Call for Music Suggestions: The 2015 Phenomenal Woman Mix

IMG_6738Since 2007 I’ve made my ma and sis a Phenomenal Woman Mix CD at Christmas. It’s a collection of the best songs sung by women. In 2012, I expanded that to include a second CD called the Cafe’ Mix, which basically housed all my favorite tunes heard at coffee shops (which is where I hang out). This CD can have female or male singers on it.

Sure, in the age of ipods and wireless mini-speakers, a gift like a mix CD could be considered outdated, or worse…lame. But this remains one of their favorite gifts and one of my favorite giveaways of the year!

Because this is the part where you give me music suggestions!

And in turn, once it’s completed, I gift the cds to TWO lucky commenters who shared suggestions with me!

To get started, here’s a look at last year’s line-ups. And here’s a few I’m currently thinking of for this year.

Phenomenal Woman Mix

“Hello” by Adele

I don’t really feel this song needs explanation. It’s Adele’s new hit. It’s going on the cd.

“Alive” by Sia

I’m a Sia fan, especially of her music videos. This one did not disappoint.

“Lights and Camera” by Yuna

Yuna is an artist that has crept up the past three years, and I’m happy to add this tune to the mix.

Cafe’ Mix

“Empress” by Morningsiders

I’m loving the piano part in this song.

“Sun Hands” by Local Natives

The final verdict on this one is still out, but I do like it.

“Lost Cause” by Priscilla Ahn

This melody is haunting and beautiful.

****

Now, as Joan Jett says, hit me with your best shot!
What song recommendations do you have for me to add to the
Phenomenal Woman and Cafe’ Mixes? 

I can’t wait to listen! 

34 responses

  1. Gaby Moreno – anything of hers, really, but I love Ave Que Emigra. She’s a Guatemalan artist who writes and performs in English and Spanish. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VyIts80W_g

    1. Oooh this would be fun and different! Thanks Megan!

  2. Getting old school on you . . . Helen Reddy, I AM WOMAN. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gpu_PV3BTfI

    1. Nothin wrong about a power classic.

  3. I won your mix a couple of years back. It was great to get it in the post all the way from the USA. 🙂
    I love Hilary Woods’ “Flames”. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lvHyeTnt5k

    1. I don’t know her, I’ll have to check that out. I’m glad you enjoyed the mix!! Thanks for always sending me new tune ideas. 😊

  4. It’s not from 2015 but it’s AMAZING, “White Foxes” by Susanne Sundfor

    1. I think I know this one, but haven’t used it. So many songs, so little download space.

  5. I love this song by Cam–country artist (who also did a lovely live cover of Adele’s Hello)–Burning House.

    1. I like throwing a good cover song in the mix. Thank you Amy!

  6. When I first saw the link to this post in FB, my first thought was, “Adele – Hello. Duh.” So yeah, glad you already covered that one.

    Here’s my list:

    Renegades – X Ambassedors
    Ex’s & Oh’s – Elle King
    Cecelia & the Satellite – Andrew McMahon
    Stolen Dance – Milky Chance
    The Wolf or Believe – Mumford & sons
    Shut Up & Dance – Walk the Moon
    Riptide or The Fire & the Flood – Vance Joy
    Take Me to Church – Hozier

    They might not all fit the vibe you have going for your disks, but are some of my recent favorites.

    1. Elle King is my FAVE right now. I’m obsessed with her sound.

  7. I was going to mention Ex’s and Oh’s also. But this year has been weird for me music-wise: a lot of classics, some soundtrack stuff, book-themed inspiration. A lot of it wouldn’t fit your mixes. I really don’t have new music to suggest, but I’ll share my favorite downloads from this year anyway.

