Boy Meets Girl, A Love Story

This is the story of how one boy met this one girl.

joe and i in collegeNine years ago, I sat next to this boy in one of the worst college classes ever. We struck up a conversation and got to know each other. I knew he played guitar in a band, a pink paisley guitar to be precise. He knew I was a theater minor at the time, and probably crazy.

It was not meant to be. Both of us were dating other people. He was a graduating senior, I was a Freshman. We talked in class, when he showed up that is, and that is all.

Two years later…

I’m downtown having a beer at the Bodega – that’s a lie, I didn’t drink beer yet, it was probably an amaretto sour – when I see that boy across the room. We started talking again. I thought he was really cute.

Little did I know he had forgotten my name. *sigh*

He remembered my face and we kept talking. A friend of his came over and introduced himself.

“I’m Jessi,” I answered back.

Now he knew my name again.

His friend told me I should come hear this band playing on the weekend at the Alpine Inn. I said that sounded fun, but I didn’t have a car, so had no way of getting up there.

“Joe can give you a ride,” he suggested.

And thus our first date was set.

100_0764We talked about everything you’re not supposed to talk about on a first date. Religion, politics, and ghost encounters. I learned he still played in the same band and was also substitute teaching. He learned I dropped my theater minor in place of Women’s Studies, and that I wanted to be a writer.

It happened while we were dancing…

Joe claims he knew I fell for him when we danced that night. I say I just really like Stevie Wonder tunes. Whenever it happened, we became a couple.

Once I graduated, got a job, and moved into the abyss known as adulthood, we started traveling in style!

And no, I’m not talking about my ’88 Mercury Sable.

Every year we would travel together. We started small – a day trip to Minneapolis to the Science Museum. The next year, Portland, OR and Seattle, WA. Then Boston, MA!

100_0182

Walking through Boston Common

I think I started rubbing off on Joe, because the next year, I actually got him to leave the country with me. We made it as far as…Canada!

Aboard the Maid of the Mist, Niagara Falls boat tour

Aboard the Maid of the Mist, Niagara Falls boat tour

Then Joe rubbed off on me, and I agreed to a road trip. We drove out west touring the Badlands, Deadwood, the Tetons, Yellowstone, and Salt Lake City.

Hiking outside the Tetons

Hiking outside the Tetons

Wherever we go, it’s usually an adventure.

But not always the safest one…

Are TRAILS supposed to look like this?!

Are TRAILS supposed to look like this?!

It’s been a wonderful journey so far. I couldn’t imagine a better partner. Which is why I’m excited to announce a new journey we’re embarking on.

2013-10-20_14-30-47_439

We’re engaged!!!

From our house to yours, we want to thank you for being a part of our lives!

Happy holidays everyone!

60 responses

  1. A very sweet story with a wonderful ending … and exciting new beginning. Congratulations to you both! Jess, you have shared so much about your adventures with joe, we feel like we know him too!

    1. Thank you Patricia! Someday, we’ll have to go to France for an adventure!

  2. Congratulations! May the rest of your lives be as happy as the first part!

    1. And may he never forget my name again! πŸ˜‰

  3. AH! Congrats! This is so sweet and fantastic. Tickled pink for ya, my dear. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Myndi! I was so excited to tell my WANA peeps today!

  4. Awesome! Sounds like you two are a perfect fit. Congratulations!

    1. Thank you so much! I think I’ll keep him for awhile. πŸ˜‰

  5. What a sweet love story!! You both are the sweetest, most wonderful people I’ve ever met. And I am proud to say that I actually HAVE met you! I hope you continue this journey through life together with love, laughter and music. Mazel Tov!!

    Psst….what was in the CD case? (Besides the proposal, of course!).

    1. Surprise!

      The cd case had my ring in it! I’ll have to share our engagement story as another post because it’s a funny one.

      Don’t you think that first picture of us makes us look like extras in the movie Singles? LOL

  6. I have chills! That is way too cute, all of it, like you two. Huge congrats, Jess! Thanks for sharing your story. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you August! So sweet of you to share the post on Facebook! *hugs* I couldn’t wait to tell my WANA family the good news! It got delayed by internet issues, so finally – the secrets out!

      1. My pleasure! Hmm… Virtual bachelorette party?? πŸ˜‰ I should calm down and let you enjoy your engagement! LOL Lots of love!

        1. LOL. Under the #Girlboner hashtag? Oh. my.

  7. Omg! Jess that’s so exciting! Congrats to both of you! I had a feeling that would happen soon. You two seem so right for each other. You’re so smart to have taken the time to know each other well and to get your careers on track. So happy for you and Joe!

    1. Yah, I’m glad we waited too. But we did take bets on which family member would be the first to say, “bout damn time!”

  8. Oh my goodness!!! How exciting! Congratulations to you both. Looks like you were definitely meant to be together. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you bunches! I was sooo excited to share this post today!

