Throwback Thursday: Blossom was my Idol

Do you remember the TV show, Blossom, about a girl who grows up in a house of all men and imagines what a more normal life would be like?

This is Blossom.

This is my Blossom impersonation.

This is my Blossom impersonation.

It has all the wrong right elements, don’t you think? Clothes that hang down too long (I was going for the no shoulder look), hideous prints, and a floppy flower hat.

I was obsessed with that show. Blossom was a bookworm who didn’t know much about the world, and I could empathize.

Who were your style icons when you were young?

33 responses

  1. I just remember wanting to see every week what Denise on the Cosby Show would wear. In my cohort, we definitely got more inspiration from her than Madonna.

    But as a kid? Yeah, it was all Brady Bunch era. Somewhere there’s a picture of young girl me in a plaid pantsuit. Seriously. Can you picture that? Yikes!

    1. I don’t know if I can picture that, Julie, maybe you should post a picture. πŸ˜‰

      Tiffany just posted a buzzfeed link about things girls loved in the 80s and Denise’s fashion was one of them! I’m pretty sure my family emulated each of the Cosby children’s and parents’ fashion sense.

  2. That’s an awesome photo of you! You were both beyond cool!

    1. Oh yah, I knew how to rock a sunflower hat. LOL

  3. Ha! Perfect! Even though I had black curly hair, was not petite and could not sing, I swore I was Olivia Newton John (Sandy). I was obsessed with Grease and tried to dress like the WILD Sandy (not the prudish one). πŸ™‚

    1. AWESOME!!! Were you a leather pants wearing toddler?

  4. Ha! Nice. I especially like the added touch of the actual blossoms that you are standing behind in the picture. You are taking this emulation thing to a whole other level! πŸ˜‰

    1. That was like the only picture station my mother used. Outside our back door and in front of our porch door. That’s it. You would think as kids we did nothing but stand in front of doors. ???

  5. I don’t remember ever dressing like a TV show character but then, in my era, my choices were puppets (like Howdy Doody) and cartoon characters (like Wilma Flintstone-had the red hair, though). Not much inspiration there. I did however try to convince my daughter to dress like Blossom but she wasn’t into it.
    From a “Mom” standpoint, you were darn cute in that getup, even with the floral pants. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh yah, I’m dressed to takeover the greater area golf courses. Ladies who lunch…

  6. How flipping cute were you in your Blossom hat??! OMG.

    I went through a Flashdance phase…and a Madonna/Bananarama phase. It was NOT my cutest phase.

    1. Bahahahhaha! Inquiring minds want to see photos, Jenny!

      *hits play on What a Feeling*

      1. Lordy, those sweatshirts….what were we thinking?

  7. Well, as I recently stated – rather shamefully – Don Johnson was my fashion idol. I was obsessed with Miami Vice and, yes, bought the white pants to prove it. And even wore them to school. Somewhere, I’m hoping a photo exists – if it does, I’ll write a blog post about that here, I promise.

    Blossom is still popular today, but she has to contend with Sheldon. The poor woman deserves a medal for that!

    1. I use to watch Don Johnson in Nash Bridges with my mom every week. He and Cheech Merrin (sp?) were FBI I think? Detectives of some sort. What a dapper dude. Ha!

      I can’t wait to see the blog post.

  8. My style icons were the cast of the movie River’s Edge. And Kurt Cobain.

  9. …but my hair style icons were the band Blind Melon.

    1. I am still waiting for grunge to come back in style. That would be awesome.

      PLAAAAAAAIIIIIIDDD!

      1. Deniiiiiiiiiiiiiiim! πŸ™‚

  10. Cute, Jess. I never watched Blossom but she seemed like a cool oddball. πŸ™‚ My style icon in college? Madonna. Eek. LOL

    1. Yah my sister had Madonna hair. Why not? She was super cool in the 80s and still fab!

  11. Hi Jess, you were cute.

    1. Heeeey! Long time no see. How are you? Thanks for bebopping over. Who was style icon back in the day?

      1. You looked better than your idol.

        1. I dunno. I was seriously lacking knee socks with this look. Lord knows I had them!

  12. Jess, I’m sure I had those same shorts and yellow t-shirt. πŸ™‚
    At 14, I discovered Buffy the Vampire Slayer, found a huge purple ring in a discount shop and wore it along with a bracelet decorated with crosses to be like Buffy. Kind of sad really, but fun at the time.

    1. Um I was all over Charmed and damn if I didn’t try really hard to get my mom to buy me halter tops. Yah….

  13. karenmcfarland | Reply

    You were so adorable! What was wrong with that picture? Why are you picking it apart. I’m sure your parents are fond of it. I was impressed. You came very close.

    For me, and this would be going back a few years, mind you. But I would have to say that most girls my age were trying to emulate Farrah Fawcett. Yeah, I know. I just dated myself. πŸ™‚

    1. Oooh the hair! I dig it. She was the epitome of sexy and spirited!

  14. Sadly, my style icons were all t-shirt wearing, long hair heavy metal types. They still are, I’m afraid – I just have a wife who will no longer permit me to dress that way…and I can no longer grow any hair. *grins, then weeps*
    How are you, Jess? It’s been far too long. Sorry it’s been forever. Hope you and yours are well.
    By the way, she’s hysterical on Big Bang Theory, isn’t she?

    -Jimmy

    1. Hi Jimmy! You are not the only grunge fan in the group. I would be totally fine if ripped jeans and plaid came back in style. LOL. I can’t say I was big into heavy metal, but I loved eavesdropping on my big brother when he blared Smashing Pumpkins and Nirvana from his stereo.

      *bobs head up and down*

      1. Lol. I wouldn’t recommend that bobbing move for too long. I did that at a concert once – can’t recall who it was, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest or somebody like that – my neck hurt for a week! Rock on, Jess (just do it safely)! πŸ™‚

        1. I’ve done that too! But I think it was at a Those Darlins concert. Those girls are craaaaaazy!

Tell me a story...

