Have Seniors? Will Travel.

Back in the Mighty Midwest again! I survived vacationing with my parents in Boston for a week.

DSCN0259This is them.

They did me a solid by dressing alike so I told them they didn’t have to wear the leash backpacks. This time.

You know the ones.

The week went fast touring Beantown and we did it triumphantly – with senior discounts and 90° weather!

Traveling with my parents was so fun. Every day we spent together was like deja vu memory making.

Boston Harbor

*Note to Readers Who May Be Thinking of Traveling With Their Senior Citizen Parents*

Bedtime is at 9 o’clock. If you thought you were going to get some writing done or read that book you brought with you, think again. By 9:15 the snoring will become so loud you will pray that a masked stranger will break into your room and club you to death. At least then there will be silence.

Conversely, you will never have to set an alarm because your father will wake you up between 5 and 6 every morning. (And let’s just remember that Boston’s an hour AHEAD).

So,

What does one do exactly with senior citizens on vacation?

Trolley Rides!

Trolley Ride

Admire Other Old People’s Clothes!

John Hancock's Suit

Help Them Meet New People!

Sailors

Take Them to Places That Serve Soft Foods

Dinner Out

Major Successes of the Trip:

  • Did not lose one or both parent(s) in airport/airplane/subway system/trolley ride/hotel elevator/commuter rail/taxi cab despite their being prone to wandering off. (Especially the old man – keep your eye on that one.)
  • Mom completed her first ever subway ride, and said she will “NOT miss it when she’s home.”
  • No one lost any teeth, glass eyes, or hearing aids.
  • Drank some Sam Adams lager with my Pops.
  • Tried fried clams for the first time – Taste good, look disgusting…like fried snot.
  • No one fell overboard on any of the boats we went on.
  • I only thought about leaving my parents to fend for themselves once. In the airport on the way home. And let me tell you, Dad would have never made it out of Philadelphia.
  • All said and done, we’re still talking to one another!

That was my week! How was yours?

What tips do you have for traveling with seniors?

43 responses

  1. What a hoot, Jess! Looks like you had fun! I’ll definitely keep these in mind – in September, we’ll attempt a big trip, taking our kids and my parents on vacation. Thankfully, we’ll have separate rooms, so the Senior Snoring Moment (which is an issue) won’t be a problem. At least for me…My only issue is the Museum Marathons my mom likes to have. She insists on reading every. single. placard. in every. single. room. of each museum we visit. Calls it “getting the full experience.” Stay tuned…

    1. Oh. Lord. I could not. May I suggest you bring wine in a canteen? It may help.

      1. Can I get drunk in a museum? Will they toss me out on the sidewalk on my butt, followed by my canteen? If you hear of this happening to a tourist in a foreign country, it just might be me… 🙂

        1. I won’t judge. Go for it.

  2. HA! Your parents are so stinkin’ cute. I’m concerned that my sleep schedule mirrors your dad’s, though…

    Glad all 3 of you made it back in one piece!

    1. I was stuck in that sleep schedule for a whole week after we got back. My boyfriend was so upset with me for falling asleep right after dinner so many nights.

  3. I agree, your folks are totally cute! Looks like fun. Before we were married, my wife and lived in Beantown for three years back in our 20’s. She grew up in the area.

    1. Love Boston! Great city! Lots to do, so much history, great food! It was fun listening to my parents talk about the time my dad was stationed there and mom came up to see him from Newport.

  4. LOL. I think I’m going to stop traveling with my kids. 🙂

    1. Piper, you’re a mom who belly dances and writes post-apocalyptic literature. I’ll travel with you anytime!

      1. LOL. I wear white tennis shoes.

  5. Ohmigawd, you are so freaking hilarious! Your parents are way too cute to lose, so don’t even pretend you wanted to. I hope my kids are as funny as you when they travel with me in when I’m old and perhaps senile. Your captions have me rolling on the floor laughing. I bet this trip was amazing for your parents. Now I want to travel with you, too! Except for maybe not have any fried snot. Ewww.

    1. Well you’ve already scolded me that I must visit California, so when I do you’ll have to be my tour guide. You can give me elusive directions like “head to the big eyeball and wait there.” 😉

  6. Glad you survived, Jess! I love the bubble comments on the pictures. 🙂 My husband just recently survived 3 nights with his parents all three sharing a hotel room. I warned my husband and told him he needed to get his own room but he dismissed my suggestion. Needless to say, sleep was not part of the trip. Between the snoring, the many middle of the nights visits to the bathroom by both parents and the waking up early, sleep was impossible. 🙂 The only good thing was that I was able to enjoy telling him, “I told you so!” when he got home 🙂

    1. LOL. Yes, I was warned to bring ear plugs…. #headdesk

  7. I really enjoyed reading about your trip! Loved the photos and the captions! Keep sharing more posts like this.

    1. Thanks for stopping by Linda!

  8. Looks like you guys had a blast! Oddly enough, my grandparents were all a bit on the party animal side, so there was always something outrageous to be expected when traveling with them…though we took over the driving after the time when grandpa accidentally almost drove into one of his favorite restaurants…literally. In his defense, he was 90 at the time.

