Countdown to the Oscars: Prediction Time

There’s only one more week until awards night.  The countdown has officially begun.  How many of the nine nominated films for Best Picture have you seen?  I’ve managed to catch five of the nominees!

And now it’s time to cast your ballots, Ladies and Gentlemen!  We’re having an Oscar Party here on The Happiness Project!

And you’re invited!

The Schwag:  The commenter with the most correct Oscar picks from the below categories wins

  1. Copies of all the delectable Oscar Party appetizers featured on next week’s blog.
  2. AFandago Gift Card to be used at the Cinema of your choice!
  3. A schwag bag fit for the stars filled with extra goodies!

And the Nominees Are:

Best Picture

  • Amour
  • Argo
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Django Unchained
  • Les Miserables
  • Life of Pi
  • Lincoln – *Who I think the Academy will pick
  • Silver Linings Playbook – *Jess’s pick
  • Zero Dark Thirty

Best Actress

  • Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty) – *Academy Darling
  • Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook) – *Jess’s pick
  • Emmanuelle Riva (Amour)
  • Qvenzhane’ Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild)
  • Naomi Watts (The Impossible)

Best Actor

  • Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook) – *Jess’s pick
  • Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln) – *Who I think the Oscar will go to
  • Hugh Jackman (Les Miserables)
  • Joaquin Phoenix (The Master)
  • Denzel Washington (The Flight) – *I’d be totally happy with him winning – impressive flick!

Best Supporting Actress

  • Amy Adams (The Master)
  • Sally Field (Lincoln)
  • Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables) -*Let’s face it, she’s most likely to take home the Oscar.
  • Helen Hunt (The Sessions) – Would be very happy for Helen to win!
  • Jacki Weaver (Silver Linings Playbook) – *Jess’s pick

Best Supporting Actor

  • Alan Arkin (Argo) – *Who I think the Academy will choose…maybe.  I’m most torn on this category.
  • Robert De Niro (Silver Linings Playbook)
  • Phillip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)
  • Tommy Lee Jones (Lincoln)
  • Christoph Waltz (Django Unchained) – *Jess’s pick

Best Original Writing

  • Michael Haneke (Amour)
  • Quentin Tarantino (Django Unchained) *Jess’s pick
  • John Gatins (Flight) – *And the Oscar goes to…
  • Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)
  • Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)

To see trailers, the full ballot list, and more Oscar buzz, go to ABCnews.com!

It’s totally fine if you haven’t seen the nominated films, just guess!  Cast your votes below in the comments section!  And just for fun, let’s all gush about what we’d wear to the red carpet!

Joe and I from the 2010 Oscar Party - Nooo, if we actually went to the Academy Awards, he would not be allowed to wear jeans.  And I have something even more fabulous planned for this year!

Joe and I from the 2010 Oscar Party – Nooo, if we actually went to the Academy Awards, he would not be allowed to wear jeans. And I have something even more fabulous planned for this year!

19 responses

  1. This is a huge guessing game for me since I’ve only seen one of these movies! But here I go anyway. My expectations for the Oscars:

    Best picture – Lincoln (it’s THE movie to see this year)
    Best actress – Jennifer Lawrence (she’s quite beloved these days, isn’t she?)
    Best actor – Daniel Day-Lewis (didn’t he win for My Left Foot also?)
    Best supporting actress – Anne Hathaway (and even if someone else is really good, hers was an Oscar-worthy performance)
    Best supporting actor – Tommy Lee Jones (although I say that because I’d give TLJ an Oscar for breathing on screen; that’s how much I like him as an actor)
    Best original writing – Quentin Tarantino (yes, I think he’ll win even though I don’t like his stuff)

    We’ll see how I fare. This is a bit like me picking Super Bowl champions…which I sometimes do based on their uniform color. LOL.

    1. Tommy Lee Jones? Uh did you see Hope Springs? …….

      Good luck Julie!

