51 Things to Do Before Summer’s Over

Are you like me and shocked that summer is halfway over? Where did all the sun go? One moment it was still long pants and sweatshirts, and then we were in insta-heatwave! I went from months of unemployment to jumping into a full time executive job! Since I’m back to my precious 2 days off a week, I’ve compiled a “To Do” list of fun summer activities!

Care to join me?

51 Things To Do Before Summer’s Over

1. Sleep In – Be a bum.

2. Find a new TV show.

There’s not a lot of worthwhile shows on TV now, but you can learn what is out there by reading Tiffany A. White’s blog. Use the downtime to check out a new TV series you’ve been meaning to watch and haven’t. I rent all mine from the Public Library, but their available to rent or stream for free on many online sites as well. Some of my favorite shows ever: Dexter, Six Feet Under, True Blood, Desperate Housewives, The Vampire Diaries, The United States of Tara, Ugly Betty, Big Love, The L Word, and Weeds. What am I watching this summer? Tiffany and Julie Glover just got this girl addicted to Pretty Little Liars.

3. Hit the beach. (Or river, lake, pond near you)

100_12644. Watch it rain, or better yet, thunderstorm.

5. Make a summer music playlist comprised of tunes that remind you of picnics, vacations, and driving with the windows down.

6. Get crafty.

Piper Bayard made her own Grumpy Cat for a blog giveaway. Read all about it here!

Photo by Piper Bayard

7. Write a letter to someone you haven’t talked to in awhile.

8. Drink ice tea.

9. Take a mini road trip. Try a restaurant out of town or go to one of those places you pass by on billboards all the time.

100_224810. Grill out.

11. Have a water balloon fight.

12. Go hiking. Find a view.

Jess on Bluff13. Create your signature smoothie.

14. Go out for ice cream at a sweet shoppe.

15. Cut your hair short (or try a new ‘do).

16. Laze away in a hammock.

17. Take a class you’ve always wanted to. Yoga? Salsa dancing? Zumba?

18. Catch up on summer reading.

Writer/blogger Patricia Sands is partnering up with some amazing writers to offer their books for FREE now thru August 15th! Check out the available titles and stock up here!

Want to win a FREE paperback from my shelf to yours? Check out my book giveaway HERE!

19. Throw a theme party. See some of my faves below.

  • Make your own hat
  • The Beatles – Dress as a band member or song lyric
  • 80’s Night
  • Non-Traditional Student Prom

20. Go camping.

DSCF074221. Read a ghost story. At night. Outside.

22. Complain about the weather.

My comedian friend, Todd Youngman, shared this video with me and I’m still laughing! For more laughs, check out his facebook page! He’s really good at silly comments and photoshop. Once found a picture of him riding a unicorn! Are you jelly? (that’s slang for jealous)

23. Look at the stars.

24. Concerts in the park.

25. Celebrate the weird National Holidays.

  • August 1st: National Friendship Day & National Raspberry Cream Pie Day
  • August 6th: National Wiggle Your Toes Day
  • August 8th: National Sneak Some Zucchini Onto Your Neighbor’s Porch Night
  • August 13th: National Blame Someone Else Day
  • August 17th: National Thrift Shop Day
  • August 19th: National Potato Day
  • August 25th: National Kiss and Make up Day
  • August 30th: National Toasted Marshmallow Day

26. Attend a baseball game.

27. Have a clothes swap. Or donate your clothes to charity.

28. Start a secret society. (The first rule about secret societies is you don’t talk about secret societies.)

29. Journal

skywriting

30. Go to the library.

31. Write a novel.  😉

32. Play a board game.

33. Wear sunscreen.

34. Sing a song. Or write one!

35. Do something with those photos stockpiled on your camera. Buy a collage frame or album and show them off!

36. Meet Peachez. She’s a celebrity! She has more followers than I do.

37. Give yourself a mantra. Tell yourself you’re beautiful at least once a day.

38. Showcase some zany lawn art.

100_213239. Learn a new language.

40. Have an adventure. Bring your camera.

41. Host a sleepover. Make pizza. Stay up late.

43. Stay cool indoors by watching YouTube videos that make you laugh.

44. Meditate.

45. Quote movie lines.

46. Take a bath or long shower.

47. Jump on a trampoline. Hoolahoop. Booga Booga.

48. Host your own American Gladiators Tournament.

49. Take a walking tour. Check your library or historical society for local tours.

50. Go bowling.

51. Go to a midnight movie premier.

What other fun ideas do you want to do this summer?

34 responses

  1. Fabulous list! I would love to do a lot of those things too. We are past the heat wave and back in a cool spell. Beautiful 70’s during the day, but actually sort of cold at night. That’s okay, I love it! Good camping weather!!!

    1. YES! Do all your outdoor activities now while it’s nice out! Sounds like good water balloon weather! 😉

  2. Ha! I think my favorites were the wink at the end of Write a Novel, and the one about doing something with stockpiled photos on the computer. Too funny.
    Hmm? So far we’ve done some mini trips (San Diego for our anniversary last month), went to the beach (Central Calif. coast last weekend where we also saw Goo Goo Dolls and Matchbox Twenty – still pumped!!), concerts in the park (Just last night. They finish w/ 1812 Overture, complete with bells from church across the street and canon fire). There’s definitely no grilling, however. It’s frigging hot out there! Yikes! 😉
    Sorry I’ve been away forever. Hope to be better. Enjoy the weekend and the rest of summer.

    -Jimmy

    1. Wait. Pump the breaks. You saw Goo Goo Dolls and Matchbox 20? I’m so jealous! That would be a killer concert! I may have you beat though. I went with friends to see Paul McCartney. Best. Concert. Ever.

