Guest Post by CJ West: His 10 Chocolate Guilty Pleasures

And we’re back!  This past Tuesday, I had thriller writer, CJ West over talking about his new short, Thugbook!  Today, CJ’s back at the Happiness Project reminiscing about his 10 untouchable guilty pleasures, and they all have to do with chocolate!  You see, CJ is working out for his upcoming debut on MANday, but a guy can be guilty once in awhile.  Check out his faves!

My Ten Chocolate Indulgences

I’ve been a chocoholic since birth so my ten indulgences had to be chocolate flavored. For those of you who follow me, you know I’m working out hard to get ready for the MANday wager I’ve got going on with Jillian Dodd. We have a bet that I can get in good enough shape to show off my abs on her blog in July.

Needless to say, I’m not eating a lot of chocolate right now. At least I can share my love in pictures. Drool with me.

#1 Chocolate Ice Cream

Before MANday, chocolate ice cream with chocolate chips and chocolate sauce was a regular treat. No special occasion required. Just open the freezer and there it is waiting for you to dig in.  Everyone has a little stress, right?

#2 Hershey’s Special Dark

At some point in my chocolate loving life, I moved on from milk chocolate to dark chocolate and I never looked back. Hershey’s makes this giant bar that is way too much for one person to eat in one sitting, but when you sit in front of the computer for hours typing away, it is quite possible to eat the entire bar without realizing.

#3 Nestle’s Toll House Morsels

Once upon a time I always had a bag of these in the house, not the little bag, but the giant bag. Okay, I admit it, I usually had two or three. They are great kept in the freezer. They don’t stick to your hands that way. You can carry them around for 5 minutes or so before they are all gone. If chocolate was a vegetable, there would be no need to stock other foods.

When these are in the house I eat way too many so I had to stop stocking them.

#4 Lindt Dark Chocolate Truffles

I discovered these about two years ago. Delicious. They melt in your mouth the way harder chocolates can’t. A great indulgence, but not a diet staple.

#5 Entenmann’s Chocolate Donuts


I did a horrible thing to my ex-wife. I introduced her to Entenmann’s Chocolate Donuts for breakfast back when I got tons of exercise and was young enough to burn off the extra calories. DO NOT start eating these for breakfast. They are like crack. Not as bad for you, but they are every bit as hard to give up. Just say no!

#6 Toll House Cookie Dough

In my mind there isn’t another kind of cookie. I judged a baking contest last year and tasted some great cookies. The winner was an amazing combination of nuts and cranberries and dark chocolate. Still, if it was up to me, I’d pick a basic Toll House Cookie any time. And before you can get to the cookie, you have to eat some dough. Could you really bake cookies without eating at least one spoonful?

#7 Toll House Cookies

Yes, I do bake some of that dough! In my younger days we didn’t get sweets unless we baked them ourselves. I can remember my brother and I, we were teens, eating an entire batch before they cooled!

#8 Devil Dogs

One of the few store bought treats we got as kids. Mom got them from the thrift store and froze them so they wouldn’t go bad (like that would happen).  We never waited for them to thaw before eating them and to this day I prefer them frozen. If you live in a place where they don’t have these, get in your car now.

#9 Peanut Butter squares

In tenth grade a friend’s mother gave me a recipe to make these. They are similar to a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup minus the preservatives and salt. To this day I can recite the recipe and whip them together in 15 minutes.  If there was a number 11 on this list, it would be a peanut butter square sundae with chocolate ice cream, chocolate sauce, and whipped cream. Pure Heaven!

#10 Brownie Sundae

My ideal dessert wouldn’t look exactly like this one, but I chose the image because the brownies have chocolate chips! A must when you make brownies. I’d switch to chocolate ice cream and add a generous layer of whipped cream. Ahh.

Thanks for joining me in this virtual orgasm of chocolate goodness!

Thanks CJ for sharing your guilty pleasure list with us!  I had no idea what loving chocolate was like as I only eat 1-10 of those.  😉

Your turn!  What guilty pleasures sneak their way into YOUR cupboards?

 

28 responses

  1. Thanks for having me Jess. This is the first day of my MANday chocolate free diet. 44 days of torture! I may have to visit this page often!

    1. Be careful grocery shopping! Stay away from those donuts, I totally know that addictive quality they have. You eat them for dinner…right?

      1. I used to eat them for breakfast.

        I haven’t had one in about 3 years.