  9. What a great love story!!! I’m so happy for you both!

    1. Thanks Diana! And thank you for all your encouragement with my writing. Summer was a really tough couple of months being unemployed, but our writing sprint group helped me feel I was on the right track. ❀

  10. Congratulations!!! I’m so excited for you, Jess! Love your story. Many blessings for a lifetime of wondrous adventures. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Piper! I LOVE being able to tell all the WANAs now!

  11. Jess, so happy for the two of you. Being a good friend of Sharon’s I have been around since the beginning. Think the world of Joe and so glad you are together. My best to you always. Lovingly, Claire

    1. Thank you Claire! I’m a very lucky girl to be gaining such a wonderful family!

  12. Congrats, Jess! So happy for you! Thanks for sharing your fab story with us.

    Merry Christmas,
    Kathy

    1. Thank you Kathy! And are you kidding?! I couldn’t wait to tell the WANAs! But I had to tell family first. Merry Christmas to you too!

  13. Woo Hoo! Congratulations and best wishes. That’s a great story. I’m so happy for you.

    1. MADGE! I’ve missed you! Thank you for the congrats and well wishes! What would I do without my online friends? *hugs*

  14. This is wonderful! I’m so happy for you two. I know we don’t know each other “in real life” – at least not in the traditional sense – but I do feel like we’re friends nonetheless, and I only want the best for my friends. WHEN you guys come to Portland, we’ll take you out – in style! Congratulations again!!

    1. Thanks Mark!! I felt the same way about you and Tara! We will need to go out on the town together! I want you to show us all those gorgeous places you’ve taken photos of – like the beach and Mt. St. Helen. And we can finally try geoduck!!

  15. Congratulations, Jess, and Merry Christmas.

    1. Thank you Emma! You too!

  16. I adore a good love story, especially this one!
    I am so happy for you both.

    1. I’m so happy to be a part of the family…officially. Thanks for always making me feel at home, Mama G!

  17. Oh wow, Jess, congratulations to you both. What an exciting journey you still have ahead of you! πŸ™‚

    1. I can’t wait to start!

  18. I love a great boy-meets-girl story! Thanks for sharing yours. And major, major congratulations! Marriage is indeed a journey, and I pray it’s a wonderful trip for you both!!!

    1. Thank you Julie! We’ve had a tough year with my unemployment so celebrating the year end with a new job I love and a fiancΓ© I adore even more feels really good.

  19. What a beautiful love story! Congratulations!

    1. Thank you! It’s funny how things work out isn’t it?

  20. […] BIG CONGRATULATIONS to my pal Jess Witkins, who just got ENGAGED to her honey Joe! Β You can read their adorable story here. Β They’re so flipping cute! Β Jess is one of the most marvelously cheerful people I know. […]

  21. Congratulations, Jess. Glad Sharon and I got to meet Joe when we came to La Crosse, even if the meeting was brief. I wish you both the best and look forward to seeing you in May.

    1. Yah David you get to brag because only you and Misty have met Joe. Consider yourself in an elite category now sir. πŸ™‚

  22. I am JUST SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! What wonderful love story. Love you!! ❀

    1. Thanks Tiffany! You have no idea how hard it was not to secretly email you ahead of time! Joe’s really pushing for a Vegas wedding so if we do that I’ll hit you up for tips! πŸ˜‰

      Happy Christmas to you and Erin on your first Christmas as newlyweds!

  23. Congratulations Jess!!! Thank your for sharing your “Girl Meets Boy” story–so fun!

    1. Thanks Hallie! Happy to share it with you all!

  24. Congratulations guys…I am so happy for you both. He is an amazing guy and you are a lucky girl and visa versa. Can’t wait to give you both a big hug when I make it back to La Crosse……Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year….ps I just became an Uncle to my first nephew “Harry”

    1. Welcome to the Uncle club. His sister had a baby and my nieces and nephew can officially (keep) calling him Uncle Joe. πŸ™‚

  25. Wonderful news, Jess! I’m very happy for you. Great story too!

    1. Thanks Jodi!!

      When does your book come out?

  26. […] *eh hem* So, fast forward to our 7 year anniversary this past October. We decided to celebrate by going to one of the joints we hit on our first date. When we got there, I see one of Joe’s buddies and his parents there – the friend that set Joe and I up on our first date! […]

  27. I love a love story and this is one of my favorites.

    1. I’m not surprised. πŸ˜‰

  28. […] Let’s start with the very entertaining Jess Witkins and her exciting post, Boy Meets Girl, A Love Story… […]

  29. […] Let’s start with the very entertaining Jess Witkins and her exciting post, Boy Meets Girl, A Love Story… […]

Tell me a story...

