Travel Necessities: What Do You HAVE to Pack?

Joe and I have been together for almost 6 years now.  That’s a lot of time to bum around new places with someone!  In just 3 days, we’ll be hitting the road and making our way west toward Yellowstone National Park!  While I’m gone, expect some guest posts and photo check-ins, and I’ll be back along the way to chat with you all in the comments section.

For this round of Guilty Pleasures Friday, I started thinking about the things that become travel companions.  We’ve all got some, right?  That pair of worn in shoes you wore backpacking, that old college alumni sweatshirt that’s got holes in it, a favorite fragrance that makes you feel confident?  We may not realize or admit it, but our clothes make us comfortable.  And sometimes, there’s a story behind them.

Take Joe’s UW-La Crosse T-Shirt:

Joe and I in Seattle, WA 2009

Joe and I in Boston, MA 2010

And you know there’d be a 2011 photo, except I’m vain I’m detailed and said he couldn’t keep wearing the same shirt on every vacation we had!

But then, I’m guilty of it too…

Jess’ Adidas Jacket:

South Korea, April 2012

Me with my Book Club, June 2012

And you can be sure there’d be more snaps of this coat too, except I wore it back in 2003 on my trip to Ireland!  Those photos were still developed on film!

I had to laugh when we were both packing for our road trip this week because I didn’t want him to bring the t-shirt, and he doesn’t want me to bring the jacket!  (Shh – It might be going along anyway!)  

I’m also partial to a particular Fossil bag:

New Orleans, LA 2011

Toronto, Canada 2011

N Seoul Tower, South Korea 2012

See, my handbag and spring jacket have been international passengers with me!  They hold a dear place in my heart because maybe sand from the Sokcho, Korea beach is still in my pockets.  Or perhaps that warped leather was from the hail storm I got caught in while in New Orleans.

I never would’ve said I was sentimental about my clothes, but I guess I am.  Maybe when I get back and post pictures from Yellowstone, we can all play a cyber game of Where’s Waldo – only it’ll be where’s Jess’ Adidas jacket cameo?

What travel items do you have to take with you?  Does your partner have one?  Do you love it or hate it?  What makes it sentimental?

24 responses

  1. Have a great time, Jess! Oh, and I have a favorite travel bag, too, from Guatemala – it carries a ton!

    1. Where’s your next adventure to? I can’t wait to see everyone at book club again!

  2. I’m somewhat minimalist when I travel, sometimes overly so. The one thing that may bother my hubby is my habit of bringing old underwear I plan to throw out. (No need to cringe; they’re clean. ;)) It gives me more room in my suitcase—yay shopping. 😉

    PS You two make such a cute couple!

    1. Lol that’s the funniest thing ever August! I sometimes don’t pack enough tops if I know I’m shopping! Not sure that’s the same though. Hahaha

      And thank you for the compliment! He’s pretty fun most of the time. 😉

  3. I’m so excited for you! 3 days! Yay! I bring the same two pair of shoes. They’re comfortable and go with everything. I don’t look forward to the day they wear out and I have to go looking for new ones. Have a fab time on your western road trip!

    1. To bad you’re on the other side of the Mississippi or we’d be making a pit stop!

      1. Well, there must be a bucket list travel destination on the east coast. If not, plan one for next year, like NYC, Cape Cod, or Boston!

        1. We liked Boston a lot. I actually might be headed that way. I’m hoping to make a trip with my mom to Plymouth next year! Thought we’d maybe stay in Boston, or visit Boston for a day or two. I’ll keep you posted because that’s seriously an option!

  4. I can’t think of a single thing that I usually take on vacation with me. Apparently, I’m not very attached to any of my clothing or items. Or–and this is more likely–I don’t travel enough! Enjoy the vacay, Jess. Loved the pics.

    1. Might a suggest a scenic drive up my way? Just follow the Mississippi up! LOL.

      Take a vacation!!!

  5. The only thing I always take is the kitchen sink. Well, almost. I always have many more clothes than my wife. Not sentimental about old clothes, but I tend to wear them until they’re embarrassing because I hate to shop. My grandsons hate to see me in 4-6 year-old clothes. Guess I’m not very chic or hep or whatever.

    1. You just made me smile by using the words “chic” and “hep.” You’re phenomenal, David Walker, absolutely phenomenal.

  6. I used to have a briefcase that I took on business trips with me. I had that case for years and I got to the stage that when I travelled for pleasure I had a hard time leaving it behind because I was so used to it.

    Have a great trip!

    Cheers!

    1. I carried around a bag all winter that I’d keep my laptop, books, journal in, etc. And Joe just asked me if I still had it since I was using a different one. I said, “Of course, but it’s more of a winter bag, so I’ve put it away for this season.” He replied, “If you ever hear me say I’m not using a bag because it’s not winter right now, shoot me.”

      Men! ….. Wait, who I am typing this to???

  7. Hubby has a Lloyd’s Limited tshirt -a shirt from a pub in Penn Yan, NY which features the drawing of two babies looking down their diapers. No matter where we go, someone recognizes the tshirt (near a local summer camp of which I am an alum), and we strike up a conversation. once, I landed a job interview because he was wearing the shirt, but then I got to chatting! My son has dozens of them in all different colors. Fun post.

    1. That’s really cool. It’s fun to have those pieces that strike up conversation with so many people! I’ll have to check out Lloyd’s Limited now.

      1. Google it! You’ll see the shirts! 😉

  8. Well, my camera, but that’s a gimme. And my iPod…but again, another gimme. When I traveled across country last year I didn’t even bring along a jacket (oops), so I don’t know. Oh, wait – there’s a certain pair of purple boxer shorts I’m quite fond of, and they almost always end up in my suitcase!

    Enjoy your trip to Yellowstone. Believe it or not, I have never been.

    1. Well maybe that’s the next trip you and Tara take!

  9. I love this post, roomie! You know my latest “must pack” item is that purple sarong I wrote about on my blog–for practical and symbolic reasons. 🙂

    I used to overpack for trips, always in “just in case” mode. But lately, I’m leaning towards the Pack 3 philosophy of a world-traveling friend. She says “one to wear, one to wash, and one to have on hand.” I love that.

    Have a wonderful time on your trip. Can’t wait to hear about it.

    1. Oh my god, I didn’t pack a sarong! I need to get my suitcase back out! 😉

  10. I can do without just about everything except my camera! Safe travels, Jess and Joe. We are all waiting for the stories!

    1. Thanks Patricia! I’m lugging around the fancy borrowed camera from my brother everywhere!

Tell me a story...

