Our Engagement Story: AKA – The CD Case Explained

“What’s with the cd case?”

I’ve been getting that question a lot after posting this picture of Joe’s and my engagement.

2013-10-20_14-30-47_439

So here it is, gizmos, the story behind the cd case.

Not all of you may know that Joe is a musician. And I don’t mean he covers Green Day tunes in the basement and doesn’t shower until late in the afternoon, though I wouldn’t rule that out altogether… Joe is a bonafide, music education major, cd releasing musician. He teaches band and private guitar lessons while following his dream performing and touring with a ska/reggae band, TUGG.

When we first met, he played in a funk/rock band called Hooch. I still have one of their benefit t-shirts, on which I got his autograph – only HIS autograph. He likes to remind me of what a lovey dopey dovey schoolgirl crush I had on him. 

I didn’t even know his last name for awhile. I called him ‘Joe Paisley’ because he performed with a pink paisley guitar on stage. It was awesome. Now he more commonly plays with some kind of Les Paul, amber colored guitar with a whammy bar. It’s probably driving him nuts right now that I didn’t fact check what guitar he uses.  *shrug*

Anyway, he had a stint where he performed with a successful musician that was born in this area and came back to do some touring. I didn’t like the guy. Talk about womanizer! And I mean c’mon, who NEEDS to perform six effing encores in a row, be done dammit! Some of us have drinking to do!

*eh hem* So, fast forward to our 7 year anniversary this past October. We decided to celebrate by going to one of the joints we hit on our first date. When we got there, I see one of Joe’s buddies and his parents there – the friend that set Joe and I up on our first date!

This is where I confess to being completely and utterly clueless. I had NO IDEA the boys had planned all this together. I was all like, “Wow, that’s so crazy you’re here! It’s our anniversary today and you’re responsible for initiating our first date. How cool you’re here!”

Seriously. No clue.

So this friend of ours tells Joe he’s got a cd in his car, and it’s a recording of him with the successful musician that I do not like. Yippee!…..Not.

All through lunch, the cd is sitting in front of me. Vague and brief references to its presence are made, and I push it farther away.

When it’s time to leave, I purposely try to leave the cd there!

“Grab that please,” Joe says. I do so, but grumble about it.

We say our goodbyes and Joe and I get in the car. Our plan was to drive up to the bluffs and go hiking to enjoy the fall colors one last time before the cold really set in. He asks me if we can play the cd on the drive up.

“Do we have to?” I whine.

“Please,” he says.

I take the cd and remove the tape seal. When I open it, there’s no cd. There’s a ring! And the words: “I love you lots and lots. Will you marry me?”

2013-10-20_14-29-51_513Once I stopped stupidly muttering the words “Ohmygod! Ohmygod! Ohmygod!” I said YES!

So there you have it, our engagement story, AKA – The CD case explained.

Here’s to a year of new adventures!

If you’re married, what’s your engagement story? And for all you sassy singles, what’s your dream engagement like?

63 responses

  1. That is so cool! I love engagement stories like that. Mine was not so romantic. It was more like “Let’s get married”. LOL

    1. Yah but it’s the person that counts. How long have you and your honey been together?

      1. We’ve been married for 31 years. And it just keeps getting better! 🙂

  2. Bill and I met when we were 14 at a teen dance. After awhile he gave me ID bracelet to “go steady”. We dated and then went to different high schools and we drifted apart. Fast forward five years. Bill asked a mutual friend ” where does Snookie go for dancing ?” We dance and date and have so much fun together. Bill never asked me to marry him. He just said “I bought you a ring today. We can get engaged at Christmas and get married in February.” I said OK . That was 46 years ago on 2-24-68. Two years ago on Christmas, with our children and grandchildren, Bill bent down (can’t kneel due to artificial knees) and asked me to marry him and gave me a beautiful diamond ring. I said YES.

    1. Awww, Snookie that’s a great engagement and how we met story. You two are so cute together and I loved hearing stories about your wild days when we visited you! Happy 46 years and here’s hoping Joe and I have as much happiness and longevity as you two!

