Kait Nolan is Cuckoo for Cookie Dough

Welcome to another bandit version of Guilty Pleasures Friday!  Taking over my blog today is the amazingly-mostly-glutton-free Kait Nolan.  But she has one little guilty pleasure after all…  Tell us about it, Kait!

*****

(thaimedicalnews.com)

I have a confession to make.  When Jess asked me to write a post about my guilty pleasures, I immediately said yes.  And then when I sat down to write it…I couldn’t think of a thing.  Not that I don’t have pleasures in life—I just don’t consider any of them guilty.  I feel like they are all well deserved.  I exercise while watching the Food Network instead of going off and making everything I’m drooling over.  Reading is NEVER guilty and always well merited.  Chocolate is a necessary component of sanity.  And my morning cuppa tea is a public service to keep me from going off on a homicidal rampage against the morning people of the world.  So where’s the guilty pleasure?

And then I thought of it.  The thing I allow myself so seldom expressly because of the guilt (and the calories).

Cookie dough.

(progressivenewsdaily.com)

Oh dear God, how I love cookie dough.  I have NO RESTRAINT with it.  None.  It does not ever make it to baked cookies in my house, and I invariably eat obscene amounts of it with a big glass of milk chaser.  My answer to this in the past has been simply to never keep one of the ingredients in the house.  If I REALLY want cookie dough, I have to want it bad enough to drive all the way into town to the grocery to pick up brown sugar.  I rarely want it that bad.

But I’d been pondering for a while about the notion of making a single serving of cookie dough.  AllRecipes.com has a nifty calculator where you can adjust recipes to a different quantity of servings.  But that one really stumped me because of course all cookie dough recipes have eggs.  It is very difficult to have a fractional egg, and Egg Beaters (while eliminating the fear of E-coli—which I admit was never really an issue for me) just aren’t the same.

Enter Pinterest.  Another guilty pleasure, now that I think about it.  While trolling around on my weekly allotted hour (I have to limit myself or I’ll fritter away scads of time), I came across a recipe for single serve cookie dough.  No eggs, no leavening agent.  It’s never meant to be baked.  It’s all about the flavor of the dough.

Glory halleluiah!

I had to try it.  And BOY was it worth it!  Just the right portion (okay, yeah, I admit, I’ll often make a double batch—but that’s still less than I’d eat if I made regular cookie dough) and a sensible indulgence that won’t totally blow the calorie budget.

Excuse me, I need another glass of milk…

Kait Nolan is stuck in an office all day, sometimes juggling all three of her jobs at once with the skill of a trained bear—sometimes with a similar temperament. After hours, she uses her powers for good, creating escapist fiction. The work of this Mississippi native is packed with action, romance, and the kinds of imaginative paranormal creatures you’d want to sweep you off your feet…or eat your boss.  When she’s not working or writing, she’s in her kitchen, heading up a revolution to Retake Homemade from her cooking blog, Pots and Plots.  You can catch up with her at her blog, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

Winner!!!  August McLaughlin is the winner of Kait’s e-book copy of Red!  Congratulations, August!

14 responses

  1. You are better than I to actually make the dough. I just head down to the grocery store, purchase a Pillsbury tube, and go at it with a big spoon. The milk chaser is awesome! That’s my coping mechanism when life has gone way past stressed to complete mental malfunction. A little sugary dough with chocolate chips, and I’m back on track.

    I’ll have to try that single serving recipe, though. Sounds good!

    1. Sara Grambusch has a mini chocolate cake recipe on her blog somewhere too. You make them in a coffee cup!

      Doesn’t cookie dough sound so good right now?!!!

    2. It’s one of those occasions when being a food snob and turning my nose up at pre-made anything is actually kind of helpful…

  2. Oh I’m so there! I LOVE cookie dough, and it rarely gets baked in our house either. I love buying the premade cookie square things, and then portioning off five or six (or 10, who’s counting). Yes, I am that lazy. I’m definitely trying this single serving thing, though! YUM!

    1. Hey Melinda! How are you?

      We did that last time we baked cookies. Joe bought a box from his school students and we did bake them, after we ate a couple raw. Mmmm

  3. From now on, I’m going to refer to coffee as “a public service to keep me from going off on a homicidal rampage against the morning people of the world.” Well said, Kait! Decades ago, my mother instilled a fear of raw cookie dough in me and my siblings by telling us we’d get worms if we as much as tasted the stuff. Looking back, she probably wanted to make sure some cookies made it into the oven. They all made it in.

    1. LOL. That’s so mean, but funny. How do you know she wasn’t making sure there was more dough for her? Hmmmm?

  4. Reetta Raitanen | Reply

    Om nom nom. I only make gingerbread cookies during Christmas time but that dough is so addictive. And so is cake dough. And Ben & Jerry’s Cookie Dough ice cream. Mmmm.

    Gorging ready bought cookies is my guilty pleasure. And Pinterest. And reading blogs. Timer is a must tool for me.

    1. LOL. Have you tried Ben and Jerry’s Half Baked ice cream? Chocolate and vanilla ice cream with brownie and cookie dough chunks!!! It’s my fave!

  5. Cookie dough by itself has never really appealed to me, but the little chunks sprinkled throughout cookie dough ice cream are tres delish!

    1. I was so good while grocery shopping yesterday, I didn’t buy any sweets!

      Course I just ate like half a tub of french onion dip and chips… Shhhhh!

  6. […] Kait knowledge and learn even more in Kait’s fantasy revealing interview with me and about her single serving guilty pleasure!  Both posts are filled with trademark Kait Nolan banter, you’ll love […]

  7. I looovveee cookie dough…can’t get enough of it, so I stopped buying it!

    1. You sound just like Kait, that way when you want it, you have to drive to the store and get all the ingredients first. LOL

Tell me a story...

