Pseudo-Spring Not Here Soon Enough For You? Try 22 Things to Do While it’s Still -22

I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for spring. Really ready. Like I’m willing to try anything to MAKE it spring.

Expelliarmus!

Expelliarmus!

So conquer the unending winter blues with me!

Things To Do While It’s Still -22

1. Sleep in. Hibernate if possible.

2. Get cracking on your To Be Read Pile. Seriously, start reading!

15529618834_b5d3b2db37_o

3. Catch up on your Oscar Noms.

Several of the Oscar nominated films are out on DVD, including Best Picture winner, Birdman, so queue up Netflix or head to the movie rental and see what all the fuss is about!

4. Make the most amazing Grilled Cheese ever (shared by Myndi Shafer).

5. Got some time to spare? Find out your Klout score (Jenny Hansen has the details).

6. Attend a local VDay event.

February – April is when countries around the world host VDay events to end violence against women and girls. Want to learn more or get involved? I guest blogged at The Indie Chicks with 5 Ways You Can End Violence Against Women and Girls. Please stop by and join the movement!

VDay 2015

7. Check out the Beauty of a Woman Blog Fest hosted by August McLaughlin that happened last week! Tons of great reading in there. I participated!

8. Start an Instagram account – see what people around the world are up to.

15371829500_25831b9a47_zDrink coffee. Be epic.

9. Make a mix cd. Use only songs with the word ‘sun’ in the lyrics.Β 

10. Check out my pal Victoria’s new book, Dancing in the Fire, and her play by play reaction in gifs to being a published author – it’s priceless. πŸ™‚

11. Build a blanket fort.

12. Write a letter to a loved one via snail mail.

13. Wear fleece pajamas; they will change your life.

14. Follow Women Writers Ink on Facebook for writing prompts and inspiration.

15. Try out Stitch Fix personal stylist for some new spring looks! Get started here!

Stitch Fix collage

16. Go out to eat. But mind your manners.

17. Rent a TV series and watch every season. (It’s cold out, what else is there to do? I just picked up The Mindy Project.)

18. Take a day trip and explore a new town.

photo

Joe and I spent this past Saturday exploring Winona, MN’s bookstores, music shops, and eateries.

19. Catch some winter sports on TV or hit the slopes yourself. Wear a muff. πŸ˜‰

20. Freeze colored water in different shaped containers and build an ice sculpture.

21. Redecorate a room in your house. You have to be indoors anyway.

22. Wanna be naughty? Crank the heat up and watch a surf movie while wearing short sleeves. *gasp*

*****

What other ideas do you have for surviving the Winter-pocalypse?

Β 

26 responses

  1. 19 Kids and Counting is the only thing keeping me from punching someone in the throat these days. I’m just waiting for Jessa Duggar to go all Miley Cyrus.

    1. LOL. You know it’ll happen with at least one of ’em.

    2. My kids LOVE that show. I think SNL should do a skit or a parody of the beginning credits, have them all line up wearing big empty zombie-like grins and say in unison: “We’re the Duggars and we like to procreate!”

      1. Actually, yeah – how have they NOT parodied that show?? They had a pretty good ‘generic reality TV show’ parody this past weekend! (I think mostly based on The Bachelor, which, shockingly, I don’t want.)

        1. *watch (or want…never mind. Don’t need this correction after all!)

  2. I can’t do any of those things, as we never got a winter this year. Yes, I’m complaining. Yes, I’m weird.

    1. Shut your whore mouth! I mean, peace be to you pacific northwesterner. *kicks ice build up behind car tires*

  3. This post is adorable! I’m off to check out your pal’s book and Myndi’s grilled cheese sandwich. I’m also intrigued by Stitch Fix – do you think they’d rock it for people like me who aren’t tiny? Also, THANK YOU for including my Klout article. πŸ™‚

    1. Yes yes yes and yes! Give Stitch Fix a try. My one warning is the clothes can be pricier, at least for my budget, so I do every other month to limit my spending. Then it’s more of a treat too. Please use my referral link above if you sign up! And show me your first fix! I had so much fun seeing what August and Lauralynn picked out.

      I will be checking out my klout score this weekend and will holla atcha if I have any questions. I was just wondering what that was and then you appeared in my inbox like a magic fairy godmother, one who uses a tablet and Scrivener to get shit done!

    2. Jenny, Stitch Fix is a lot of fun! I’m NOT tiny by any means, and it works for me. Some stuff has been too big, some stuff has been too little, but there have been a lot of things that were just right! (Okay, now I sound like Goldilocks.) They go up to a size 14.

      The clothes are pretty pricey most of the time. There have been a couple of times I had to laugh because I couldn’t believe they wanted $90 for a plain black pair of pants. But some of the stuff is very reasonable. I’m actually wearing one of the blouses today. πŸ™‚

      1. Yay, Lauralynn, I’m so glad you’re still loving having at home fashion shows! Feel free to send me pics anytime! I love seeing what my peeps get in their fixes. πŸ™‚

  4. Haha I love this list! Thanks for the smile… and the great inspiration. Though I must admit, I didn’t know people still made mix CDs. πŸ˜‰

    1. Ha! Yah most don’t. But my mom and sis are behind the times, so I still make them for those girls. You could make a playlist and just listen to it on your iPod or phone…or just make Pandora do it for you. πŸ˜‰

  5. karenmcfarland | Reply

    This is why I live in sunny Southern California! Please don’t hate me! But I don’t care how much you can do, you cannot enjoy life at minus twenty-two! Yet, if I were you, I’d do all twenty-two! Hang in there Jess. Winter’s almost over! πŸ™‚

    1. So many times I thought so…and then…it snowed. Getting 3 inches tomorrow. 😭

  6. I loved this list. πŸ™‚

    I can’t believe I never thought about adding shallots, or possible onions, to a grilled cheese sandwich. Because that has to be awesome!

    1. And it’s still the perfect season for some comfort food like that! Yum, right?!

  7. These are wonderful ideas, Jess! My idea is to get the hell out of your winter misery and go somewhere warm where your mother lives and where you will be fed delicious puerto rican food and will be spoiled to death while laying on the beach. The problem is that, at some point you must return. 😦

    1. Are you offering? LOL Sounds muy fantastico!

      1. Just got back and I’m trying not to get depressed. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  8. Well, let’s see, tomorrow is March 5 and our high will be ten. Time to crank the heat and watch Birdman in my underwear.

    1. Hahaha! Sounds awesome! Be sure to make grilled cheese too.

  9. […] recent signs of spring have me extra energized to tackle my To Be Read Pile. I’m a pretty avid reader, and I […]

  10. Thank you for including Dancing in the Fire!

Tell me a story...

