9 Things That Make Me Anxious (And 3 Things That Are Fun)

Ugh, adulting can be so exhausting. Do any of you ever wish you could flashback for, like, just a day to sometime in high school when you didn’t have as much responsibiity?

(If you hated high school, pick a weekend instead of a school day, that’s fine with me – this is a no judgment time travel zone.)

I mean, go back to a time where you didn’t have to worry about, or really even know the meaning of words like: insurance, utilities, deductible, probiotics, fiber, and retinol creams. 

Being an adult carries a lot of duty, people depend on you, which in turn can cause a lot of stress. But then there are also the little things?

Please tell me I’m not alone here. 

9 Things That Make Me Anxious

don't panic, silhouette man running away

1. Public Toilet Seats That are a Askew

How do I know whether it’s going to stay put or slide around like a saucer on a snowbank?

2. Merging into Traffic More than Once

You know those roads where you first have to merge onto a road built for merging onto the road you actually want to be on, so you are in fact merging twice to get where you want to go, and everyone is driving like an extra in Fast and Furious 93?

3. Opening Presents in Front of People

There’s too much pressure to make meaningful and unique comments over each gift. I’d rather open it privately and write you a beautiful thank you note.

4. Epic Stare Downs With Animals While Driving

I’m talking to you, squirrels. What is all this scampering into the road, then back to the sidewalk, then out into the road and freezing when my car comes upon you? I’m just on my way to the mall. I don’t want to play Russian Roulette with you! And I am not slowing down my vehicle. Cross or don’t cross, decide!

5. That Weird Science Myth About How We’re Never More Than Three Feet Away From a Spider

I know it’s a myth, but I also know they’re out there. And they’re plotting against us.

6. That Weird Science Fact About the Large Quantity of Insects We Eat in our Food, Namely Chocolate

I try to forget this every day.

7. Paintings That Look at You No Matter Where You Stand

Just cut it out, ok?!

8. Clowns. 

Oh yah, sure, be right there… Nope. 

9. Anytime I Have to Reach for a Dish on the Top Shelf

I’m convinced I will likely break 4 others on the way down.

Am I weird? Do you think about this stuff too? 

*****

Let’s move on to better topics.

Here are 3 Things That Are Fun

1. This post about Halloween costume advice.

I wrote this back in 2011, but it’s still full of great tips (and photos) to help you get creative this Halloween!

2. My improv show is this week!!!

I can’t wait to tell Improvised Tales of Terror to you! Check out the radio ad I got to do voiceover work on. 🙂 Local friends, please come to the show!

3. October’s #ScreamingScreening is in full swing!

While not as big, or serendipitous as #Keanuthon, we’re still having movie nights every wednesday, and October is all about the scary movies! Join in, and if you like, tweet at me (@jesswitkins) and hashtag it #ScreamingScreening. What scary movies are you watching this season?

#ScreamingScreening

*****

What’s everyone else up to this week? 

25 responses

  1. Yes to all of these! Especially #1&3. Opening presents in front of people is so nerve wracking for me!
    And I am totally going to join in on your #ScreamingScreening of Halloween this week! I’ve been looking for time to fit that one in so this is perfect.

    1. Yay!!! A friend of mine has never seen it and I can’t wait to freak her out.

      1. You lied and told me it's not really scary | Reply

        I knew it!

        1. Subtle. Real subtle, Heather.

          You’re coming. Wear your big girl panties.

  2. Re: public toilet seats askew–just hover over it, don’t actually sit on it–plus you get a nice thigh and glut workout in the deal! But I hear you–I really really, no really hate clowns!

    Have fun doing Improvised Tales of Terror! What fun and scary-ness!

    1. LOL. Thanks for tips on handling askew loos.

  3. I wish I had more gifts for you to open tonight. Stress can be a good thing.

    1. I’m looking forward to dinner! Yum!!!

  4. My go to phrase for opening presents: Great Googliwoogi! Thankyoooooooo! *hugs*

    1. Never tried that before!

  5. I’ve been maimed by a toilet seat gone askew, so I know that’s one of mine, and I worked for a commercial bakery that had to send flour samples to a lab to be analyzed for insect parts (wings, legs, etc.), and that gives me the heebie jeebies. And the squirrels and chipmunks in the neighborhood have turned into kamikazes while they gather food for the winter ahead. The other stuff really doesn’t bother me.

    1. Maimed???? Oh goodness. That is scary.

      As for the flour, ewwwwww. I saw on tv though there are bakeries specifically using flour made of insects. They market it that way. They made cookies out of ground dried crickets! *vomits a little*

  6. Numbers 1, 3, 7 and 8. Especially 8. My husband has played several of those creepy clown prank videos. Have you seen them? Where the clown smashes a dummy and a fake blood spray flies out as people are walking by? All I can think is – How has this not turned into ‘Clown gunned down when prank goes sideways. Film at 11.’

    1. Right??! I’d defend myself. My husband tried to scare me by hiding in the garage one day and shouted as I came in. I screamed, karate kicked and through my water bottle at him!
      #HeHadItComing

  7. gaaaahhh. opening presents in front of people! horrible. terrible. scarier than The Birds!

    break a leg at your improv show! and have a blast! xoxo

    1. Thank you Liz! Wish all my online friends could come. 😋

  8. The Birds is an excellent choice! Probably my favorite Hitchcock film.

    And you are absolutely not alone with #3. I think that’s the scariest thing on your list! It’s nice (and surprising) to learn I’m not alone, judging by the comments regarding that topic.

    1. My fave Hitchcock film is Rebecca. But The Birds is good too.

  9. Ha! For four decades I have wanted to spend some time back in high school. How is it we are so anxious to flee from that hollowed ground and yet afterward, we wish we could go back to it. Oh, they try to tell us. But do we listen? No.

    I do love #7-Paintings That Look at You No Matter Where You Stand
    Uh, when the family traveled over to Scotland, we visited a castle which had a bizarre painting of the ‘Lord of the Manor.’ Strange picture. It didn’t matter where you stood, his eyes would follow you across the room. Freaked me out! How can you tell? Cause I still remember it after 17 years. lol. 🙂

    1. I miss the groups from HS. Spring plays and the forensics team. So much fun stuff!

  10. Mathair and I are horror movie junkies so we cram as many as we can during this scary month. Halloween (the original), Friday the 13th, Scream, Nightmare on Elm Street… Pretty much anything done by Wes Craven or John Carpenter. Of course, not a Christmas or Halloween goes by that I don’t take the time to visit my favorite town and that would Halloween town governed by the great Pumpkin King, Jack Skellington. Not exactly the most gruesome of scary tales but my favorite Halloween/Christmas movie ever! And, adulting???… super stressful especially opening presents in front of people. My brother rips through all of them like the Tasmanian Devil; he’s eighteen. LOL I feel the same way about opening presents… and clowns…. and paintings… and adulting in general. And yet, being able to buy my own liquor is completely worth it. 😉

    1. Hahahaha. That last bit. Cheers! You should join our #ScreamingScreening!

  11. Yes! to the opening presents in front of people. I experience that every Christmas day with my sisters. We do Secret Santa.
    That clown photo gives me the creeps.

    1. My husband says he likes Christmas at my family’s house because it’s a free for all. We just shout our thank you’s over one another. LOL. Very low pressure.

  12. […] was pooooooooped after three nights of improv shows, and my parents were in town, so needless to say, I […]

Tell me a story...