    Miranda Lambert recorded “Little Red Wagon” this year, but when I hunted down the original version from Audra Mae & the Almighty Sound, it immediately became the version I love:

    Before the weirdness of Sia, there was the weirdness of Björk. Looking for character inspiration, I came across “Army of Me” from her Greatest Hits and think the vibe is awesome:

    Among those gone-too-soon was Mama Cass of the Mamas and Papas. I adore this classic with her amazing voice, “Dream a Little Dream of Me”:

    Edina Menzel got her start in Wicked and recorded “Defying Gravity,” but I love this rock-ish version recorded by Kerry Ellis. I had no idea who was was, but apparently she was on The Voice or something:

    Can’t wait to see the final picks, Jess! Love your Ultimate Mixes.

    1. Miranda Lambert may make the cut this year. She was almost on last year’s with Ain’t My Mama’s Broken Heart.

  8. Oh – I LOVE that Yuna song! (Already tired of Adele, sorry). And, the Morningsiders tune is also great (I love the hand clapping, personally. That’s talent right there….) Just heard the Priscilla Ahn song yesterday on the radio – love it! I agree with some of Misty’s suggestions – I can never get tired of X Ambassadors, or Vance Joy or Hozier. Love Cecilia & the Satellite. And my brother-in-law just saw Elle in concert last week – LOVED her! I can’t remember, have I recommended Beth Orton before? I know “Stolen Car ” has been around for a while, but, man. Her voice.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJ35dnfYKrQ

    Or how about Feist, “My Moon My Man”?

    1. Ugh, he’s the second person I’ve heard got to hear Elle live. Sooooo jealous!!!

    1. I think Mark recommended them. I know I’ve checked them out. Will do so again!

      1. You can never go wrong with Fleet Foxes. Also check out “Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings” by Father John Misty (the Foxes’ drummer-turned-solo-artist).

  9. And then there’s Lord Huron. Oh, man – I took Billy to see them in concert this past summer. So, so amazing!

    1. Oops. This song made my cut, too!

      1. Mark, apparently you and I run in some very high quality music circles! LOL

        1. We are too cool for the room!

  10. Julia Holter – “Feel You”
    The Wild Reeds – “Where I’m Going”
    Phox – “Slow Moves”

    1. It’s actually “Slow Motion” by Phox, it would help if I get the song title right.
      While I’m at it I’ll add one more suggestion
      Courtney Barnett – “Avant Gardener”

    2. My brother and sister in law are obsessed with Phox! They just gave me their new cd!

  11. Probably my favorite blog post of yours every year! I love music and look forward to the annual suggestions. Here are mine. I’ll limit myself to 10 each. But that’s hard!

    For the Phenomenal Woman mix:

    “Depreston” – Courtney Barnett
    “Mark My Words” – Holly Miranda
    “Manhattan” – Cat Power
    “Feeling OK” – Best Coast
    “You Can’t Outrun ‘Em” – Jenny Lewis
    “Head” – Lydia Loveless
    “Things That Scare Me” – Neko Case
    “Compass” – Zola Jesus
    “Riptide” – DWNTWN (Vance Joy cover)
    “Oregon” – Sally Ford

    Cafe Mix:

    “Pyramid” – Au.Ra
    “Space Song” – Beach House
    “Rivers in Your Mouth” – Ben Howard
    “A Moment of Grace” – Boy and Bear
    “Joke” – Chastity Belt
    “Rows of Houses” – Dan Mangan
    “Sad Songs” – The Frames
    “History” – Holy Holy
    “Pretty Pimpin'” – Kurt Vile
    “Ends of the Earth” – Lord Huron

    1. There are so many things I love about this list. First, its length. Second, that there’s a song called Mark My Words. And third that it has Jenny Lewis. Love her album! Definitely picking one of her songs! Can’t wait to check out the others!

      1. Mark My Words was a happy coincidence, I swear!

  12. […] pressed record on CASSETTE TAPES when her favorite song came on. Now, I put them on CDs and you can win a copy by leaving me music suggestions on my […]

  13. […] you all so much for the many music suggestions for the phenomenal woman and cafe mix cds this season! You fantastic people gave me 58 songs to […]

Tell me a story...