  2. I could name fifty chocolate favorites, I’m sure, but if you nailed me down to one I’d have to say Hostess Ho-ho’s. Though, they don’t taste the same now as when I was a kid and they came in the silver foil wrappers. Sigh…

    1. Yes, Ho-Ho’s are good. I think I like Ring Dings a little better.

    2. Ho-ho’s and COSMIC BROWNIES!!!

  3. I practically lived on Swiss Cake Rolls in high school (cheap treat from the cafeteria line). I’m a huge dark chocolate fan too! Now I’m drooling over that Hershey’s Dark bar. Meanwhile, I rarely bake the chocolate chip cookie dough, and I prefer Pillsbury’s refrigerator cookie dough; just give me a tube and a spoon. My recent favorite chocolate, however, is Dove Dark Chocolates. Delish! Oh yeah, how could I forget turtles! Chocolate, caramel, and pecans. Dang, that sounds good!

    Thanks, CJ & Jess. (And I’m still waiting to see those abs.)

    1. Julie, I make a special trip to the store for those Hershey’s bars. It’s amazing what power they have over me.

      1. I’m with Julie! I love the Dove dark chocolates! And the ones with almonds, and the one with raspberry, and the caramel ones…*drooling*

  4. All of the above are on my guilty pleasure list! Chocolate, chocolate and nothing but chocolate! I love Ghirardelli’s raspberry chocolate squares and mint chocolate squares, M&Ms, Peanut butter M&Ms, Chocolate Orange, Nutella (it goes with everything!), chocolate/peanut butter fudge, chocolate-covered potato chips…need I go on?
    I’m sooo proud of you, CJ, for resisting chocolate during your challenge! You will have abs to beat Beckham!

    1. I don’t know about beating Beckham. But I’m trying.

    2. You know what my sister in law just showed me?! They’ve been making s’mores for dessert this summer and using flavored ghirardelli squares! Imagine a caramel chocolate s’more! They were so good!

  5. I’m here partly because I love ya, Jess, and partly because Gene made me. 😉 And once again, we’re on the same blog-theme page. LOL

    Great taste, CJ—pun totally intended. I’m a chocolate lover, too. Hmm… Are they still guilty pleasure if we feel no guilt? If so, dark chocolate-chip oatmeal cookies and ice cream are mine. YUM.

    1. Thanks for stopping in August. When my challenge is over I’ll indulge guilt free.

    2. Love you too August! Great minds think alike! Please bring some of those oatmeal cookies with you to share next time!

  6. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos | Reply

    I eat chocolate chips out of the bag when I’m desperate. You know it’s a bad day if I have a glass of wine and the bag of chocolate chips. (Although I prefer milk chocolate!)

    1. LOL. My fix was wine and cheetos. But Dove chocolate did help me survive NaNo. 😀

  7. I never knew anyone could be addicted to so many forms of chocolate, no wonder the whole manday regime is so tough!

    I guess my treat is cashews, but I avoid buying them because I eat them too quickly. Which is the point I know, but what can I say, I’m mixed up.

    Cheers!

    1. How about chocolate covered cashews?! Eh? Eh?

      1. Gaaaaaarrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhh. How could you. Yuk, yuk, yuk. But there again, I did try salted chocolates at Costco once, they were pretty good … so maybe …

        Cheers

  8. It’s so hard to believe that there would be a human alive that doesn’t love chocolate… but I happen to have one of those weirdos in my home.

    I am a compulsive baker. I love, love, LOVE baked goods. Went to marriage counseling for first marriage and the ex actually complained about it. He claimed I was trying to kill him because his cholesterol shot up a few dozen points. Pshaw I say! I don’t make you eat them… just because they’re delicious!

    But my biggest temptation is the vodka, tonic and limes I keep in the house. It’s not that I drink in abundance, but I like to have a drink or two at the end of a day. It’s terrible, especially if you are wanting to lose weight because you CAN’T for the entire day after you drink.

    I also love a good espresso martini.

    Okay, I’m off to sign up for A.A.!

    Looking forward to the MANday post in July!

    1. What is this fabulous espresso martini you speak of? That sounds awesome!

      And don’t feel bad. I like having a glass of wine after a long day at work. And now they sell chocolates to pair with different wines?! Genius!

      1. 2 shots espresso, 1 shot each: Kahlua, Irish Creme and Vanilla Vodka. Add ice, shake, strain and devour. Warning: 3 makes you funny. 4 makes you pray to the porcelain god… and unable to sleep it off!

        They also make chocolate wine… for us chocoholics!

        1. I have had this chocolate wine! And I’ll heed your advice about the martini.

  9. OMG, Jess – pairing wine with chocolate? I just heard about this the other day. Could it get any more decadent?

    1. Me thinks your bridge club will have to give it a go. 😉

  10. […] Welcome to another edition of Tuesday’s Featured Writer Posts!  The fun was kicked off by thriller writer CJ West and you can still find out why Dexter Morgan might be CJ’s best friend or what his Top 10 Chocolate Guilty Pleasures are! […]

  11. […] or  … well, you get the picture. Life is good. Since CJ West shared his mouth-watering Chocolate Guilty Pleasure list  , I thought I would follow along with food-related guilty pleasures from France.  The problem was […]

Tell me a story...

