Throwback Thursday: Dear Diary Edition

In search of the perfect Throwback Thursday post for this week, I happened upon a fascinating little book called…my first diary.

I was 10 when I started writing in it.

diary excerpt3

Classy right? I mean, nothing screams “Miss Havisham: The Early Years” like brocade fabric and a floral arrangement. Add some dust to the bears and I’m set.

No, seriously. If y’all catch me wandering the blogosphere in my wedding dress, wearing only one shoe…somebody better speak the fuck up!

Look at the lock on this thing?! I picked it with a bobbypin.

diary excerpt4Who, exactly, is this going to keep out?

I guess it’s a good thing I at least hid the book somewhere safe because otherwise the kids on the playground might have decrypted my code names for the boys in our class.

diary excerptIf you can’t read my writing, it says:

“I’m sort of calling the boys names like tweeter butt, piddle skiddle, flem wad, emo ponco, tonto, estupedo,…”

I vote here and now we bring piddle skiddle and tweeter butt back!

*begins painting picket signs – Long Live Tweeter Butt! Piddle Skiddle is my Homie!”

Here’s another glistening dewdrop of an entry from my 10 year old self:

diary excerpt2Eh-hem:

“Dear Diary,

I decided I don’t want a boyfriend. I can wait.

I’m in a reading program!! It is fun.

I’m on break for piano lessons. I’m glad.

I’m not mad at anyone. That’s good, huh.

I have 3 penpals: Andrea, Jessica, and Katie. Their (yes, I know it should be ‘They’re’) from PA, WA, and WI.

Ok. Let’s just ponder this post shall we?

I think, rather I KNOW, my favorite part is “I’m not mad at anyone. That’s good, huh.”

In true form, I used my diary as a venting tool, and I’m betting I’m not the only one who did so. Therefore, the majority of its pages are filled with angry content about how mean all my siblings are and what backstabbers my best friends are.

Can someone say redheaded temper???

I can graciously say that I no longer fill my diary’s pages with name calling and hate letters. I’ve grown up since then. But there’s something to be said for the way a child gets things off her/his chest and moves on. They fume for the length of a page and then they wonder what’s for dinner. As adults, we don’t always heal so easily. As funny as these diary entries are, they are also a good reminder not to dwell on the negative things in life, but to move forward and enjoy the positive. Like reading programs. 😉

Did you ever keep a diary?
What shocking things did you scribble on its pages?
Do you journal now? What do you like/dislike about it?

 

21 responses

  1. I kept journals briefly, on and off, during high school mostly. They were uninspiring. I would grow bored with it and stop about 2 months in. But yeah, mostly about friends doing you wrong and unrequited high school crushes. Things like that. I don’t journal now. Don’t have time. I mean, isn’t that what blogging is for? 😉

    1. Yah I do journal less since I started blogging. But if I’m trying to work through stuff, I have to journal. It’s what clears my head best. And I try to keep a gratitude journal in there too. Just a list of five things. Some days it’s a thoughtful moment with a niece or nephew and others, it’s ice water. Whatever gets you through the day.

  2. Yes, yes, yes! My first diary had Holly Hobby on the front, and the entries read much like yours. Hilarious to look back on this. And as far as code names for the boys, your creativity was already showing. Great post!

    1. Valerie, did you see what emo ponco did in math today? I mean the NERVE!

      Talk to me at recess. Meet you by the monkey bars.

  3. This is precious!!! You struck gold! What a window to your 10 year old self. I love the boy’s names, clem-wad and tonto are my faves! 🙂 I filled my diaries with a lot of frustration and anger, usually at my parents. Never showing it to my kids, that’s for sure! 🙂

    1. I think I have an entry somewhere where I planned to run away because my mom made me eat strawberries. Sooo, don’t feel too bad.

  4. My mom gave me a diary when I was young, but I wrote in it once, and then went back to watching TV all the time.

  5. I didn’t keep a diary until 2001, when I joined a little website (now defunct) called Open Diary. So it was an electronic one and a precursor to blogging. That site changed my life: it’s how Tara and I met, as well as a number of close friends who have since crossed over into real-life friends. In fact, I’m going to one of their weddings in Sacramento next month. I only WISH I kept a diary or journal when I was younger. I imagine it would be pretty enlightening!