  3. Hearty congratulations, Jess! So very happy for you both!

    1. Thanks Dorie! I’ll keep you guys posted once we figure out our plans. 🙂

  4. Six months into a fairy-tale dating relationship, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Bill had been telling me for a while that he loved me, but I refused to believe it. So, after the diagnosis I gave him permission to fade into the distance. “I’m going to be alright,” I assured him, “I have a strong faith and a great support system with my family and friends. You didn’t sign up for this.” When he said, “I didn’t spend the last six months falling in love with you just to walk away at the first sign of trouble,” I finally believed that his claim of love might be more than a ploy to get me to love him so he could move on to the next victim.

    He walked with me through all the doctor appointments, surgeries and recovery like he was already a member of the family. By Christmas everyone was sure that I’d get an engagement ring under the tree. I didn’t think so, because never ever had he mentioned the “M” word. I turned down several invitation to live with him and we discussed how our different faith systems might find a common outlet, but marriage wasn’t on the table. The week after Christmas everyone kept grabbing my left hand and expressing shock. (DO NOT DO THIS TO YOUR FRIENDS!)

    So, he wanted to throw a New Year’s Eve Party. I went along with his plans, but my heart wasn’t in it. Everyone else’s disappointment had kind of rubbed off on me, but I was smart enough to realize that he hadn’t done anything wrong. We hadn’t even been dating for a year, yet. I knew I needed to get my head screwed on right or I was going to mess up something good.

    At midnight, Bill got up and made a little speech about how brave I’d been during my ordeal and then went on to express how much I’d helped him in his business. When he asked me to come up to the front of the room, I actually thought he was going to do something really bizarre like give me stock in his company. The speech went on and then he asked, “So, don’t you think we should start the year out on the right foot.” I finally figured out that he was about to propose.

    He pulled out the ring, quite the show-stopper btw, and put it on my finger. I was literally speechless. Everybody ran up and looked at the ring, but Bill was anxious. Finally, I sat down on a footstool and Bill knelt in front of me. He said, “You haven’t said yes, yet.” After all, I had turned down his repeated invitations to live with him, but I still had no words. I finally managed to nod and he was much relieved.

    1. I love that, Jane! What a keeper he is! 😀

    2. I’m such a sap, Jane, your story got me teary eyed and I’m sitting in Starbucks! LOL But Kathy’s right, he is a total keeper. I’m so glad you had not just your family and friends as a support group during your fight with cancer, but also him, standing by you and sticking through it all, falling more in love with you the whole while. What a great story indeed! Cheers!

  5. Lovely and very romantic. Congratulations.

    1. Thanks Kathryn! He has his moments sometimes! I can’t believe I didn’t suspect at all. Like Jane’s friends, my family had been hounding us for awhile. Still didn’t think it was going to happen. LOL

  6. Congratulations, Jess! What a wonderful story!

    1. Thanks Kirsten! What a year of monumental changes for me. To think where I was when you did a reading for me all those months ago and now! Wow! Can’t wait to find out what 2014 holds!

  7. What a lovely story, Jess! So glad you shared it with us. Mine isn’t so romantic, but I still treasure it. It was a spontaneous “let’s get married!” kind of thing, and then we went and picked out a ring. When the ring was ready (though not until AFTER the engagement party my parents threw for us), Paul decided we should do it up right, so we went to a fancy restaurant for him to give me the ring there. It’s so funny and awkward, when both people know it’s happening. So, he finally whips it out at the table, asks the question (again of course – and he told me later he actually had this niggling little worry that I’d say no this time!), and we hugged and laughed. Then another couple (who we didn’t know had been watching us) comes up and congratulates us and buys us champagne! We didn’t have the heart to tell them we’d already been engaged, LOL.

    Happy life together, you two!

    1. Aww, that’s a great story, Kathy! I love that strangers got to spy on your happiness and toasted to you with champagne! What a great memory. The only reason I have that photo of Joe and I right after he proposed is because a nice stranger shouted out on the bluffs to us, “Did he just propose?” and offered to take our photo. 😀

  8. Wow! The fact that he could sit there with his mouth shut the whole evening while you kept pushing away the CD speaks volumes. What a great story!

    Our engagement story? Incredibly dull. We were together a year when we logically discussed the fact that we saw each other as marriage material and decided to move in together. We agreed that we were on the same road, and that marriage was like the STOP sign up at the corner. We weren’t at the corner yet, but barring some unforeseen idiot backing out of their driveway and totaling our ride, we’d get there. We did.

