ROWdate: Where Did All My Summer Go?

I don’t know where this week slipped away to!  I suppose I’ll attack my goals this week like some people recommend ripping off band-aids.  Just do it!

Writing: 

No progress on the WIP.  The only writing I got done was some journaling on my trip (before I forgot it all), three handwritten letters for fun – something I used to do all the time, and preparation of a few blog posts ahead.

What I Did Accomplish:

-Again, I’m announcing the super fun new project that Marcia Richards and I are conspiring on.  It’s called The Redhots, and it consists of two redheads (us) sharing our opinions on everything we think is HOT or NOT!  Tune in this Friday for the first ever episode where Marcia and I discuss the 50 Shades of Grey Trilogy.  Trust me, you won’t want to miss this!

-Also, I joined up with five other fabulous writers for an online book club called Great New Books, which is really getting an awesome response from readers so far, so thank you!  Our final days of the August book club pick, The River Witch, is happening now.  Tune in for September’s read, and please share your recommendations with us as well!

-Something else to look forward to:  More Author Interviews!  I’ve been busy reading and preparing interviews and blogs for two writers currently, so soon to be on the way – Michael Perry and Timothy McKinney.

Reading – In the last week, I completed The Devil Colony by DFW Writers Conference Keynote Speaker and NYTBS Author, James Rollins!  Loved this one as it takes place around Salt Lake City, Utah and Yellowstone!  Just started A Cook’s Tour by Travel Channel host Anthony Bourdain!

-Writing Plan:  Just today the fabulously funny and intelligent Nigel Blackwell suggested another round of Fast DraftWhile I cannot commit to the full two weeks (being that I work in retail and we’re already planning for Christmas!), I will commit to Fast Drafting practices on the days that I have off to boost the non-existing word count of the present.  Thank you Nigel for the kick in the pants!

That’s what I’m up to!  How about you?  Did the week slip away from you too?  Did you make great progress?  What upcoming events or projects are you excited about?

10 responses

  1. It looks like you’ve got some great stuff coming up! Best wishes with the writing.

    1. Thanks Julie! Hope your projects are up and running too. How goes the queries?

  2. Hi Jess. Sorry about the kick thing … It’s for the best, you know it! No matter how many of the weeks you can do, it’s always more fun when you’re around 🙂

    Cheers!

    1. Best compliment that secretly says “Get to work!” ever! Thank you Nigel!!!

  3. FD practice is a great way to get started again! This will be a tough season for you, but if you can write even 100 words a day on your WIP you’ll make progress! I’m so excited for our RedHots news, reviews and interviews kickoff on Friday!! We’re such great partners! Wishing you success on the book club!

    1. Thanks Marcia! I’m really hoping I’ve got the woman power to hack it through the holidays and still get some writing done!

  4. My week hasn’t slipped away from me, but it is flying by – and that’s a good thing. I’ve got a three-day weekend coming up that I am desperately looking forward to!!

    Hey, if you ever want to interview me on your blog and link to my book…ahem…I wouldn’t resist. A maple bacon bar might even be in it for you if you did. 🙂

    1. Oh don’t worry, you’re on my list! Gotta coupla projects to finish, but planned on hitting you up. How about early next year? (Believe it or not, I’m already in holiday planning mode at the day job and I’ll have to really cut back the author interviews I do this fall. Just won’t have the time to commit and plan accordingly. So next year would be perfect!) Let me know!

  5. My week is definitely starting to slip away from me, and I’m going to have to scramble for a couple days to get myself even close to on track, at least for my WIP writing.

    As a guy, I’m not sure how much I want to hear about 50 Shades of Grey, but I’ll stop by because I enjoy your blog. Have a great week!

    1. You might get a kick out of my commentary! Thanks for commenting and for the compliment, Mike!

      So hear ya on the writing. Try Fast Draft with us, even for a day, you might surprise yourself how much you do get done.

Tell me a story...

