The Practical Person’s Reading Challenge, the 2015 TBR Pile Challenge Begins

The new year kicks off the start of many new year’s resolutions and challenges. Some of my favorites to participate in are reading challenges, and this will be my fourth year joining in the TBR Pile Challenge.

Adam from Roof Beam Reader is hosting the 6th annual To Be Read Pile Challenge of 2015!

Here’s the Scoop:

The Goal: To finally read 12 books from your “to be read” pile (within 12 months).

Specifics:

1. Each of these 12 books must have been on your bookshelf or “To Be Read” list for AT LEAST one full year. This means the book cannot have a publication date of 1/1/2014 or later (any book published in the year 2013 or earlier qualifies, as long as it has been on your TBR pile – I WILL be checking publication dates). Caveat: Two (2) alternates are allowed, just in case one or two of the books end up in the “can’t get through” pile.

2. To be eligible, you must sign-up with Mr. Linky below – link to your list (so create it ahead of time!) and add updated links to each book’s review. Books must be read and must be reviewed (doesn’t have to be too fancy) in order to count as completed.

3. The link you post in the Mr. Linky below must be to your “master list”. This is where you will keep track of your books completed, crossing them out and/or dating them as you go along, and updating the list with the links to each review (so there’s one easy, convenient way to find your list and all your reviews for the challenge). See THIS LINK for an idea of what I mean. Your complete and final list must be posted by January 15th, 2015.

4. Leave comments on this post as you go along, to update us on your status. Come back here if/when you complete this challenge and leave a comment indicating that you CONQUERED YOUR 2015 TBR LIST! Every person who successfully reads his/her 12 books and/or alternates (and who provides a working link to their list, which has links to the review locations) will be entered to win a $50 gift card from Amazon.com or The Book Depository!

5. Crossovers from other challenges are totally acceptable, as long as you have never read the book before and it was published before 2014!

Isn’t that the smartest idea for a book challenge? To finally read all those books I know you bibliophiles like me keep buying and don’t get to?

You have until January 15th to post your 2015 TBR Pile list. Books can be read in any order. I like to do a mix of genres so I always have something I’m “in the mood” to read.

And this year, you can also stay connected to others doing the challenge via Twitter, Facebook and Instagram using the hashtag #TBR2015RBR.

My 2015 TBR Pile Challenge List:

  1. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (1890)
  2. Persuasion by Jane Austen (1818)
  3. The Jungle by Upton Sinclair (1905)
  4. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote (1965)
  5. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin (1969)
  6. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling (1999)
  7. Insurgent by Veronica Roth (2012)
  8. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell (2013)
  9. Where’s My Wand? by Eric Poole (2010)
  10. The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry (2011)
  11. The Secret History by Donna Tartt (2004)
  12. Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James (2013)

Alternates:

  1. When Life Gives You Lemons…At Least You Won’t Get Scurvy! by Madge Madigan (2013)
  2. Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher (2012)

Will you be participating? Do you do any other reading challenges?
What’s on your TBR pile list?

 

18 responses

  1. bluexberryxcheesecake | Reply

    You’ve named some of my favourites on your list! Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is fantastic, just like all the other books in that series. I’ve heard amazing things about Eleanor and Park so I think you’ll like that one. ‘When Life Gives You Lemons…At Least You Won’t Get Scurvy!’ is the best title in the world I must have a look into what this book is about :3

    You’ve got a fabulous list here and I wish you the best of luck!

    1. Thank you! Madge Madigan writes a blog I follow and the Lemons book is hers. I’m sure it’s a delightfully witty word treat. Do check her out!

  2. I’m actually thinking about doing this in 2015. I need to check my TBR list and see how many books have been on there a year and which ones I really want to read. 🙂

    1. I think being somewhat strategic is the key to success. I always have a mix of genres so there’s a book for every mood. I put some classics and some newer stuff I didn’t get around to. Happy reading! Hope you join in Lauralynn!

  3. Does it have to be one book per month ?

    1. No just 12 books in a year’s time. Join in!

  4. Great list! I *completely* forgot to add Insurgent to mine!

    1. I’m reading Divergent now and knew I’d want to keep going.

  5. Oooo – this is a good challenge! I’m not sure I’d have the time to do it though. 😦

    1. Well any books read are better than no books read, and it’s a money saver. Happy reading no matter what!

  6. This list is amazing!!! Seriously. Persuasion is my favorite Austen, and I loved Dorian Gray, Eleanor & Park, and Harry Potter (all of them). Enjoy the reads!

    1. Persuasion is the only Austen novel I haven’t read yet. I’m excited to read these as well. Keep me posted on how your list is going!

  7. I like those rules! Very cool!

    1. Will you be participating Nina?

  8. This sounds like so much fun! I think I will compile my list. Will FORCE me to do the reading. Congrats on your appointment to the BOARD! Yipee!

    1. It’s a great challenge! Glad you are taking part too! Will you be joining me on the board? I havent heard anything yet.

  9. And how do I contact “Adam”- sorry this just gets more and more confusing. What I’m looking at is all linked to your blog. Thanks and hopefully this will be the last email about this. I want to participate- went to all the work of creating the list. Maybe I can re-create where I wanted to create the list. Oh well

    1. Hi Kay! Sorry I just saw this. I’ll email you and now that I’m feeling better, we could chat on the phone too. I promise not to cough in your ear too much. 😉

Tell me a story...