    Holmes’s is much more interesting. He and his wife were barely out of their teens. They’d known each other a year or so as friends when he asked her to marry him. She said yes, and they started dating.

    Sounds like you’ve got a great guy, there, Jess. Thanks for sharing your story.

    1. Yah, this story sounds magical, but like you and your hubby, we waited a long time and talked about it a lot before it happened. We’ve been together 7 years. My boss and mentor was talking to me the other day about how relationships go through cycles, and if you’re lucky, you keep falling in love throughout those cycles. I remember feeling both calm and a bit anxious because I think Joe and I have gone through one cycle already. I think we’ve both had our doubts at various points, since we still had a lot of growing up and changing to do when we first met. But I love him so much more now, and I wouldn’t give that up.

      Thanks for sharing your story with me Piper!

  9. Aw, I love your story, Jess. Joe is a clever guy and obviously knows you well enough that you wouldn’t open the cd case until he prompted you to do it. I wish you both a long, happy life together.
    My engagement to my late husband way back in 1976 was kind of funny. He took me to dinner in a restaurant of a friend of his. We had a fabulous meal and at the end of it he told me the owner would serve us a special dessert himself. Then he told me that the man was hard of hearing so I should speak really loudly to him. So the owner came by with dessert and as he set the plates down a small crystal cut box tumbled out of his hand and onto the table. I’m looking at it trying to figure out what it was and why it was there. Then my future husband suggested I open it. Of course, my engagement ring was inside. He put it on my finger asking me to marry him and, of course, I said yes. The owner sat down with us a few minutes later. I yelled across the table to him, “Thank you so much for serving such a special dessert!” He looked at me like I was a nut and my now fiance’ laughed his butt off at me. And so began that 28-year adventure.
    My second and final husband, took me out for a lovely dinner. After the meal, the owner of the restaurant, an acquaintance of mine and a friend of my late husband coincidentally, brought out a split of champagne. I wasn’t sure why he did that until I saw my husband on bended knee holding my ring and very nervously asking me to marry him. I uttered a teary “yes” and the other patrons applauded us. We were married 3 months later and are about to celebrate our 4th anniversary.
    I’m very lucky to have met my husband as he is truly my soulmate.

    1. Love. He sounds like a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing both your stories and always following along on Joe’s and my adventures.

  10. *sniffle* GREAT engagement story, Jess. Thanks for sharing it with us. It feels a bit weird at times … feeling like I actually know you guys when it’s all been through your intimate blog posts … but you seem so well suited. How lovely to be young and in love! Enjoy every moment and keep taking us along for the ride!

    1. I know what you mean! I’m more up to date on what’s happening in my writer friends lives than some of my longtime friends.

  11. p.s. I love the way Joe orchestrated the whole coincidental meeting, cd by the guy you didn’t like, ring inside, etc. V E R Y clever!

    1. Well it definitely threw me off the trail.

      Fun tidbit for you…he surprised me further by pulling out a bottle of wine and some glasses we purchased on our trip to Canada! Represent!

  12. Wait, first of all . . . you’ve been engaged since October and you’re just NOW telling us? As if we are just random people on the internet that don’t deserve to know every single intimate detail of your life the moment it happens! Pfft.

    Ok, my engagement story . . . we traveled to San Francisco, and I knew he would be proposing on the trip. We’d been together 5 years and I had pretty much told him it was time earlier in the year, so I knew this would be it. So, we arrive there and decide to spend the day in Sonama visiting wineries, in which we had MANY samples and I got quite buzzed. As we returned back to the city, the soon to be hubs wanted to drive up into Marin headlands, but I just wanted to go back to the hotel. He had tried to time it so we were up there at sundown (knowing how much I love sunsets), but we hit traffic and it was getting dark and I just wanted to skip it, but he was insistent. Thinking that he would propose the next night at dinner for some reason, I had no idea why he was so insistent. Anyway, so I finally agree and we drive up until we are at a spot overlooking the bay and bridge and city all lit up. And as I’m standing there taking in the beauty of it, he turns me around, and there he is on his knee with a ring box opened. I, of course, immediately started crying and obviously said yes. When we returned to the hotel room, there was champagne, chocolates and the most ginormous roses I’ve ever seen in my entire life (guess he was pretty sure I’d say yes!).

