ROWdate: Writing, Reading, and the Redhots – Oh My!

It’s officially September, which in my line of work, means it’s Christmas.  I’ve been feeling all nostalgic already for summer.  I know I did accomplish a lot, but I still didn’t get to the full list.  Every summer, I make a commitment to get to the beach and read at least three times.  You know why?  It never happens.  How many times did I get to the beach this summer?  Once.  And I left after only an hour because there were a lot of bees around and the sand was piping hot.

Maybe the beach is overrated.  I like the idea of the beach.  But there’s probably a reason why all of the vacations that Joe and I take are to cities.  We’ve gone to Portland, OR, Seattle, WA, Boston, MA, Toronto, Ontario, and this year our road trip.  You don’t see us planning vacations to resorts or taking scuba lessons.  While those sound found, I’m not sure I could handle a whole week of beach life.  I just don’t operate that slow.  You know, island time.

I blame my family.  Look at them.

Ok, I probably coordinated that…  We were in the Tetons, I was feeling epic.

Ok, so ROW80, I’m off of work today and it’s time to Fast Draft!  Since I also have to take my car into the shop, I’m hitting another summer to do and biking to the coffee shop to get my writing done.  See you tweeps at #teamsprinty and #FastDraft today!

Other news, The Redhots kicked off this past friday to a huge success!  Did you miss out?  I won’t hold it against you, just go rectify the situation right now!  It’s not too late to get the cutest redheaded version of Siskel and Ebert tear down and pump back up again the sexy series that’s sweeping the nation:  Fifty Shades of Grey.  So visit Marcia and I and tell us what you think:  50 Shades of Hot?  or 50 Shades of Not?

If you’re up for a readathon, there are several great ones going on.  Great New Books just announced the September book review of Hemingway’s Girl and will be voting soon for the next several months.  We’d love your input on what the hottest books this season include – what do you want to read with us?

Then Jenna at Lost Generation Reader is hosting a Harry Potter Readathon from Sept. 1st – December 15th.  I’ve actually never read any Harry Potter books, so I’m signing up for the first book, just to say that yes I have read Harry Potter.

I finished reading A Cook’s Tour by Anthony Bourdain this week and LOVED it!  Never would I have thought that foods like haggis and cobra heart and sheep’s balls would sound delicious.  But reading this book confirmed, once again, that my dream job would be traveling around as Tony’s quirky redheaded counterpart – no real experience, but an eager and gullible partnership could work well.  I also have the travel bug again.  Vietnam and Portugal are placing high at the moment.  Next year…

How is your summer winding down?  Are you looking forward to fall and getting more writing done?  What’s on your autumn reading list?

13 responses

  1. I only like beaches if they come with museums.

    As to good books. Just finished Gone Girl and even though mystery is not my usual genre, I slurped it in, almost whole. And I see you’re listening to the Red Tent. I remember that as a good one.

    1. Yah, my friend Nina just read Gone Girl and was loving it up until ending. What’s your take? I’m still debating whether to put that one in the goodreads queue…

      1. I loved the writing in Gone Girl. The character development was stellar. I don’t want be a spoiler, but the author keeps sucking you in to thinking you’ve begun to understand the population of the book and then turns everything upside down. I did not find the ending satisfying in the classical sense that everything turned out like it should, but believe wholeheartedly that it turned out like it would. I’m recommending it all over the place.

  2. My reading list? There’s always so much! I admit I haven’t read 50 Shades and I don’t intend to. I have numerous friends who write good BDSM. I particularly love Tiffany Reisz, who writes well outside my comfort zone, but her characters are a delight for an intellectual mind, even as they’re doing things that make me cringe!

    Is it just me, or did ROW80 not post a linky yet today? I’m just going through twitter.

    1. Yep, poor Kait is behind today. The woman is juggling an insane workload.

      I will have to check out Tiffany’s books. My sis is looking for something like 50 Shades to read. But she doesn’t want to start another series. Are Tiffany’s series books, or individuals?

  3. I LOVE the beach! You gotta bring a good camp chair, something wonderful to read, and those small plastic bottles of wine to get the full experience. I didn’t make it to the beach enough this summer either.

    Seriously? Christmas already? I’ve come to be quite the Scrooge about Christmas season because it’s SO DANG LONG. Really, people, it’s supposed to be about Jesus’s birthday, and who has a birthday that lasts for three months?! Clearly, I need you to toss some Christmas cheer my way. 😉

    Best wishes with Fast Draft! Yet again, I am amazed by you Fast Drafters!

    1. Oh don’t mistake me, I’m not full on Fast Drafting – just participating with those peeps on my days off. Needed a kick in the pants.

      I love your beach scenario. You should go hiking with Joe and I. We bring a canteen of wine!

      And as for Christmas, I LOVE wrapping presents and making them look beautiful, but I’m getting a little scroogy after working in retail for 5 years. I think it’ll be good. At least the christmas music doesn’t bother me. Except for the Jackson Five’s “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus.” Just shoot me when that song comes on!

  4. Yeah, way too early to think about Christmas! But I know in retail, you’re always months ahead of everyone else. I love the beach for walking in the waves and hunting seashells and driftwood. Not so much for sitting in the hot sun. I like parties and bonfires at night on the beach. Lake Ontario is almost like being at the ocean with the waves, but you can also find a tree to sit under.
    Good luck with your kick-in-the butt mini writing challenges!
    The RedHots did get off to an awesome start! Sept 28th’s edition will be equally fun and a little saucy!
    I think you’ll like the 1st Harry Potter book. I was reading them along with my son, years ago. After the 3rd book, I switched to watching the movies instead. Easier to follow.
    Have a great Christmas season this Fall, Jess! 🙂

    1. Yah, I’m not committing to the whole Potter series, but I thought I’d read the first one.

      Very excited for our Redhots reviews. And THANK YOU to all who commented and tweeted about our launch!

      And I would enjoy the beach in the scenario you gave. Colder beaches like Lake Ontario or Lake Superior are more my style.

  5. In my line of work – at least the video division – it’s also Christmas. Fa la la la la!!

  6. Feeling epic when among the Tetons seems the only thing to feel, doesn’t it? That entire area is such an extraordinary place. I do miss seeing them from time to time but have to admit I really do love my beach life. As you say, island time is a world all its own. Thanks for the links to some most interesting blogs and as well as some interesting read recommendations. Enjoy the rest of this round of ROW80.

    Karen

    1. Thanks Karen; it’s been awesome getting to know so many of you ROWers! You’ve been an amazing cheerleader for me and fun twitter pal! Hope you know how much I appreciate you! All the best this week on your goals!

Tell me a story...

