What’s your #GuiltyPleasure #Food?

All of us have our favorite foods, delectables, and comfort dishes.  And of course it’s fun to try new foods too!  Here are some of the dishes I tried while visiting South Korea.

Twiggem

Twiggem is any kind of fried food.  My first night in Seoul we walked through the streets and alleyways till we found a little spot with a large assortment of twiggem to try.  Each guest is given a basket to fill with whatever they’d like to try, then it’s weighed and you pay by the pound.  *Don’t think too hard about it!*  I tried fried kimchi, mushrooms, fish, leaf wraps with rice and ham, fried zucchini, and fried lotus root.

Bulgogi

My favorite dish!  Bulgogi is Korean barbecue.  It’s cooked right at your table in a broth of vinegar and soy sauce with some pear zest in it.  Add onions, mushrooms, and leeks.  I ate it twice while on my travels and with it was served an assortment of green leaf salad, kimchi soup, a wasabi slaw salad, glass noodles with chilis and nuts, fish, and more kimchi (cabbage in a vinegar/chili sauce).

Shabu Shabu

Shabu Shabu is a Korean take on a Chinese Hot Pot.  It involves a pot of boiling broth brought out to your table and an array of foods that are cooked in the broth.  We tried everything from meatballs to beef slices, various greens, a whole plate of different mushrooms, peppers, rice cake, broccoli, and dumplings.  At the end, the remaining broth is mixed with rice and a fried egg, which was tasty but I barely had any room left!

Dakgalbi

Fish Market

Baby Octopus

The Dakgalbi Before

The octopus awaiting the fry pan!

The Dakgalbi After: Tentacles and All!

My first bite of octopus!

Dakgalbi is typically chicken in a chili sauce with a mix of greens, mushrooms, and rice cake in it.  We added baby octopus.  Neither my friend or I had tried it before.  I like it!  Tastes like squid – a bit on the chewy side.  🙂

Hotteok

My first experience with Korean desserts.  Hotteok (pronounced Ho-duck) is dough filled with brown sugar and nuts and fried till slightly crispy on the outside.  Mmmm.

Doncasu

Doncasu is pork cutlets, breaded and fried.  The side dishes with it included rice, corn, soup, and a spicy sauce.  The top left dishes hold different kinds of radish which are common sides that have been pickled and will cut the spice of the main dish.

Bibimbap

One of the vegetarian dishes I tried.  Bibimbap is rice and fried egg with various mushrooms, zucchini, carrots, corn, sprouts, and seaweed and a hint of a chili sauce that you mix up.  Yum!

Ojinga Sundae

Ahh, for Easter Sunday, my lunch was ojinga sundae!  Literally it translates as “squid sausage”.  It’s squid head that’s been cut off and scooped of any organs, filled with rice and vegetables or glass noodles, then breaded and fried.  Messy, but very tasty!

Those were my food adventures while traveling overseas.  But tell me about your favorite food experiences!  When was the first time you tried something out of the ordinary?  What are the foods you love?  What foods can you NOT stand?  What does your guilty pleasure plate look like?

16 responses

  1. You are a very adventurous eater!!
    I don’t think I’ve come close to anything like those photos–but I do like vietnamese food!

    1. Oooh me too! Do you like pho soup then? I love when my friend makes it cause I get to throw in all the toppings – I like the crunch of the sprouts in the soup and things like fresh cilantro! Darn, now I’m hungry again!

  2. I will try just about anything. Thanks for reminding me that I need to go out for some Korean soon! I love Bulgogi and Bibimbap.

    I can’t really think of the oddest thing I’ve tried off the top of my head…maybe because a lot of things don’t seem that strange to me! 🙂

    1. Sadly my hometown doesn’t have the best variety for ethnic foods. I love the Hmong restaurant and we just got an Indian one but those and a greek restaurant might be it. I’m very jealous you have available korean dishes close by. Do you think you could mail me some bibimbap? 😉

      1. If I thought it would keep, I totally would! One of my best friends is Korean and he seems to find a place everywhere he goes. 🙂

        I think I may have to learn how to make some of my favorites. (We do have a Korean grocer nearby…if you wanted a special ingredient, I could probably ship that!)

  3. I’m impressed you ate all these things and lived to tell about it. You are much braver than I!

    1. Yah, I did awesome. No sickness at all for this girl! So not the case on my last travel adventure. LOL.

      P.S. I bet you’d like hotteok!

  4. Holy crap! You are an adventurous eater. I mean, I am an adventurous eater, but you? You take the twiggem! 😉

    1. You wouldn’t eat twiggem with me, Renee? Are you sure? Even if I bought you beer to wash it all down? It was sooo good – and probably the most American tasting dish, cause…we like our fried foods in the midwest. Are you familiar with the term Friday Night Fish Fry? LOL

      Now ask me what a Chicken-Que is! That was new to me during college.

  5. Yum! Thanks so much for sharing this. Wish I had been there with you um num numming away. I love trying different foods, the spicier the better.

    I wonder how many people get tricked by that “sundae” dish. Hee hee. Where’s the hot fudge?

    1. Oh you and I would go to town! I remember your post about your Italy travels and the fine meats and cheeses you tried. *Drooling!*

  6. Thanks for the immersion course in Korean food. Toronto has tons of Korean restaurants but I’ve never gone. We always head for Thai, Sushi or Chinese. On your recommendation I’m definitely going to give some of these a try! Great photos too.

    1. Take the Bridge Club out for Bulgogi!!! 😀

  7. Oh. My. GOD!! Everything looks so good. Doncasu is the Korean version of Tonkatsu, it looks like. I wonder if the Japanese stole the idea from them, or vice-versa. In any case, I’m thinking a trip to Seoul is in order just to try the food!

    1. Your stomach won’t regret it! Bulgogi was my fave! Be sure you try some of that!

  8. […] around the world.  I just blogged all about my recent trip to South Korea:  favorite spots, food, and […]

Tell me a story...

