ever since the Twilight premiere, actors Pattinson and Kristen Stewart (Bella) have been an item.  They remain very private about it, but lets face it, the vampire’s out of the bag, or however that saying goes.  Should be some shrieking teenagers in theaters this November as the saucy teen couple prepares for a marriage and honeymoon in The Twilight Saga:  Breaking Dawn premiere.

Stefan Salvatore:  Paul Wesley plays the good guy/bad guy vampire Stefan Salvatore on CW’s The Vampire Diaries, a show by the way if you haven’t been watching, has some of the best writers working on it out there.  They know how to create suspense and ongoing plot dramas!  Stefan, like Edward, lives off the blood of animals, or drinks from a supply of medical blood bags, but refuses to drink from humans.  That is, until he falls off the wagon, and we mean REALLY falls off.  The interesting thing about Stefan is that he once had an affair with Katerina Petrova, the vampire that created him and his brother (who we’ll get to in a moment).  Katerina and new love interest, Elena Gilbert, look exactly like.  Don’t you think that’s weird?  I won’t tell you why, the first season is too much fun uncovering just that!  Elena is the one thing holding Stefan to the real world, if he loses her, he’ll fall prey to the dark side forever.

Now, for all you ladies I’ve been twittering with about Damon, I’m going to remind you what Stefan and Elena looked like together.  Please view before final vote tally.  They’re actually totally adorable.

Stefan & Elena

Damon Salvatore: Oh Ian Somerhalder, how do I love thee?  *Eh hem*  Sorry, non-bias commentator here!  The other Salvatore brother, Damon, is the swanky and flirtatious bad boy who just might be reigned in by Elena’s do-good vibe.  He pined for Katerina, now he’s pining for Elena, and thousands of viewers want this guy to win and get the girl…at least for a little while, right?  Because no matter how much Damon screws up (um, he killed Elena’s brother – watch the show to see how he survives!), he’ll stop at nothing and no one to protect Elena.  Even if it means helping her bring Stefan back.  He’s the typical guy that gets under a girl’s skin and you root for him knowing he’s bad news because his smile is just THAT disarming!  So the big question is, can Damon change?

The social trend of the season is the fact that Ian and costar Nina Dobrev (Elena) are dating in real life.  Can you blame them?  I took the liberty of finding the cheesiest most awesome video for you to watch.

Damon & Elena

So let’s tally up the results!  Who is your favorite vampire?  Did I miss any other must-have vamps?  What do you think of all these couples becoming true life couples too?  Chat with me in the comments and we can reminisce about Damon Salvatore daydreams!

*all images taken from Google images and videos from YouTube

26 responses

  1. Maybe because it was the first vampire movie I saw–but Brad Pitt in Interview with a Vampire was pretty awesome.

    1. Ooooh I agree. I saw one of the places they filmed at in New Orleans, it was on the haunted tour, but the place isn’t actually haunted, they just point out places Brad Pitt’s been since he loves and lives in the city so much.

  2. I love Twilight and Vampire Diaires! TV Damon is the best looking but I like the book version of Edward so it’s a tie between them 🙂

    1. Yah, I need to read the Vampire Diaries sometime so I can really compare. I do adore Edward, but if I really had to date any of them, I’d go Damon or Stefan first.

  3. I admit, the only vampire I’ve seen on the screen is Edward. I’d consider Edward as my favorite, if it weren’t for the frequent use (read: overused) of ‘pursed lips’. So, I’m going with Ian – er Damon.

    1. Excellent choice, Lenore, you’ll be fighting off many other ladies, but he’s well worth it!

  4. Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt were good vampires, but I still choose Bill Compton!

    1. You know, I think he’s got some fine qualities to him too. But I’m such a sucker for the way he talks. “I am bound to you for eternity.” And of course, the breathy name “Sookie!”

  5. […] idea!) Yewknee and Halloween bone configurations More Dr. Who posters Jess didn’t mention Dracula or Blade, what a shame! Pottermore house crests Senator arrested for Occupy protests Ettagirl says people […]

  6. I picked Damon. He is totally my favorite vampire. He is a good guy, but sometimes his methods aren’t so nice.

    If I were going to pick a favorite vampire from True Blood, I think it would be Pam or Jessica. They interest me more than Bill and Eric. 😀

    Fun post.

    1. Oooh nice pick with Pam. I should’ve added some leading ladies and she’d be a good one. She is an awesome side character on True Blood. So far, in Vampire Diaries I could care less for Rebecca. Meh.

  7. I voted for Bill Compton. I’m not a Twilight fan and haven’t seen any of the others. Personally though, I wish Dracula had been on the list. He was cool long before vampires were popular!

    1. LOL. I see now my readers demand some classics too! Too right. I should’ve allowed for more than current trendy vamps. Dracula, and the Interview with a Vampire creatures should’ve been on here. But Bill Compton is a noble pick, except in season 3 (was that just the last one) he was a big fat liar in season 3. He’s got some making up to do if he wants “Sookie” back.

  8. Eric. I have a thing for Nordic men. Befriended several in my IRC days.

    1. He’s growing on me in the new season. Is he good? Is he bad? I think he’s good. He must be bad!

  9. Eric Northman, for sure!

    1. He’s got quite the fan base! Bill’s doing himself in with that last season, and Eric is on the rise. Hmmm

  10. Of those Eric all the way!!! But there are so many sexy vampires out there.

    1. I’m so shocked that Eric is sweeping the winning vote! You all amaze me. I thought it would be Damon: lock, stock, and charming grin, I mean barrel…

  11. Amazingly, I’ve never watched Twilight or Vampire Diaries. But I am a True Blood addict, and my absolute fave in the series is good old Eric. Its all about the attitude. I actually didn’t like it much this season when he lost his memory/sense of self and was a sweetie for a while : )! I also have to throw Tom Cruise’s rendition of The Vampire Lestat in there. I loved the Interview With A Vampire books, and was worried he wouldn’t bring Lestat to life for me when I heard he’d been cast. But he nailed it!

    1. Again, Eric Northman! Takin the vampire hottie poll to new extremes. LOL

  12. AHHHH! Damon is losing to Eric. I do love me some Eric, but how can Damon be losing? Can I vote more than once? Are people watching this season of Vampire Diaries? Damon is absolutely yummy!!

    Happy Halloween!

    1. I know, I know Tiffany. That’s why I said I needed you for this post! I was so sad Damon was losing. Clearly, not enough people are watching season 3. Yum indeed!

  13. Edward Cullen all the way – but I prefer the book version to the film…

    1. I don’t know, the film version is pretty nice to the eyes…mmmm

  14. […] who earned a respectable 35% of the vote.  If you missed your chance to chime in, you can view the original post here and take the […]

Tell me a story...

