When the Going Gets Tough, You Gotta Have Your Girlfriends

I’m dedicating this Throwback Thursday to all the ladies out there! πŸ˜‰

When the going gets tough, you gotta have your girlfriends. Life has a way of throwing curveballs at us. I don’t know about you, but if I’m gonna take a hit to the head, I want my best girlfriend around to see it, pretend I did it on purpose, and tell every other joker in the place that it was the most badass thing she ever saw!

I’m fortunate to have a friend like that.

This is my bestie, Cat.

cat and jessi's bdayShe’s the photogenic one.

Cat just had a total curveball thrown at her. And that’s putting it mildly. She’s in a place of deep hurt right now, and I would love it if you would give her a little shout out in the comments! She’s the toughest, most talented, most vibrant, best dancer, so comforting, hardworking, sassy little latina I know! And I just love this woman immensely.

Please send your peace and healing thoughts her way!

*****

And now for a walk down memory lane. Cuz it’s Throwback Thursday after all!

January of last year. Cat agreed to be a part of my last minute 80’s theme party. Clearly, no regrets there.

2013-01-17_19-35-45_936

This is Cat and I pretending to be Oscar Girls at the 2012 Academy Awards. We are now forged eternally as “Sisters in Sequins.”

100_2307

This is Cat on her wedding day. I was so honored to be the officiant for her and her husband.

Photo credit: Kelly Ottesen Photography

Photo credit: Kelly Ottesen Photography

This is Cat at Circus World in 2011. Yah, she’s the one who witnessed me smashing my face into an animal cage.

100_0944

Here we are out for Halloween 2010. She was Amelia Earhardt and I was Mrs. Peacock.

100_0593

THIS photo was captured on Cat’s birthday in July 2010 when we all went to see Little Kiss.
I believe the word you are searching for is…EPIC!

Little Kiss

This is Easter 2010, when I was still very much in Corporate America and couldn’t take time off to go home for the holiday. Cat invited Joe and I, and her husband’s family, and the group of us made the best makeshift Easter brunch ever!

Easter 2010

College. 2007. I had just crashed my car after having it about a month.
Cat and I had just become close friends.

College 2007

Girlfriends. Gotta love them. Gotta have them.
Gotta lift each other up.

You’re the best, Cat P!
(made ya laugh, didn’t I?)

*****

Who are the important girlfriends in your life? What makes them stand out?
How have you supported one another?

39 responses

  1. My best friend and I work at the same crazily insanely stressful place, so we support each other by forcing the other to go to the gym, supplying chocolate based goodies, and sending texts assuring the other that we will help them dig a grave.
    I hope Cat is feeling/doing better soon πŸ™‚

    1. Chocolate is always a plus! And Cat teaches Zumba so she’d be proud of you being gym buddies.

  2. What a fab BFF to have, Jess! Cat, hang in there, and keep the faith. It’s gonna be okay. Psst…it happened to me, too – 23 years ago. Let us just say I have been blessed with abundance since then. πŸ˜‰ Hugs.

    1. Thank you Kathy! Hope you were surrounded by friends then too!

      1. It was hard, I’m not gonna lie. Even in the midst of friends you feel alone with it. But it DOES pass, and things get better. You are both so fortunate to have each other as BFFs! Not everyone has that.

  3. Catherine Johnson | Reply

    Love those pic! Hope your friend has good luck soon, I adore that wedding dress!

    1. Wasn’t she stunning? She still is of course, but especially so that day. Much love.

  4. I can tell that you’re very close to your Cat P. I wish you the very best with your Cat P! πŸ™‚

  5. Life gets crappy once and a while, but it usually turns around. The bigger the fall, the more splashing the comeback.

    1. For sure! Can’t wait till we’re on a high again. But this is a good reminder to be patient.

  6. Oh, so sorry that Cat is going through a tough time!!! That makes me very sad. 😦 Sending positive thoughts and prayers her way. Did you say she is latina? #latinasrock #pacienciayfe

    I don’t know what I would do without my sister, cousins and girlfriends! They are my rocks! πŸ™‚

    1. Latinas do rock! Thanks for your support! I’m sure she wishes her sisters were closer right now but I know they’re sending their love via long phone calls and heartfelt words.

