Pinterest Destroys Families and Other Nonsense

Well, I finally did it. I joined Pinterest.

I have a profile and everything.

Are you happy now?

After months of my mother and sister insisting I get on Pinterest – purely to look at the wedding ideas they’d pinned – I finally relented and joined.

I spent the weekend surfing the internet and pinning half of it down. Pinterest is addicting.

Here’s a few samples of what you can find on my Pinterest page!

Writerly Wish List

Gifts for Writers | Tara Lazar

Are these not the coolest sheets ever?

Stop Making Me Laugh

What do you think they’re reading?

So Austentacious

Jane Austen: "there is no enjoyment like reading"

I must have this sweatshirt. MUST.

Places to Go

Greece Vacations

I cannot wait for our honeymoon in Greece!

Wedding Planning

#blue wedding table ... Wedding ideas for brides, grooms, parents & planners ... https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-gold-wedding-planner/id498112599?ls=1=8 ... plus how to organise your entire wedding ... The Gold Wedding Planner iPhone App β™₯

Slowly, but surely, things are coming together.

So picture us – my mother, father, sister, fiance and I – sitting in the living room. I’m sitting between my parents on the couch, my sister is holding her 4 month old and her iphone across from us, and Joe is probably surfing Facebook on the loveseat.

It was like an airing of Who’s on First. Everyone was talking and sharing ideas but no one was on the same conversation path. My mom was talking about chair rentals, my dad is shouting at me not to use the color gold in the wedding scheme, and my sister is asking me questions I don’t understand?

“For your bouquet, do you want it loose or do you want it to look like a ball?”

What kind of a ball? Like a basketball or a golf ball?

Do you want it to have tendrils?”

How can a bouquet have tendrils? It’s not a Regency era maiden! No I don’t want it to have tendrils.

Planning a wedding is hard. And with 3 people scrolling through pinterest pages and 2 people covered in piles of rental brochures, it was an interesting night.

I promise however, that my pinterest board is not all wedding stuff. So please follow me. I’m lonely over there. Follow Jess on Pinterest.

But be careful, Pinterest destroys families.

How was your weekend?

 

27 responses

  1. Valerie Johnson | Reply

    I’m relatively new to Pinterest, too! It’s a little addictive. My boards are my inspirations for my books. I’ve linked it to my author website which goes live this week. Finally! (ValerieBiel.com)

    Now, are you sure, absolutely sure, you don’t want tendrils hanging off of your wedding bouquet? LOL

    1. Ooh exciting news on the website! Congrats!

      I’m 99% positive I do not want tendrils on my bouquet.

      Will you be at the Madison conference this weekend?

  2. I’m on Pinterest, but I’m not very active! I need to learn how to use it better. I’ll come find you!

    And my three guesses on what the cat is reading? Alice in Wonderland – “That Cheshire cat should be the main character!” Puss in Boots – “I have got to get me a rockin’ pair of boots now!” Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – “That Crookshanks cat is lucky! What I wouldn’t give to have Hermoine’s hands petting me! Grrrr….”

    1. Hmm I’ll bet it is Harry Potter!

      Yay we’re going to be Pinterest friends!

  3. I’ve resisted Pinterest so far, not because I’m against it, but because I’ve looked at it enough to know I’d get hooked! Tendrils on the bouquet sounds interesting – can they be really long, like whiskers? πŸ˜‰ Enjoy Greece! We were there a couple years ago, and not only is it beautiful, but the food is absolutely excellent. Loved every bite!

    1. I. Cannot. Wait. So pumped to see the caldera, eat dolmas and baklava… *drooling*

      And no, no tendrils!

  4. This is so funny! Your description of your family in the living room on their devices shouting out ideas while not really communicating, could be ANY family, my own included! This is so how gatherings go these days. I am constantly shouting out random facts and my kids just shake their heads. Hee,hee

    I am on Pinterest but have not been on it for months. I forgot that I even have it. I used it to plan my son’s graduation party. There are so many cool ideas out there! Good luck not getting hooked! Glad the wedding plans are going well. A honeymoon in Greece sounds wonderful!

    1. It was so chaotic. I’m AMAZED we got any of this planned. LOL

  5. I have not been brave enough to venture into the Pinterest world. First off, I just don’t know where I’d find the time! I would get sucked in. Moth to flame. I must say now for now if I’m ever going to get any writing done!

