It’s All Greek To Me

In one month Joe and I leave for our honeymoon in Greece.

Yah, I know we’re doing it all backwards. Our honeymoon is BEFORE the wedding. When you marry a musician, you’re subject to working around their gig schedules.

As such, I’ve been practicing a few essential Greek phrases to help us when we arrive. I can say ‘hello, how are you, what is your name, it is a pleasure meeting you.’ I’ve also practiced ‘thank you, please, and pardon me.’ But what I’m most proud of is the following phrase which I have practiced for three days:

Which translates to:

I’m sorry. I don’t understand. I don’t speak Greek. Do you speak English?

I think it may come in hand.

I have also checked out a number of books on Greece to review the history and mythology I love.

Earlier last week, I forced my fiance, Joe, into going to a free skin screening because he often plays at outdoor festivals and I wanted him to get sun care tips from a dermatologist. (Because he rolls his eyes at me when I share them.)

After speaking with the doctor, Joe texted me:

Dr. W says I “have the skin of a Greek God.”

Great. I will never hear the end of this.

Of course that night, as we’re brushing our teeth, Joe begins to flex and show off his chest.

Joe: You can call me Zeus.

Me: Ok Zeus, pop quiz. Who was Zeus’s wife?

Joe: Athena

Me: No that’s not right. Who was Athena?

Joe: Goddess of wisdom!

Me: And?

Joe: Other stuff…

Me: She was Zeus’s daughter, and also the Goddess of war. Now, who was Zeus’s wife?

Joe: Mrs. Zeus

Me: *face palm* Hera. His wife’s name was Hera.

I think maybe I should do the translating on our trip.

Have you ever learned a new language? How did it go?

What’s your favorite place to travel? And where do you want to go next if you could anywhere in the world?

11 responses

  1. I LOVE learning languages, and was once fluent in Spanish. Why “once?” I didn’t use it for longer than you’ve walked the earth decades and lost both vocabulary and confidence. (I used to travel to Puerto Rico to train employees.)

    About a year ago, I began listening to Spanish speaking radio stations in the car in order to regain some fluency. The only ones I found were religious programs. I can now recite “Hail, Mary” in Spanish — and I’m not even Catholic.

    When we traveled to Austria, I remembered enough German to query where the white wine was stocked in the liquor story next door.

    Me? Travel plans? I’m off on a free-to-be-me road trip to PENNSYLVANIA in 18 sleeps for a Burns Girls Family Reunion (there are 5 of us). And, I’m not sure if when I’m coming back to Texas. I suspect I’ll be gone for at least four weeks. Can’t take the Yankee out of the girl.

    You will, I’m sure, LOVE Greece. Especially since you’ll be on the arm of a Greek god.

    1. I used to know a fair amount of Spanish and considered going to school for a job as an interpreter. But after a year off of classes I had forgotten so much and it was so hard to start up again. I had forgotten enough of the basics that the class I was in was really tricky. I can still be conversational, and tell you about the beach I don’t live anywhere near!

      Learning where the wine is is right up there! I shall practice that next. πŸ˜‰

      Have fun on your trip! Stay out of any big trouble. A little is ok and necessary.

      Do NOT tell Joe that!

  2. I love Greece. I’m so happy for you that you get to go there! I went there on a high school tour when I was fifteen. Still remember being on Mykonos. Slipped out of my hotel room after hours and climbed across a couple balconies and over a rooftop to get to a path that led to a disco on the beach. Lost my shoes somewhere and had to foil an assault by a waiter who had been lurking in the bushes on my way back to the hotel, but it was a hoot! . . . My daughter is 16 and going to Europe for the first time this summer. With me. And she knows she’s going with me because I know exactly what happens on high school tours. πŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful honeymoon, Jess! Can’t wait to see your pictures.

    1. LOL. Yah I did a high school trip in Italy and everyone was always sneaking out. Ireland too! Hehehe Enjoy the trip! How wonderful! I want to see your pictures too!

  3. Earlier this year, hubby and I signed up for Intro to Italian at our local college. It was fun, but it made me realize how rusty I am when it comes to languages. At least I have flash cards to take along if we decide to go to Italy – I can conjugate verbs while I try to order coffee! Italy is my favorite place, and right now if a dream trip dropped in my lap, I’d go to Vienna, Budapest and Prague, with a side trip to Venice. Ahhhh!!!

    1. So have you been to Italy before? I went years ago for 2 weeks on a tour. Venice was not my fave. I liked Florence and fell in love with Assisi! If you eat, eat lots of gelato for me!

      1. Yes, we went to Italy a couple years ago. I liked Florence, too, but we didn’t go to Assisi. I agree – gelato all the way!!

  4. I’m so jealous you’re heading off to Greece. I went Greek island hopping a few years back and would love to do it again. The scenery was breathtaking. As far as I can remember most people on the islands had some bit of English, so there was no problem language wise. Have a blast.

    1. That’s what I’ve been hearing. My next step was to start learning names of food – like the different meats, in case we had to order in greek. I’m getting excited! Especially for the scenery like you said!

  5. If pidgin Hawaiian counts, then yeah, brah. I’ve learned anudder language.

    I’m jealous of your Greek pre-honeymoon! Sounds like a Hera good time. I’d love to visit Italy. And France. And Germany. And Austria. And Ireland. And…

    Just get me a blank passport. I’ll start filling it with stamps.

    1. I hear ya! I’d be happy to go anywhere. Love to travel!

Tell me a story...