    1. Oh my gosh, yikes! In high school, I was at my job one day when a man did drive into our building. Thankfully, it was cement and he wasn’t going too fast. But that was still a site to see!

      1. Yup. Same thing in this situation. Which is why, after that, he was no longer allowed by family to drive.

    1. Thanks for commenting! Glad you liked it!

  9. Well, seeing as I will never ever EVER travel with my parents, I don’t have any tips. Although, I applaud your stamina and perseverance. I would tell you after 2 nights of sleeping like that, I would be very cranky, and hopefully for them, very drunk. You are an inspiration to us all, Jess.

    1. Well, that’s why I kept falling asleep at 9 o’clock when I got home. I was exhausted. Between the previous two nights I had like 5 hours total of sleep. LOL

  10. It’s unanimous-your parents are adorable. Funny I should say that because I’m probably pretty close to their age. As much as I’d love to travel with my daughter, I think I won’t put her through that. Lol. Love the captions and your “good” points about the vacation. I love Boston, too and am dying to go back. Want to go with me? Just kidding-I’d kinda like to keep our friendship intact. 😉 glad you had fun.

    1. I would go with you in a heartbeat, my fellow Redhot Mama! We’d want to go to all the same hot spots anyway or just relax with a good book somewhere on the harbor front (or on Harvard Yard). We’ll pack some cannoli and bring a bottle of wine – what do ya say?!

      1. Jess, honestly, that sounds like the best girlfriend vacation ever! Definitely the harbor area for reading. We have to go to Fanieul Hall and Salem! I hope we can do that sometime…I sure do miss you.

        1. I would LOVE to go back to Salem. We have to do a ghost tour at night then!!!

          1. Oh, yes! That would be so fun!

  11. Fried clams are all well and good…

    …but have you tried geoduck?

    Your parents look fun! I’m glad you enjoyed the trip and nobody lost a glass eye. THIS time. Great job with the captions, too!

    1. The clams were really tasty, but it was a visual thing for me. I ate a few, but they were so stringy looking. Taste wise, they melted in your mouth.

      You know, I got crab cakes a couple times, and those were only so so. West Coast (i.e. Portland/Seattle) does those best. But the sea bass, haddock, mahi mahi we ate was all great! Sadly, you really can’t get that in Wisco.

  12. This is hysterical! I love your photos – well, actually, I love the quotes and captions on your photos! I have to say, though, the pic of your parents next to the colonial suit hit home. Apparently my kids think their dad needs to lose the white sneakers. After seeing this, I am now inclined to agree with them….

    1. Hahahaha!!! Sorry, Dawn! Truth is, I’m all about comfort. When you’re walking all day long, you need good shoes on. And I wore my Clarks sandals a bunch on this trip too. I just like to kid my parents. Thankfully, they’re still speaking to me.

      P.S. I watched Pitch Perfect when I got back. I love that movie so much. Have you ever seen Saved? You may like that one a lot too.

    2. Or Drop Dead Gorgeous. I bet you’ll really like that one. Supremely quoteable!

      1. I’ll check them out! Thanks, Jess 🙂

  13. My advice traveling with seniors… they like snacks. Bring snacks. And wine (that’s for you!). Or you can drink the wine together — as long as you stay away from talking about politics. Also, never ever stay in the same room! Adjoining rooms are (almost, but not quite) okay, though. I rather like the leash idea, too.

    1. LOL. If I’d really gotten them to wear leashes I would’ve been cackling down the sidewalk with them. Too funny!

      We did pack snacks, but bringing wine would’ve better. At least I would’ve slept better!

  14. You are hilarious Jess! I love it! This is the scary part. According to AARP, I think I may qualify as a senior. But I’m not really sure. lol. So really, you would have to ask my kids about traveling with us. But you are too much girl. I will tell you that on one trip I took with my parents after leaving the house, my father snored so loud, I went and slept in the back seat of the car. It was horrible. I never did that again. You definitely had a much better time than I did. Glad you had a great visit. Just know that your parents had the time of their life with you girl. 🙂

    1. Yes, Dad is already asking “When’s the next trip?!”

      To which I replied, “I don’t know, you should ask Justin.” (my brother) 😉

  15. I’ve got a bad feeling. While I was snickering about your oh-so-funny description of vaca with the ‘rents, it occurred to me that I am going on vacation next week with MY 2 adult kids. What if, instead of me making fun of them and their weird habits (like staying out late, drinking too much and puking instead of getting a good night’s sleep so we can hit the tour bus fresh the next morning), it turns out there is an alternate reality that is actually more real, where I AM your parents and my kids are the mocking Jess?

    Noooooooooooooo!

    1. Ahhhh, relax, Peggers! If that’s the case, then it already happened! So you have nothing to worry about!

  16. […] yes, the vacation with my parents. What a treasure that […]

  17. […] if I start wearing sneakers so white the coast guard asks me to stop interfering with their light house schedule? (my mom and […]

Tell me a story...