    1. Ok first, we had to wait until I could tell my family in person and that was on Thanksgiving. So that’s why the delay.

      I love the story of your engagement. I’m glad I’m not the only clueless bride to be! I suspected Joe would propose on our vacation. I was nervous for parts of that and then it didn’t happen. I just resigned myself to believe he was stalling as long as possible and it would happen on New Years Eve at like 11:58 and a half. LOL

  13. Jess, that is a very cool engagement story! My husband asked me to marry him (20 years ago!) on Deception Pass Bridge in Whidbey Island, WA. The bridge is something like 150 feet above the swirling water and rocks down below, and we were on this narrow walkway right in the middle. When he got down on his knee and opened the ring box, I was shaking thinking that beautiful solitare might go right over the edge if we weren’t careful! I said yes VERY fast! He told me later one of his buddies had suggested he buy a cheap cubic zirconia and “accidentally” fumble it over the side of the bridge as a joke. SO glad he didn’t do that! I might have had a heart attack at age 24! 🙂 Congratulations to you and your guy. You both look very happy.

    1. Ohmygosh how nerve wracking! I would’ve been suspicious of a bridge called Deception Pass too! LOL I’m glad it worked both safely and seriously! Thanks for sharing your story!

  14. Major goosebumps happening right here right now! SO adorable and romantic!! He’s definitely a keeper. *Big Smile on my face.

    1. Aww I’ll share that with him! Glad we could make you smile today! 🙂

  15. My husband proposed to me in the airport where we first met 🙂 Thanks for sharing your engagement story!

    1. More details! You met in an airport? That has romance novel written all over it!

  16. Awww. You two are too cute, and I love reading everyones’ tales of love. Here is Ben and my engagement story.

    We had been together 8+ years and I had never thought much about marriage. We, for all intents and purposes, had a marriage without the vows. We lived together, had fur-babies together, owned properties… Anyway, Ben is not historically the best gift giver, and for Christmas he had a pair of rain boots that looked like cowboy boots wrapped up in a box. In another box was a cowboy hat and some pistols. At the bottom of the box was some goofy card–probably a barmitzvah card–that said to enjoy the cowboy gear. Beneath this was an arrow pointing to the back of the card that said–in Austin Texas Feb. 3-6th. A trip is a good gift.

    A month later we land in Texas and make a bee-line to the liquor store. In my mind there is nothing romantic happening on this trip. Ben mentioned that the only thing he wanted to do here was a very little sight seeing on Saturday (foreshadowing). We spent the first couple days hitting up all Austin has to offer. At one point during our pub crawl we saw a wedding party. I mentioned how marriage was for quitters, and for once Ben didn’t immediately agree or laugh. Later that night he said we should get dressed up and go to a restaurant up in the mountains — at least I think they are mountains in Austin. I donned some stilettos and a cute top and jumped in the cab. On the way to the restaurant we pass Mt. Bonnell, an overlook. Ben asks the cabbie how far we are to the restaurant and asks to let us out at the overlook. In stilettos, I climb many a steep step to get to the top. It is lovely and we peek around a little before sitting down to just look. We spend a lot of time here and I mention that we should get going. Ben started acting a little odd and stumbling over words that were coming way too quickly out of his mouth as I stand up. He is still speaking in phrases as he gets down on one knee. I assume he is having some sort of stroke and try to pull him up. He bats me away, pulls a ring out, says some more gibberish, and states that he wants us forever. I was shocked and so happy I was not going to have to carry him down that hill due to a medical emergency. I surprised myself when I said “yes” as though I had been waiting for that question my entire life. The cabbie had said it was about a mile to the restaurant. It was closer to two and there were no more cabs to be found. He was lucky he gave me that ring before asking me to hike in heels for two more miles.

    The next day the Packers win the super bowl. Best trip ever.

    1. Lol. I love your story Jen. Almost as much as I love you two! Like you wrote in the sweet card you gave us, I agree that I’m lucky to say my family are my friends.