  7. The best is often the little things–like a HI text or here’s something funny email. Just knowing we’re thinking about each other is often all it takes to feel I’ve got support. Sending good thoughts and BIG hugs. πŸ™‚

    1. Good call out Coleen. That’s probably why I love Instagram so much. I feel like I get to peek into your lives. Share in little moments. They do matter.

  8. I just want to tell your bestie that while it definitely feels like the end of the world right now, it will get better. You will heal and you will move on to amazing things. As long as your friends and family surround you with love and you believe you can make it through, you will. Believe me . . . I know.

    My very close friend is going through a divorce right now. I’ve been there for her as much as humanly possible, and I’m finally starting to see her come out of the deep, dark pit of despair and tears she has been in these last few months. She finally looks like HER again, and it is so lovely to see. Friendship, and maybe a little booze, can always get you through!

    1. Misty I know what a thoughtful friend you are so your pal is in good hands! I’m sorry for her pain but happy to here she is pulling through, stronger than ever I’m sure.

      Thank you for your sweet words to Cat. They mean the world.

  9. I’d get in trouble with Tara if I had girlfriends, so I’ll just say I’m happy for you and wish Cat P. much peace and good health.

    1. Thanks Mark! Hope you have good guy friends to see you through the hard times!

  10. Life does indeed throw curveballs, and I’m one of those lucky to have friends to help me through. My BF is happily to sort who will encourage me, cry with me, laugh with me, and even tell me, “Yes, that dress makes your butt looks flat. Wear the other one!”

    Hang in there, Cat! I LOVE the Amelia Earhardt look and hope you’ll be soaring like she did (well, you know, before…) very soon. It’s wonderful to hear about your friendship, Jess!

    1. And do you dress in matching clothes too? πŸ˜‰ you should!

      Glad to hear you and your bestie share brutal honesty.

      Cat does look awesome as Amelia. She always thinks up the cutest costumes!

  11. Hi Jess and hi Cat, you two look lovely together.

    1. Thank you! She knows how to put a smile on my face.

  12. Super big hugs for your bestie!

    1. Thank you Diana! She needs them! Good for the soul.

  13. Girlfriends ARE the best! And clearly, you have a great one in Cat and she in you. I hope she finds peace with whatever she’s going through… sweetest and warmest of thoughts are being sent! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Kelly! I appreciate everyone keeping Cat in their thoughts and prayers.

  14. My best friend passed away three years ago. We were closer than sisters, so it was really hard. But I’m SO thankful for the time we had together. Cherish every moment with your friends.

    Cat, I hope and pray things get better for you. I’m glad you have a friend like Jess!

    1. I’m so sorry for your great loss Lauralynn. I’m sure you still miss your friend and often. I’m glad you focus on the wonderful memories you made together. Hugs to you and thank you for reaching out to Cat and I.

  15. I lost so many of my friends because of this crazy illness called “MCS”. I am fortunate for the few who remained who will manage to find safe ways of getting together and suit up to come in to my home.

    1. I can only imagine Kathryn. I’ve lost close friends and it’s one of the hardest things to accept, but it does show you very clearly which friends are in it with you for the long haul.

  16. Best girlfriends are the best. Cat, I’m glad you have such a good one in Jess. Hang in there, and let yourself feel whatever you feel. I’ve been there, and my thoughts are with you.

    1. Thanks Elizabeth! Appreciate your thoughts! πŸ™‚

  17. Girlfriends have definitely been my lifeline to sanity during the darkest times of my life. I’ve got three whom I adore. We’ve been through the proverbial think and thin together. I can’t even imagine life without them!

    1. I hope you never have to! Keep each other close always.

  18. My best friends are family. Cat is lucky to have you and you are lucky it have her.

    1. And we’re both lucky to have Jen too. Girlfriends make a difference. πŸ™‚

  19. What a beautiful friendship you two have! I have chills. I’ll be sending lots of love and warm thoughts your way, Cat. *HUGS*

    1. Thanks August! She needs the shout out. Keep sending those warm thoughts her way!

Tell me a story...

