A Red Carpet Affair

(source: filmofilia.com)

The Paaaaaaaaaaarty Has Arriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiived! 

The entirety of Sunday was spent prepping sauces and chopping party food, assembling schwag bags, and getting my costume ready.

I’m thrilled for the winners of the 84th Academy Awards, all of whom seemed more than grateful in their acceptance speeches and looked just lovely.

The winner for Best Achievement in Directing went to The Artist’s Michel Hazanavicius.  Likewise, Best Actor went to Jean Dujardin from The Artist.  My favorite awards of the evening went to Best Supporting Actor, 82 year Christopher Plummer for Beginners, gaining her 3rd Oscar and 17th nomination, Meryl Streep for The Iron Lady won Best Actress, and very exciting was the win of Best Supporting Actress, Octavia Spencer for her role in The Help!  And the finale of awards, Best Picture, went to The Artist.

Also exciting was the return of 9-time Oscar host, Billy Crystal!  Yay!

I think we all enjoyed THIS... (source: latimes.com)

More than THIS! (source: posh24.com)

Now, on to the party!  A party at my place is primarily about THE FOOD! The menu included:

  • Sugar Snap Pea Salad
  • Godfather Crostinis
  • Salmon Cakes and Dill Sauce
  • Slow Roasted Tomatoes and Mint
  • Herb Buttered Mushrooms
  • Gladiator Chicken Skewers
  • Bacon-Wrapped Jalapenos
  • Fresh Mozzarella with Toasted Garlic and Capers
  • Tofu Dill Fondue
  • Sicilian Herb Dib and Assorted Cheeses
  • Chocolate and Butterscotch Pudding Parfaits
  • Red Carpet Red Velvet Cake

Our signature drink to kick off the red carpet interviews was a Peach Bellini, followed by lots and lots of red wine!  I know right, are your mouths watering?  They should be!  This was possibly the best coordinated menu and most savory of foods my co-hostess and best friend, Cat and I have ever had!

Co-hostesses of the Mostesses: Marilyn Monroe and Catherine

Godfather Crostinis

Salmon Cakes

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapenos, Grilled Asparagus, and Gladiator Chicken Skewers

Mozzarella with Toasted Garlic and Capers, garnished with a few Slow Roasted Tomatoes

An Oscar Worthy Pudding Parfait!

Guests filled out their ballot sheets ahead and turned in their pens.  No cheating allowed!  Markers were handed out, and we waited during the awards.  My winning guest had 12 correct answers and won the first place prize of a Movie Theater Pass for Two, a bottle of Francis Coppola Chardonnay, a Box of Lindor Truffels, and a bottle of Chanel Chance perfume!

My blog contest winner from last Tuesday’s post, guessed 2 out of 4 main categories correct and will be receiving an Amazon Gift Card plus Oscar worthy prizes such as movies, recipes, and more movie fun!  And the Oscar for best blogger goes to…Amanda Rudd!

Thanks for tuning in to the Oscar’s with me!  Join me on Friday for my Guilty Pleasure rundown of Best Dressed!

21 responses

  1. I can’t believe I missed ladtvTuesday! What the deuce? Looks like an awesome party! And on a Sunday night. Lrd love you!

    1. LOL. I took monday off. They know this is MY NIGHT!

    1. It was very fun! Wish you all could come over; I’d love it!

    1. There’s some sicilian dip and fondue left, but Joe ate all my last crab cakes. 😦

  2. You girls did an amazing job! Excellent food, costume and prize choices! You deserve and Oscar for Best Oscar Party, Jess! Wish I lived in your neighborhood. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the award! I would love for all my blogger friends to attend an Oscar party. Imagine if our powers combined, Marcia?!!!

  3. Everything looked great, Jess! Seems like I recall reading something about your Oscar parties! Was it in Variety? 😉 When I am nominated for Best Original Screenplay one day, I’m coming to your party!! How tough is it to get an invitation?

    -Jimmy

    1. You are absolutely welcome! If I ever have a nominee at my party, I’ll flip! Better yet, when you attend the awards for your nomination, can I be your plus one and carry your spare shoes around. I’ll do whatever, so long as I’m seated next to Oprah, Brad Pitt, Adrian Brody, or Annette Bening, not necessarily in that order.

      1. *laughs* Be careful with that Adrian Brody! I’ve seen him attack the pretty ones… Oh! I get it. Nevermind…
        😉

        -Jimmy

        1. Don’t give me away now, Jimmy!

  4. OMG Jess – post those recipes! May I come over next year?

    1. The more the merrier! I will post some recipes for sure!

  5. I’d whack somebody for a bite of those Godfather crostini.

    And Billy Crystal rocked it!

    1. No killing necessary. I’ll make you an offer you can’t refuse and post the recipe!

  6. An Oscar’s party. I totally love it!

    1. I would so love to have all my blogger friends over for a party. You know the food would be to die for and the conversation an absolute riot!

  7. […] It is an extreme guilty pleasure of mine to ooh and aah over the dresses worn at the Academy Awards.  So for this Guilty Pleasure Friday, allow me to REALLY INDULGE and share my favorite, and not-so-favorite, looks of the evening as well as provide the decadent recipes you all asked for in my previous Oscar post, A Red Carpet Affair! […]

  8. Wow, cool! I never win things! Thanks alot!

Tell me a story...