      That hike sounds horrible and that is why I do not own stilettos. But it was a very romantic idea and I can see you two playing it all out. There’s no way we can top the fun of your wedding. 😀

  17. Wow Jess, what a wonderful bunch of romantic stories! And yours was no different. Your Joe is quite a sleuth. He sure knew how to throw you off the trail. Good job! On a serious note, there are so many scenarios as to how a couple may get together or make a commitment with one another. All of the above touch our hearts. My hubby and I have known each other since high school and just celebrated our 38th anniversary last month. Best part? He’s my best friend. Besides the attraction that we share, I think that is a key component to any long-lasting relationship. And it sounds like yours is off to a great start! Congratulations to you both! 🙂

    1. I know a few high school sweethearts! Always a pleasure to meet more! Happy marriage and many more years to you!

  18. Awww! That is such an awesome story! So sweet, and I bet your friends were going NUTS waiting for you to open that CD lol. I know I would have been. Kudos to them for not spoiling the surprise lol.

    My hubby did something similar…on the anniversary of our first date he planned an impromptu weekend trip. We’d gone out to dinner, and he handed me a box all wrapped up. I figured it was an anniversary gift (yeah we did that, even though we weren’t married) and I was right. Inside was a new outfit and a note, telling me we’d be taking a trip and this was something new to wear for it. We set out, I had no idea where we were going. We drove to the airport…so obviously we were flying, but he still didn’t tell me where. As we went through security, the beeper went off and David turned white, and red, and all kinds of shades. I couldn’t figure out what the heck the problem was. Security pulled him aside and wanded him…all the while he looked like he would throw up. Then he said, all desperate, “can you go buy me some gum? My mouth is really dry.” He pointed at the little convenience store right there (It was Love Field). I was like…um, ok. So I went. I think I sensed something was wrong and he was embarrassed, but had no clue what it might be. When I got back all the security guards were laughing and David was done so we went on and I thought nothing of it.

    We flew to San Antonio, where he’d booked a bed and breakfast. Such a sweet place! And then took me to the Riverwalk for dinner at Boudro’s (yep still remember the place). We got there early so we walked the river and talked, but I noticed he looked ill. Like going to throw up ill. So I asked if he felt all right. Told him he looked green. He said his stomach was off. Anxious to help, I took him to a store and bought Pepto which I forced him to drink LOL. After that we walked a bit more then found a bench by one of the bridges and sat. And while we sat, he slid off the bench, down on one knee, and held out the ring while saying “Mary me?”

    I saw nobody but him, and he swears it took me 20 minutes to say yes, while I maintain it took a couple of seconds. I had to get over the shock first, and then let the happiness slide on in, and then gurgle past the tears to hiccup “yes” all while apparently a crowd watched. I don’t remember them. He says we were surrounded. All I remember is his face. And how it went back to a normal color after I said yes 😀

    And the security guys at the airport? He had the ring in a box in his pocket, so I wouldn’t find it in the luggage, and apparently the box had a tiny metal strip in it that set off the alarm. He sent me away so he could pull it out without me seeing, and he looked so ill because he thought he was going to have to propose right there in the middle of the metal detector lol. When the guards saw what it was they laughed their butts off.

    1. Wow! I was so waiting to read that his big plans got spoiled by a metal detector. What a story! I love it Melinda! He really thought of everything, except that metal strip… He he!

      Definitely one of my favorite stories shared so far!

  19. My story is far more like Lauralynn’s. In fact, I’ve asked my husband to propose to me someday–just a big gesture, with no nervousness for him since he obviously knows the answer after 21 years of marriage! We’ll see how that goes.

    Love your story. Another big congrats for you both!

    (And shame on you for not knowing his exact guitar. LOL.)

    1. Ooh I can’t wait for the story when he does!

  20. Congratulations. Is the wedding going to be soon?

    1. Sometime this summer we think.

  21. Have I told you I love you? I don’t feel so alone in awkward marriage proposal situations. 🙂

    Hubby and I had been talking a while about finally getting married. I hadn’t felt ready for the longest time (okay, so some might say 15 years is excessive, but it’s true). Finally I’m ready, and so is he. Or so he said. I’m close to my family, so I prepare them for the fact that he and I may finally be ready to make things all legal like (or in my mom’s universe…”recognized by God”). He’s close to his family, too, but he never said anything to them. Warning bells started going off in the back of my mind.