      1. It was killer, too. Believe me. My wife and I had never seen the “Goos”, but we had seen Matchbox twice before. Seeing Rob Thomas belt out those tunes never gets old. We took our sons (15 and 19) and they loved it. My youngest just went to Van’s Warped Tour, so he thought he knew a good show, but little did he know. He’s still talking about this concert. His mind was blown. *laughs*
        McCartney, huh? Wow! Very cool. I was just flipping through Keith Richards’s book the other day and there’s a photo of “Keef” and Sir Paul on beach chairs, enjoying a visit. The stuff they’ve seen, right?
        Take care and enjoy the rest of summer. *waves*

  3. I love this list! I’m really torn between the hammock and the gladiator competition. Perhaps the answer is to relax in the hammock while watching someone else’s gladiator competition. 🙂

    1. That could work. Nice problem solving skills. This is why we’re friends.

      P.S. If I had more time, I really, and I mean REEEEEAALLY wanted to make a Firelands trailer for you. I even picked out the land I wanted to film on. But I am in need of a costume maker. 😦

      1. You’re so cool. 🙂

        1. When you’re done with that Grumpy Cat model…

  4. Since I believe in equality, I’ve given myself a womantra. It is: chicks dig sensitive shit. Makes you swoon, huh?

    In all seriousness, I wish I could watch a thunderstorm! Sadly, out here, they’re rare – and we haven’t had one decent one all year. Bah, humbug.

    1. Is that normal? I’m kind of sad now. If I ever do move out west, I would miss thunderstorms.

      1. Yes, that’s normal. We only average a few a year, and they pale in comparison to the storms of the Great Plains. I think I’ve heard 2 or 3 claps of thunder total so far this year.

        1. What a bummer. I’ll have to invest in a sound machine that plays storms or something. Or if I get really desperate, play that Garth Brooks song… “And the thunder rolls…” But that’s like final step, hitting the panic button kind of behavior. Just so we’re clear.

  5. Man, can I take notes from you! I finished a big project yesterday and for the first time in months, I am intense deadline-free. I’m not sure how long it’ll last, but of course my first thought was – “Work you ass off on ___ , ___ and ____!” A friend suggested I take a break. After I looked the B-word up in the dictionary (kidding, but YKWIM ;)), it started to see pretty darn tempting… Regardless, I’m going to try to accomplish some of your things this summer – starting soon. 🙂

    1. My goodness! You deserve a break, August. You’re a hardworking lady. Let me know what fun things you accomplish! Can’t wait to hear about them!

  6. Great list, Jess! I love the weird holidays and picked out a couple to celebrate: wiggle your toes day, toasted marshmallow day, and thrift shop day! Fun stuff! I do need another adventure with camera in hand and then I’ll do something with all those stockpiled photos, for sure. In the process of writing a novel, a stage play and working on developing a conference in my hometown. Lots going on but having fun. Wonder which of these things you’ll choose to do.

    1. Marcia, I love ALL of your ideas! Writing a play would be so fun. What’s yours about? Good luck on your photo project and the conference plans. That would be amazing!

      1. The play will be called Chemo, the Musical. This would take place in the clinic where chemo is administered. A funny take on the situation and the people we meet, the questions we all have answer to the nurses, and a million other funny things that take place there.

        1. Oh. My. Gawd. You are brilliant! I knew that before, but my jaw has just dropped to a new level! LOVE!!!!

  7. What a list! It has been a slow summer. Just using your list as a guideline I have only done about 10 of those things.

    1. Well, you’re probably recovering from the Gladiator fight, aren’t you? I know how you are, you rogue! 😉

  8. I am on board for so many of these activities!!!

    1. Plus, I’m now putting you in charge of all summer recipe planning. Go!

  9. This summer…I want to…I don’t know. Just stay cool. Every year the heat feels hotter.

    1. LOL. It is getting hotter though isn’t it?

      I’m more like that in winter. I keep thinking it’s getting colder.

  10. I love this list, Jess! So excited that I’ve done many of these activities this summer already! As for the to-dos, we go to the beach in August (when the kids are tired of the pool and the ocean water is at its warmest) and camp at my Dad’s Labor Day weekend. That’s our big s’more weekend. 🙂 Your list is full of fun, easy, REAL moments of summer bliss. Thanks for all the ideas. Off to select my one new tv show for the next season…giving me something to look forward to as the summer winds down and the leaves turn.

    1. I need to have an ocean getaway one of these next vacations!

      1. You’re always welcome to stay in our guest room! 🙂 We live 15 minutes from the calm Long Island Sound beaches, 20 minutes from the Atlantic beaches, 45 minutes from NYC, and 40 minutes from the vineyards and the Hamptons.

  11. I just printed your list, Jess, and put it on the wall by my desk. Deep in my writing cave, I may be accomplishing a lot of those great suggestions in my mind but they will still make me smile! How’s the new job going?

    1. So long as you’re still having fun! Plus you have an exciting trip coming up to look forward to. 😉

  12. I’m exhausted just from reading about the activities! 🙂 Great ideas. If only I could get my lazy bum out there to do them!

    1. Some of them are indoors! 😛

  13. […] then, please keep yourselves occupied by crossing off some of my summer fun suggestions in 51 Things to Do Before Summer’s Over and entering to win a FREE book From My Shelf To […]

  14. […] year I made a list of 51 Things to Do Before Summer’s Over. This year I thought, “Why wait?” Let’s get started on the fun when summer is just […]

Tell me a story...