    1. Oh I know I’ve doomed myself. Haha! I shall try to behave. Must get writing done too.

  6. I’m a rare species: a guy on Pinterest. What can I say? It is addicting. I was busy scouring recipes last week, and came up with a couple of new ones to try. In fact, I’m making one of them – a lasagna soup – for dinner tonight. So I fully understand your obsession, and would like to welcome you to the club!

    1. Thanks Mark! I can definitely see you on Pinterest with the food blog you have. Sooo many great recipes! Thanks for being part of the welcome wagon!

  7. I just can’t do Pinterest. I tried, because friends were raving about how it was selling their books for them, but I just…can’t… do it. I have a profile (which just got suspended, as I tried to make changes and it’s been so long that Pinterest registered that as “unusual activity..”) but I don’t know what to do with it. I have several boards, but I can’t update them, link to them, share them, remember them or remotely CARE about them… Mind you, I’m the same with Twitter. I love my blog, and I can’t stay off G+, but Twitter and Pinterest just defeat me. WHat are they for? And more important, how are they useful to me?

    1. LOL. Everyone has their niches right? I’m a twitter gal. LOVE me some twitter. And Instagram is up there too. Do what you love!

  8. Followed…and you have nice taste in clothes, by the way. For having just started there you don’t do anything halfway. That’s a lot of pins in a short time. Yes, Pinterest is addicting and I’ve been trying to moderate my addiction. Honeymoon in Greece? Oh how I envy you.

    1. Some of those fashion pins are from YOUR wall! So, likewise! πŸ˜‰

      1. Ha ha ha…I honestly didn’t realize. Some of my pins have been up for 6 months. I forget. πŸ˜€

  9. Yay! You’re on Pinterest! I just followed you. Great boards. πŸ˜‰ At every wedding, at least one thing goes wrong. I think you should choose something that you will make go wrong and then you’d be in the clear. No surprises!
    You must have a date chosen…and you must tell me. πŸ˜€

    1. I’m not sure me picking something to go wrong is wise. I’ll do it too well. LOL

      Our date is July 19th! πŸ˜€

  10. Welcome to the insanity of the black hole that is Pinterest! LOL. I love it there…and hate it. πŸ˜€

    Someday, I’ll be able to make cool stuff that I pin. I do enjoy creating inspiration boards though.

    1. I love all the quotes. But I also just want to buy all the cool things I see, but then I remember I’m planning a wedding and that I’m broke. *sigh*

  11. LOL! My first marriage didn’t work out and that might be because I had the wedding everyone else wanted me to have – mostly the one my mother wanted. Twenty years after my second wedding, my marriage is going strong. I’m fully convinced it’s because I built a 10 foot wall around my wedding plans and only threw a few pieces over the wall for the dogs to fight over. Let everyone pinterest you and then do what YOU want.

    1. Good advice! I will put that into action! I really have been pretty selective in truth but this was the first weekend we were all together and it was crazy!

  12. Jess, I can always count on you to crack me up girl! I can just picture all of you talking over each other’s heads. I can’t imagine the undertaking for this wedding. I just hope you can hold it together before a bomb threatens to detonate. Oh how I remember the stress. So yes, please to take what Jane said to heart. Don’t ever forget that it’s your wedding, as in You and Joe. I’d be more focused on the honeymoon in Greece. Now that’s what I’m talking about. Right on! And I’ll go and check out your Pinterest page. I too just set up an account, but I haven’t done anything to it yet. I’m getting there. Yes, crazy! Take care! πŸ™‚

    1. Yay another Pinterest friend! Perfect!

      Believe me we are having more fun planning the honeymoon. Lol

      Glad I made you laugh!

  13. Jess you just got on Pinterest and you already have 379 pins? Holy moly, woman! You do not mess around. I like that kind of hearty work ethic. πŸ™‚ You have another Pinterest friend in me.

    So, I don’t know much about planning a wedding, but I imagine it is stress beyond stress, so always take a moment to breathe when things get too crazy. Good advice for any situation I think.

    As for the kitty and the girl – brilliant catch by the way – I think they’re reading Pet Semetary. No wonder she’s ansty. Gotta see what happens next. Scary!! πŸ˜‰

    1. Ooh! I just saw Pet Semetary for the first time two Halloweens ago. Creepy!

Tell me a story...

