Insurgent: When Reading Interferes With All Your Other Plans

I’m one book into my 2015 To Be Read Pile Challenge already. I finished reading book 2 of the Divergent series, Insurgent, by Veronica Roth.

And I can’t wait to pick up the 3rd book, Allegiant. Alas, I’ll have to because I borrowed all these books from my sister and she hasn’t finished reading it yet.

Insurgent is the continuing tale of a dystopian society that has had its infrastructure broken apart. War is on the verge.

In Divergent, we learn about Beatrice “Tris” Prior, a sixteen year old girl born into the Abnegation faction. There are five factions in the world she lives in. Abnegation – the selfless. Amity – the peacemakers. Candor – the honest. Erudite – the scholars. And Dauntless – the brave.

Every year, the sixteen year olds attend the choosing ceremony, where they select the faction they will belong to the rest of their lives. Beatrice has a duty to her family to uphold her abnegation birthright. But Beatrice doesn’t choose abnegation.

She chooses Dauntless. And that’s not all that’s unique about Beatrice.

She is also Divergent – a person who doesn’t belong to any one faction, but has aptitude for multiple ones. They can’t be controlled, and they are viewed as threats.

*****

This is why I stayed up late at night and read all morning on the weekends. Why I’ve got barely any writing done. Why I missed mealtimes. And why I didn’t bother to shower every day.

I was too busy reading Insurgent.

I was totally hooked. Someone get me a copy of Allegiant STAT!

Even my Instagram account is being taken over by Divergent and Insurgent…

15879396839_5b427d361d_o

16107520966_797b99c7b0_o

15529618834_b5d3b2db37_o

16276758175_0513bf70a8_o

What am I going to do in the meantime???

Have you ever been this hooked on a series?
Have you read any of the Divergent books?
What should I read in the meantime???

 

 

18 responses

  1. I sped through Divergent in a couple of days, stumbled a bit with Insurgent and gave up on Allegiant. I felt Tris made stupid decisions in the second book for the sake of moving the plot forward and I lost interest.
    After reading your blog, I’m going to give book three another go. It could have been sleep deprivation on my part! Maybe I didn’t give it a fair chance. Have you seen the movie?

    1. Well I’ve heard from my teenage niece that she did not like the ending of Allegiant. But she’s also read Four, the prequel of Four’s story about the choosing ceremony and she did like that.

      I have seen the movie and really liked it. Have you seen it?

  2. I read all three books in three days! I could not put them down! Once you read Allegiant I will be very curious to see what you think of the ending. I was not a happy camper.

    1. Yah I’ve been warned by my 13 yr old niece. I’m nervous, but I want to know how it ends! She liked Four a lot. Have you read that one?

      1. Yeah I have. It was interesting to see things through Four’s perspective.

  3. I’ve been hooked on too many series to name! Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Hardy Boys, Encyclopedia Brown, The Lemonade Trick, and so forth and so on. Most recently, the Silo series by Hugh Howey. I have to say, Divergent sounds pretty interesting. Shades of Hogwarts?

    1. It’s not really like Hogwarts at all. Closer in style to Hunger Games, it’s definitely dystopian society.

  4. I was hooked on the Tolkien and a Barbara Taylor Bradford series a long time ago, but it’s been a while.
    Did you see the movie? I wasn’t so sold on the actress. I think they were going for a Jennifer Lawrence similarity.

    1. I lked the movie and Shailene Woodley in it. I saw it before I read the book though, which could be why. I didnt have a picture in mind already.

  5. I read the series in December, Jess, and loved it! Couldn’t put it down. 🙂 Enjoy!

    1. Thanks Sheila! Happy reading to you too!

  6. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the ending. =) I like the books but have issues with the end… but then, I like to pick the story telling apart and that can ruin any book.

    1. I’ve definitely been warned by several people. Now I’m nervous to finish it.

  7. I am hoping that you’re feeling much better Jess! But you may get a relapse if you keep this up. lol. Hmm, I am trying to think of the last series of novels that kept me up. I have read series. But I prefer stand alone. It’s just my flavor. But I can tell that Divergence is riveting. Nighty-night Jess! Not! lol. Thank you for the suggestion. 🙂

    1. Oh gosh! Is that why I’m still coughing some?! Yah, I should be taking better care of myself. And I will…after I finish one more chapter. 😉

      1. Lol Jess! I said Divergence and what meant was Insurgent. It’s official. I have lost it! 😊

        1. Oh I’ve read both very recently! No worries!

Tell me a story...