    1. Ohmygosh I forgot about Open Diary! I had one too. I still kept a written one though and mostly put bad poetry on the online one. But it was so cool to have. And that was when everyone had the craziest URL names like Sonic64 and IEatPeas12. LOL

      Do you remember magicfishfood? All my friends had email accounts at magicfishfood.com.

      1. You were on OD, too?? Wow. That website changed my life, several times over. I was plushcreep, so yeah, funky URL is right. But I’ve never even heard of magicfishfood…

  6. Yes, I kept a diary! But I called it a journal and didn’t start until maybe junior high. My first journal cover was light blue with puffy clouds and a rainbow, which I promptly painted black when I was in college to reflect my mood during those years. LOL! It’s an eye-opener for sure, especially how ridiculous I used to be about boys. On the other hand, someone recently bashed young adult romances to me as being colossally stupid, and I was like, “Hey! That’s a big stinkin’ deal when you’re fifteen!” Because that first love feels just as real as later love.

    And I will totally warn you if you go Miss Havisham. We will have none of that, young lady! 😉

    1. Thanks Julie. You’re a good friend. 😉

      And yes junior high romances are a big deal! My journal pages are filled with stories about boys and magazines cutouts of boys. Thank goodness we grow out of that!

  7. OK, first, did you realize how trailblazing you were to use the word “tweeter” when you were 10? Unless you were 10 like five years ago. Bravo!

    I had many diaries, most of which I no longer have. Good or bad, I’m not quite sure. What I remember most was the scrapbook like thing where at the back I kept a list of all the boys I’d kissed. I’d rate them with stars, five being the top of the scale. I think I was at like 75 for my last entry. What can I say? I was a sucker for soft, boy lips!

    I do have my last couple of journals. My favorite entry I wrote in October 1999, and I remember the exact words: “I think I’ll apply for a job at Border’s.” I wrote that a few days after my divorce from my first husband was finalized. I was scared and lonely, and even though I had a full-time day job, I couldn’t stand the thought of sitting at home in the evenings, alone, in my husband-less duplex. The idea for this second job came out of nowhere. But it appeared so clear and effortless on the page of my journal, I couldn’t ignore it.

    I applied and got the job. On my first day I met Chris, the man who would become my second and most certainly last husband in June 2000. We became parents to our one and only child in August 2001.

    Journaling is a powerful thing.

    1. I was totally thinking someone owes me some royalty money. LOL

      I love your diary story. All of them! 75 boys! Guess they were suckers for your lips too. How cute.

      The story about meeting your husband and starting a family is inspiring. I love stories where destiny seems to play a role. Here’s to your happily ever after!

  8. Love that “don’t want a boyfriend, I can wait” part. You really got your head straight early!

    I started a diary when I was ten, just before my first sleepover with my friends. I wrote all about it. My brother found it, read it out loud to my parents, and that was the end of diaries for me. That’s okay, though. Taught me not to get too stupid on the internet. 🙂

    1. What a mean brother! I would’ve been devastated if someone ever read my diary. As a joke, Joe stole mine once out from under me and I chased his butt around the house, I was sooo mad. He will never, NEVER do that again. LOL

  9. This is so awesome, Jess! I kept journals. Oh, the angst of middle school. Who am I kidding, I wrote in journals off and on all the way through college.

    My two besties and I kept notebooks in high school. I wish I had those! Instead of passing notes in the halls, we took turns writing notes in spirals. We must have filled 10 of them.

    1. Oh I miss that! My friends and I used to keep journals we’d all write in! We’d write stories and doodle and talk about the boys in our class. Good times!

  10. On a break from piano lessons? And glad about it??? *sniffle*sniffle*
    Oh wait… 1996? That’s OK, then… 🙂

    1. Yah, sorry Libby. I liked YOU! But I was 10 or 11 years old and hated practicing. You did give away the coolest prizes though. I was obsessed with music pencils and stickers.

      My fiance teaches guitar lessons and he gives away stickers too. 🙂

Tell me a story...