    Months went by…still nothing. I start thinking that maybe HE changed his mind and I jumped the gun with telling my family it was going to happen soon, so typical of me and my personality…I attacked my concern head on. How? I confronted him, of course. I was upset. Asked him why he hadn’t told his family anything. Asked him if he was sure marriage was still something he wanted. Told him that if he didn’t want to marry me, it wouldn’t be the end of the world and that he should just say so. (I should also mention this whole thing happened right before we were due at a neighbor’s house for couples game night…awkward.)

    He got this really aggravated look on his face, threw his hands in the air and stomped into the guest room, then came back. He got down on one knee, flipped open the ring box and said, “Will you marry me? Are you happy now? You ruined my surprise.”
    He’d been waiting, wanting to make some big gesture….I killed it for him…LOL! Oddly enough, it’s typical of our relationship. We rarely do anything traditionally, but whatever we do works for us…LOL!

    1. 15 years is a long time! I would tell people 7 and get strange looks! Here’s my question? How do handle anniversaries? I would hate to say happy 1st anniversary when it’s been like 8 or 9 years together. Feels so weird.

      1. Wedding anniversaries….follow the symbols. Then you don’t have to list a number and your brain get’s a chance to be creative. 🙂

        1. What are the symbols? Do you mean the theme gift like paper, wood, etc.?

          1. Yes. 1st-paper, 2nd-cotton, 3rd-leather…etc.

  22. What a sweet story of love. Blessings to you both…

    1. Thank you!! Looking forward to more adventures!

  23. Now, that’s a great story! I figured it was maybe a CD filled with songs special to the two of you, with a handwritten “will you marry me?” behind it. Kudos to Joe for going the extra step and actually having a ring in there. I’m thrilled for you two! You know my story, as I’ve blogged about it endlessly. The next question is: do you have a date picked out yet?

    1. No date yet. But funny story for you…Joe and I did make a cd together of us singing love songs done in new styles and we gave it to our families for Christmas. Our “band name” is The Seven Year Engagement.

  24. LOL! That’s such a great story, Jess. I love that he knew he could tease you with that particular CD case. Wow, definitely a story you’ll be able to tell to your grandchildren. 🙂

    1. I will repeat to you the same thing I said to my mother, “One thing at a time!” LOL

    1. Yep. We are. It’s disgusting.

  25. That is a wonderful story! And a gorgeous ring! I’m glad you included a picture, I was hoping for it after your last blog post. Congratulations!

    1. Thank you! I love it too! He really surprised me.

  26. You might have one of my favorite engagement stories ever! Love the thought your man put into it.

    My hubs and I were visiting friends of his in Canada and went to some place where there was a suspension bridge thing over some falls. He wanted to “hike” over to a pretty spot right by a little waterfall. Nice, right?

    Well, I was on my period, majorly cramping, and trying to figure out why on earth he was making me wander across a bridge (heights make me a little nervous) and traverse rocky, root ridden paths in the cold when I was clearly not in any kind of mood to experience nature. (I mostly wanted to curl up in a blanket with a glass of wine ignoring everyone. They were bad cramps.)

    We get to the waterfall and his friends walk a bit ahead and he stops to read me a poem. I’m cold and kind shifting back and forth waiting for him to finish the poem. He hands me a purple tulip he had in his jacket and I force a smile. He was obviously trying his best to do something romantic, so the least I could do is stop shivering and smile.

    Before I could tell him we should catch up with his friends, he pulls a diamond ring out of his jacket (oh-so-sparkly) and I realize I’ve been internally grumbly while I’m being proposed to.

    On the way back out of the park, we spotted a sign that had all these picture warning how dangerous these particular falls were, deadly rocks, crushing falls, etc…

    I still tease him about the time he took me to a park that could kill me, forced me to hike through horribly painful cramps, then put a ring on it. 🙂

    1. Hahahaha! That’s a great story Amber! I love the internal monologue going on the whole time. I’m glad nobody got hurt! That’d would’ve been my luck! Lol

  27. Huge congratulations!! What a great story 🙂 Wishing you so much happiness in 2014!

    1. Thank you Emily! I wish 2014 is another year of courage and happiness for you too!

  28. The best Love Story! So what’s with the friend, what a nice guy:) who would he be????

    1. Yep he’s a good guy. 🙂

Tell me a story...