      1. No, I did not see Hope Springs. I have one word in return: Fugitive. Okay, okay, three more words: Men in Black.

  2. Just saw “Lincoln” this weekend – which means, I’ve seen two! Not much to base an opinion on, but here goes:

    Best Picture: Lincoln
    Best Actress: Jessica Chastain
    Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis
    Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field
    Best Supporting Actor: Alan Arkin
    Best Original Writing: Mark Boal

    1. What did you think of Lincoln? I really liked that one and thought Daniel Day-Lewis was amazing!

      1. Tara and I loved it! The kids were a bit bored, though. I really think it’ll take the top prize.

  3. Jess, I wrote a long long long comment, but I deleted it by accident 😦 I’m very disappointed.
    I’ll just list my picks (with my personal favorites–who’ll never win–in parenthesis)
    Picture: Argo (Life of Pi)
    Director: Spielberg (Lee)
    Actress: Lawrence (Riva)
    Actor: DDL (Jackman)
    Supporting Actress: Hathaway (Hunt)
    Supporting Actor: DeNiro (Waltz)
    Writing: Boal (QT)

    Great idea!

    1. Aw man, what a bummer about your first comment. I’ve done that and it sucks!

      Helen Hunt is your pick? Yay! Have you seen The Sessions? We just watched it and Flight, both of which were great. But The Sessions in particular was such a cool film and I thought inspiring. I wish John Hawkes had been nominated too. I love him.

      Were you a Deadwood fan? There were several cast members from it in The Sessions including Calamity Jane. Bonus!!!

  4. LOVE your Oscar’s posts, Jess. My picks are Lincoln, Jen Lawrence, Daniel Day Lewis, Anne Hathaway, Alan Arkin, and Quentin Tarantino.

    And because I’m a total country girl at heart, I’d pick something like this to wear:

    1. Are picking Jennifer Lawrence for Hunger Games or SLP? Cause I’m a little bit of column A and a little bit of column B. 😉

  5. And, although I haven’t seen any of the movies for the Best Actress category, my gut’s going w/Naomi Watts.

    1. I really want to see that movie! But I know it will be heartbreaking to watch.

  6. I watch the Oscars for the dresses, each and every year. Especially right now when we NEVER see any movies (hello, toddler…). Still, I’ll make predictions with abandon, even though I’ve seen no movies…

    Best picture – Argo
    Best actress – Jessica Chastain
    Best actor – Daniel Day Lewis
    Best supporting actress – Anne Hathaway
    Best supporting actor – Alan Arkin
    Best original writing – Quentin Tarantino

    The dress I want to wear (if I can have her body too) is this one from 2010: http://pinterest.com/pin/301952349986418255/

    Great post, Jess!

    1. Oooh Jenny you’re gorgeous! So sparkly…but what is that? Do I detect a hint of leopard under your skirt??? 😉

  7. Oh this is fun, I wanna play.

    Here’s my picks:

    Picture: Argo (haven’t seen it, but I think it’s gonna win anyway)

    Actress: Qvenzhane’ Wallis (I think she gave the most unusual and committed performance, though the only other I’ve seen was JC in Zero Dark Thirty)

    Actor: Daniel Day Lincoln (dude is just too good and has been off the radar so long they have to give it to him)

    Supporting Actress: Hunt (going out on a limb here, haven’t seen any of these movies yet, but I feel like it’s her time!)

    Supporting Actor: Walz (he’s just too awesome not to give more awards to)

    Writing: Boal (haven’t seen the others, but ZDT is really, really well written)

    As for what I would wear….this is tough because I don’t dress up often, but I would probably stick with a charcoal grey suit and black shirt. Geez I’m boring. Let me try this again: I would wear a silver silk shirt and matching shoes, matching suitcoat and pants would be powder blue, and I would carry a fabulous powder blue umbrella with cherry wood stem. How you like them apples?

    1. So basically, I would dress up like David Bowie.

      1. I’m a big fan of Ziggy Stardust. I would sit by you. 🙂

        And you have to see The Sessions! It’s amazing. I hope Helen Hunt does win!

  8. Party time! I’ll bring some munchies!
    Best picture – Argo (I’m Canadian, eh?)
    Best Actress – Jennifer Lawrence
    Best Actor – Daniel Day Lewis
    Best Supporting Actress – Helen Hunt
    Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz
    Best Original Writing – Quentin Tarantino

    What to wear? I’m still waiting for the designers to call with a selection of jazzy gowns. So far the phone isn’t ringing …

    1. You’re invited anytime! I love how so many are rooting for Quentin Tarantino!

Tell me a story...

