Coming Soon! Jess’s Virtual Beer, Wine, & Cheese Festival!

Hello, hello everyone!  I hope you’re all well rested from last month’s Sleep Study, because this month is all about fabulously savory treats!

It’s a new month, so that means a new challenge on the Guinea Pig Diaries!  Starting next week, we’re kicking off:

beerwinecheesepic

Next Week:  Top Picks in Beer

Followed by:  Top Picks in Wine

With a Side Order of:  Top Cheeses

And the Grand Finale Tour of:  A Real Local Beer, Wine and Cheese Festival!

Beer, Wine, and Cheese Festival

I’m currently researching at the moment, but will be sharing my favorite selections soon!

What are your favorite beers, wines, and cheeses?  Got any I should seek out?  

See you all soon!

13 responses

  1. I don’t drink, but I LOVE Piè de l’angloys cheese. To “die” for. Check it out.

    Also consider finding the restaurants with the best creme brûlée. Yummm.

    1. You would love this one restaurant we have here that’s a tapas place. It’s menu is full of delectable samplers with cheese, salmon, spicy sausage, shrimp, and then they bring around a dessert tray. I once had rumchata parfait there. OMG!!!

  2. I’m not a beer fan, so I can’t help you out there.

    I love pretty much any Sauvignon Blanc from the Marlborough region of New Zealand. You can’t go wrong with a bottle of white from there, regardless of the price.

    Cheese? Tillamook, of course! I know you’re a Wisconsin girl, but our cheese is pretty damn good, too. One of my favorites is from Seattle, though: Beecher’s Flagship white cheddar. That’s good eatin’.

    1. I don’t know if I’ve heard of Tillamook. I like its name. Is that the kind of cheese or the brand? I sense a grocery trip coming up…

      1. It’s both a town on the Oregon coast and a brand. Nay…a religion. A cheese religion. http://www.tillamook.com/

        1. LMAO. A cheese religion. Like you worship at the Altar of Gouda? I hear he is wise beyond his years.

  3. Oh! This is soooo up my alley! Lately my favorite wine has been pinot grigio, and my mission is to find the best tasting, low cost wines that I can. Topping the list is “Simply Naked”, a delicious, light, fruity wine that I find delightful. I also enjoy both the red and white blends by Apothic. As for cheeses, my go-to is always Havarti, but lately Sam’s has offered a truffled cheese – which is to die for. Also, I recently did a post about our Valentine’s dinner tasting at a local restaurant where they brought in a local micro-brewery, Piney River, which featured a different beer with each course. While I’m not much of a beer drinker, the samples offered by the brewery gave me a much broader view of some of the more creative blends of beer that are available. Looking forward to your suggestions and findings!

    1. Oh Joe and I would totally go to that dinner! We love a beer tasting with food! I’m definitely putting Apothic in my list because that’s a staple at our book club. Now to find a good havarti… Mmmmmm

  4. Where are you located? I probably have a favorite beer from just about every region now…Bell’s Two-Hearted Ale and Oberon (the summer seasonal that I’m sure will be available soon if it isn’t already) are the two that come to mind first.

    1. I’ve tried the two-hearted ale. Got a friend who LOVES it. May need to get it again. Do you use the untappd app? My boyfriend has started cateloging the beers he tries now.

      1. I don’t but keep seeing people who do. I should look into that.

        If Two-Hearted was too bitter for you or whatever you should definitely try Bell’s Oberon instead.

  5. I don’t like beer, but I do enjoy a glass of wine. I tend to buy local, and thus far my favorite Texas winery is Llano, located near Lubbock. I don’t know how far their reach is, though. As to cheese, the best cheese I’ve had lately was an award-winning brie at a Las Vegas restaurant. I don’t remember its name. I just remember scooping it all up until we were filled with happy. This is a marvelous idea, Jess! Looking forward to it.

    1. Oooh – yum on all accounts, Julie! I do think I’ll have to watch my picks so that they’re more broad because I think we drink pretty local too. That brief sounds amazing! I love brief with fruit like apples and pear. Swiss is actually good that way too. And with hummus! Ok, I’m drooling now…

Tell me a story...

