Beer, Wine and Cheese Festival – Part 4: The Festival

Welcome back to the fourth and final installment of our Beer, Wine and Cheese Festival! As promised, I said I’d take you on a tour of a real, live festival!  That’s just ahead, but if you’re still in the mood for tasting, please visit!

Beer, Wine, and Cheese FestivalWe’ve a fine selection of beers here.

Twelve of the tastiest wines here.

And six different cheeses you’ll want to add to your shopping cart here.

You can also prep for your next party by picking out your favorite wine accessories or learning How to Host a Tasting!

Between the Bluffs Beer, Wine, and Cheese Festival

This past weekend I attended the Between the Bluffs Beer, Wine, and Cheese Festival in La Crosse, Wisconsin.  Being the second day so far this year where temperatures climbed to a nice 70°, the festival was packed!  Held on the historic Oktoberfest grounds, the festival hosted a Wine Trail tent, three different beer tents, and a smattering of greasy and grilled cheeses to fill your gut!

Beer Wine and Cheese FestivalYes, that’s a picture of me wearing a pretzel necklace.  It was made by my festival attending friend, Cat, and it’s an accessory I highly suggest you don should you attend a festival like this.  The festival lasts for 3 hours and if you’re planning on walking out of there on your own two feet, you’re gonna need some food at some point!

There was live bluegrass music, a food and shopping tent, and good times had by all!  Now in its 11th year, the number of attending breweries has increased from 11 to 70 different vendors!  Many of them local to Wisconsin, however some were national brands such as California’s Barefoot Wines and Louisiana’s Abita Brewing Company.  The food and shopping tent had t-shirts and beer gloves aplenty, but what we hit up were the jalapeno cheddar brats and some fresh Wisconsin fried cheese curds!  Mmmm

Jess’s Video Making Debut!

Ok, this part requires a little introduction.  First off, I’ve never made a video before, and it was REALLY really loud at the fest grounds, so hopefully you can here what little info I share.  But mostly you should know that because I’d been drinking for almost an hour when we started taping these clips, that my “reporting” skills are practically nonexistent.  But hey, welcome to the festival!

Riveting live action reporting, isn’t it folks?  Well, I’ve got good news and bad news:  the good news is there’s a closing statement video in which I give directions around the festival that slightly resemble the ones Scarecrow gave Dorothy in Oz.  And then the bad news is I couldn’t get my actual interview with some festival attendees to upload here, so if you’d like to see the interview, please bounce over to Facebook where I’ll share the video on my page!  The gentlemen offered their favorite drink choices and how best to enjoy the festival as a new attendee.

Thanks guys!

How was your weekend? Did you wear a pretzel necklace? Would you like to? They’re delicious!

Can’t wait to hear how you all spent your weekends! See you in the comments section.

12 responses

  1. LOVE THIS and the pretzel necklace too! Did I ever tell you one of my sons is a BREWMASTER? Yup! Free beer at my house … any time! Come and visit! 🙂

    1. That is so cool! Joe and I have taken several brewery tours and it always looks like the people that work there are having a lot of fun and are passionate about what they do! Would love to come visit sometime!

  2. Not surprising that wine tent was so full of people. Wish I had one in my back yard!

    1. That would be amazing! Good note, don’t buy the hot new commodity I see in liquor stores now of wine in individual size bottles/glasses. A couple wineries were serving from those to showcase the product, and my friend and I thought all of them were really watery. The storage in plastic must do something to the wine. Not Good. Just a little FYI. 🙂

      When you get your tent, let me know and I’ll come film there. We could set up a slip n’slide too!

  3. Your voice sounds exactly like I’d imagined! Nice job on the videos. You’re cute, and I don’t mean that in a “hey-baby-how-YOU-doin’?” kind of way; I’m referring to your enthusiasm for the festival! You kind of remind me of myself in that regard. A total spazz. In a good way, of course. 🙂

    1. LOL. Thanks for the compliment, Mark! How’d you like my awesome editing glitch in the first one? Oops! Didn’t realize by adding a title I had to fill out that ending stuff. LOL. Now I don’t know how to change it! I am a total spazz.

      1. You mean “[Insert your name] didn’t direct the video?!

  4. Love the vlog Jess. I wanted to film one in KW last summer but it didn’t work out. It’s more challenging than it appears.

    1. Well, especially if you’ve been drinking. 😉 LOL

  5. A pretzel necklace! That’s awesome! I’d like a chocolate-covered pretzel necklace. Oh wait…that would stain my shirt. =( M&Ms? Those melt in your mouth, not on your shirt. At least I think that’s the slogan.

    1. We had chocolate covered pretzels too, but we kept those in a bag in my friend’s purse because we didn’t want to stain our shirts either. The necklaces also had lifesaver gummies on them. Mmm

Tell me a story...

