Holiday Books To Inspire You to Write: Guest Blog by Jennie Bennett

Take this Friday to settle down with the Life List Club as we keep you sane and inspired through the holiday season.  Today my guest is the lovely Jennie Bennett, author and mom extraordinaire!  She’s here today giving her favorite holiday reads to inspire you to WRITE!  And I’m writing a letter to myself, my teenage self, over at David Walker’s blog.  Please stop by!  But first, here’s Jennie!

Holiday Books to get you Inspired to Write

Welcome fellow #lifelistclub followers and a very happy holiday season to you! As writers we are all looking for good books to read, right? So today I have a few of my favorite Holiday recommendations.
The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans
     The blurb on Goodreads:
This inspiring holiday tale tells the touching story of a widow and the young family who moves in with her, and the ways in which they discover together the first gift of Christmas and what the holiday is really all about. Written by the author as a token of affection for his daughters, The Christmas Box has captured the hearts and minds of over a million readers.

 

 

 

The Trees of the Dancing Goats by Patricia Polacco
     The Blurb on Goodreads:
Trisha loves the eight days of Hanukkah, when her mother stays home from work, her Babushka makes delicious potato latkes, and her Grampa carves wonderful animals out of wood as gifts for Trisha and her brother. In the middle of her family’s preparation for the festival of lights, Trisha visits her closest neighbors, expecting to find them decorating their house for Christmas. Instead they are all bedridden with scarlet fever. Trisha’s family is one of the few who has been spared from the epidemic. It is difficult for them to enjoy their Hanukkah feast when they know that their neighbors won’t be able to celebrate their holiday. Then Grampa has an inspiration: they will cut down trees, decorate them, and secretly deliver them to the neighbors, “But what can we decorate them with?” Babushka asks. Although it is a sacrifice, Trisha realizes that Grampa’s carved animals are the perfect answer. Soon her living room is filled with trees — but that is only the first miracle of many during an incredible holiday season.
Based on a long cherished childhood memory, this story celebrates the miracle of true friendship.

The Mansion by Henry Van Dyke
     The Blurb on Goodreads:
John Weightman wanted the best of everything. He surrounded himself with beauty and riches, and was very careful with how he spent his money. No pennies in beggars hats, he liked to say. Until one night he dreamed that he died . . . Finding himself with a group of travelers dressed in white, John joins them on their journey to the Celestial City where each individual will be rewarded with a mansion based on treasures set aside. Thinking that his mansion will be the most grand, John Weightman learns what it truly means to lay up treasures in heaven. The Mansion is a classic tale told at Christmastime that illustrates the importance of giving unselfishly.

 

 

No matter what you will be celebrating this time of year these books will inspire you to become better writers. Happy Holidays!

BIO: J. A. Bennett is a stay-at-home mom of a three-year-old boy and a one-year-old girl. Besides writing, she has a passion for cooking and good movies. She blogs at A Book, A Girl, A Journey about writing and other life musings. She is currently working on a young adult novel that involves time travel, world destruction, and the awkwardness of teenagedom.  She is also on Twitter, Facebook, and Google plus

21 responses

  1. I always like to read a Christmas-y book this time of year. I’ve heard lots about The Christmas Box, but haven’t read it … It looks like a good one for my TBR list.

    1. I’ve seen the film version of this one, I bet it is a very interesting story to read as well. Interesting to see how they did it.

  2. Great book selection, Jennie! I’ve never read any of them, but I will now. I love holiday stories like this and a couple of my grandchildren are old enough to read these also. Thanks.

    1. They are all really, really good! Holiday musts in my opinion 🙂

    2. I agree with that! They’re great selections for a family to read together.

  3. Great suggestions, Jennie! The Christmas Box appeals to me the most at the moment, and will be the one I look into first : )!

    1. Pam you have to read that! It is so good and really makes you love your family so much more!

    2. Let me know how you like it! Curious how it compares to the film version.

  4. I love the Christmas Box – and watch it on t.v. every chance I get as well. Thank you for the suggestions.
    Patti

    1. I’ve seen that one too. It’s one the family owns. Use to watch it with my mom growing up. That’s why I like Marcia’s idea about them being a family readalong.

  5. Wonderful suggestions! I haven’t read The Trees of the Dancing Goats or The Mansion *adds to list*. I also love a book called The Light of Christmas (I think).

    1. That sounds good! I’m always looking for new holiday favorites 🙂

    2. Oh boy, your TBR list is growing too! LOL

  6. Jennie, I love book and movie recommendations. The Van Dyke book sounds interesting. I always use passages from books to inspire my writing. That’s how I deal with writer’s block. They also help to reduce the amount of disappointments we would otherwise have from picking stuff out at random. On the topic of recommendations, I just commented to Sonia on another blog about folks who by 99 cent books without recommendation and then are disappointed that it’s not a professionally edited book with a well-crafted story.

    1. What a great way to fight writer’s block. My favorite way is taking walks, or long drives.

  7. And I have read none of these so this is fabulous…thanks, Jennie!

    1. She definitely picked some good ones! But my ‘to read’ pile is seeming endless. LOL

  8. I don’t know that I’ve ever read a holiday book….don’t hit me! Great post. Thanks for hosting Jennie, Jess!

    Happy Holidays!

    1. It’s not a big trend, that I know of, not like movies, right Tiffany? LOL. We’ll both have to add these titles in.

  9. […] Bennett guest blogs over at Jess Witkins’ Happiness Project and shares a few of her favorite Holiday Books that actually inspire her to be a better […]

Tell me a story...

