Was Santa Good to You?

Happy Early New Year Everyone!

I’m feeling very blessed these last few days of 2013. Joe and I spent Christmas Eve with my family, made it back to La Crosse safely for Christmas day with his extended family, and spent friday night with his family for a Christmas pajama party sleepover! Over the weekend, one of my best friends, who I’ve known since high school, came with her boyfriend to stay the weekend with us!

And bonus of all bonuses, this was the first Christmas in 6 years I didn’t spend in retail during the ho ho horror of the holidays! Yaaaaaaay!

 

*Note: Shopping online is AWESOME!
I know for many of my WANA friends, this has been a difficult year. So many of you have suffered losses in the form of both people and things, be it jobs, manuscripts, and health. I’ve reminded myself often that this was a year for growing. Quitting my job was the right thing to do, and it resulted in a fantastic new job and the time necessary to complete the first draft of my book. But several months of unemployment definitely took their toll. I’m still paying off credit cards and loans I needed to use in order to make do. I often felt (and ok, still sometimes do) embarrassed by this fact, but you all have been so supportive and I must say THANK YOU!
Thanks for being a part of my happiness project in 2013! I mean it when I say that your comments are verbal gold! They fuel my spirit, and definitely give me happiness!
*****
But enough of the gushy stuff! I want to know what your favorite Christmas present was!!
Who was the person that gave you the most thoughtful gift? Or the funniest one? What surprised you most? Or even what made you cringe?!
My favorite gift this holiday season came from my soon to be sister-in-law in the form of Clue themed espresso cups and matching dish towel!
photo 1
You all know how much I love Clue right?
It was Mrs. Peacock in the Billiard Room with the Wrench!

It was Mrs. Peacock in the Billiard Room with the Wrench!

So Clue, originally called Cluedo, was created in England in 1949 and is quite possibly my favorite board game. A whodunnit mystery with quirky suspects and unlikely murder weapons! Hidden staircases you say? What’s not to love?!!

photo 2

That was my favorite gift this year! What’s yours?
Happy New Year!!!
17 responses

  1. My favorite gift is a box of candy canes from Taylor (9 years old). They are to put in my hot drinks to stir and flavor them She is really into cooking and baking now.

    1. Aww that’s cool! Hope they are yummy! Enjoy!

  2. Getting together with my family was the greatest gift of all!
    Happy New Year!

    1. Hope you keep jumping for joy in 2014! 😉

  3. Favorite: My mom got me Allie Brosh’s book! 🙂
    Cringeworthy: Then, she tacked on 3 more books, all about loosing weight. 😦

  4. Oops, maybe I should have gotten a book about the difference between “lose” and “loose”! :\

    1. Love new books! But not ones on dieting if you didn’t ask for them. Cringe indeed. Whatever YOUR resolutions are, good luck! And enjoy the book you’re excited to start! I just began a new one yesterday!

    1. To you as well! And cute haircut!

  5. My favorite gift wasn’t even a gift. My daughter made us homemade Christmas cards, and I loved the thought and effort she put into them. That captured the true essence of the holidays, in my opinion.

    Hey…how far are you from Poskin, just out of curiosity?

    1. Aww what a lovely gift! Great keepsake!

      Poskin? Never heard of it. I’ll have to look that up.

    2. Mapquest says it’s 2 1/2 hours north of me. I don’t think I’ve ever been that way. Unless it’s close to Hayward; I didn’t check. Planning a visit to Wisconsin?!

      1. Possibly. I have a blogging buddy/FB friend who is planning a family reunion in Poskin this year. I’m always joking about the town because it’s small and sounds funny. I told her Tara and I might crash the reunion this year, and she turned around and actually invited us to. I have no idea if we’ll actually be able to go, but it’s a thought!

        1. Well keep me posted! How fun if we could meet up!

  6. Of course, the time I spent with my family was the best part of the holiday but the gifts were fabulous as well. I have several favorites: my son gave me, among other things, a set of Boardwalk Empire DVDs. Love that show! My daughter gave me the softest, fleeciest blanket in a gorgeous teal color. My granddaughters shopped at their school’s holiday shop and gave me a pen for writing my book that is labeled ‘Grandma’ and a fuzzy flower with a funny face. One of the many gifts my husband gave me was a journal that has space on each page for five years of entries so you can see how things change over time. There’s a question to answer on each page. It’s called Q & A a Day: Five year journal. Perfect for me to get in the habit of journaling daily.

    Love you Clue accessories!

    1. Great gifts! The blanket sounds really good considering how cold it is here. Keep us posted how the journaling goes! I love that!

Tell me a story...

