Overwhelmed? Try Out These Self Care Tips

It’s entirely possible I’ve taken too much on.

Well, I’m not admitting anything, I’m just saying it’s possible. 

I’ve been having a tough go of things at the day job, and in my attempt to focus my energy on the things that I love, I’ve said yes to a multitude of projects and commitments.

I now find myself busier than ever with a full-time job, part-time freelance assignments, rehearsals and show dates with an improv group, a once-a-week adult storytelling class, a twice-a-month writers critique group, and oh yah – I’m directing and producing a Listen to Your Mother show this spring and auditions are in less than a week!

You can understand why my main hobby right now is drinking coffee.

world's largest mug
Hobbying like a boss. 

My days off were out of the ordinary this weekend, so I tried to plot out some time to relax.

You know, in between 2 radio interviews, 2 improv shows, a six hour shift tabling for the health clinic I work at on VDay – One Billion Rising, and one of my writers group critique sessions. 

I did manage to spend Valentine’s Day Eve with my main squeeze, also known as He Who Says Weird Things While Sleeping. We stayed true to our tradition of watching a very un-romantic movie together. For example, past Valentine’s films have included Tremors and Silence of the Lambs. This year we watched The X Files (1998 movie). 

Anyway, enough about my crazy week, because I’m sure you’re all just as swamped with projects, commitments, running little people places, and whatnot as well.

Here’s a few of the things I managed to sneak in so I achieved some self care time. 

holding up a dozen books1. Audiobooks

Most of you know I’m a huge fan of audiobooks and it’s the only way I get so much reading done. I listen while I get ready for the morning, while driving in the car (even though I only have a 15 minute drive), and while I get ready for bed at night.

It is not unusual for my husband to find me sitting on our bathroom floor just listening to a good story. It’s my zen moment at the end of the day.

2. Take a bath. 

I know baths aren’t for everyone, but I sure love them. They are so relaxing to me, and I did manage to sneak one in. They are also a great time to listen to an audiobook!

3. Indulge in a guilty pleasure. 

For me that involved watching a few episodes of Felicity on DVD. I watched while I ate my lunch or folded laundry and enjoyed an old favorite show.

BTW, Felicity and Ben are broken up right now…again, and Noel is trying his very Noel best to move on, but it’s not going so well. Javier, on the other hand, is still my favorite. 

***

That may not seem like a lot, but in their own way, each gave me a little escape and some relaxing down time.

And I did just run across this gem of a blog post, and wanted to share it with you, my fellow busy bees.  23 Way to Treat Yo Self Without Buying or Eating Anything

How are you practicing self care this week, friends? 

 

 

26 responses

  1. I’ve been working hard this year to just focus on those things I know I can commit to. It’s not easy when so many things sound so interesting – but I knew I had to do it for my own sanity. I’ve been pondering getting audiobooks to listen to on my 45-minute-each-direction commute. I think it’d have to be something Mr. Muse and I are both interested in, however, since we ride together most days.

    1. I’ll pick up some audio books for Joe and I when we road trip. He’s not as in to them as I am, but we’ve listened to David Sedaris books, and other humor ones. I just finished Darkly Dreaming Dexter and I think he would’ve like that one since we’re both fans of the show.

      1. Good to know. Mr. Muse really likes Sci-Fi and Fantasy books, though he’ll read interesting investigative books from time to time as well as fiction. I’m sure I’ll be able to find something we both like.

        Road trips, however, have me reading books out loud while he drives (because I don’t get car sick when reading). It keeps us both entertained.

        1. We did that too! I read The Hobbit aloud to Joe while he drove and I did all the voices. He said that’s been his favorite “audiobook” so far. LOL

  2. I LOVE audiobooks. I get bored when I’m driving, so I have to have something to do.

    Thanks for the tips. Now, if I can only get all the cat and dog hair out of the tub….

    1. Yah I just gave ours a good cleaning after we had plumbing done to fix the drain.

  3. I listen to podcasts during my 18-minute commute, so I totally get where you’re coming from! Takes me forever to listen to a single episode of Risk, though.

    1. Did you/ do you listen to serial? I’ve heard good things about it.

  4. I love audio books for long road trips. I need to start using them more when I drive around locally. Other than reading, dark chocolate and wine are my favorite self-care items. (I know, not exactly health-conscious choices, but yummm)

    1. In moderation they are healthy! But I’m not counting, so you know, chow down and cheers!

  5. My favorite character was Professor Carnes, because I just love Jane Lynch so much! 🙂 ♡ ♡♡ ♡

    1. I don’t know that one. Will check it out!

  6. Mathair and I seem to be in the same boat, Jess. There’s barely time to breathe let alone cram in some “self-time”. Given I live on my own and Mathair has a house full of people, I demanded that she get out of the house yesterday so she could have some downtime to herself. I handed her the keys to the car and told her to do what ever she wanted for the next hour. I took care of dinner and cleaning and she came back an hour later looking much more relaxed. For me, it’s all about a quiet house, a glass of wine and really sloppy pj’s. lol

    1. That sounds delightful! Thanks for gifting her with down time. Wine and pj’s sound perfect.

  7. Fabulous, doll! Stay balanced! xoxo

    1. I’m trying! But of course on Tuesday I got a cold. 😦 That’s putting a damn on things. #DrinksAllTheTea

  8. Okay, now I’m overwhelmed and need to take a nap after reading your schedule Jess. lol. Wow, you have to set a time to catch your breath. I’m with you on the bath and…Felicity. The non-romantic film, not so much. But hey, two out of three ain’t bad. Have a great weekend girl. And get some rest!!! ((Hugs))

    1. Totally need some self care after a long week attending a conference, class and first day of auditions for Listen To Your Mother. I did sneak in 2 episodes of Felicity and hope to get in another bath. I’m currently indulging in Harry Potter on audiobook and Me Before You in paperback. I am loving that one. I’m not usually a romance reader but this one is hard to put down. Can’t wait to see the movie version. What are you reading now?

  9. Sleep, reading, chocolate, coffee are a few things I use to get by. Since I’m a mom and working part time, I tend to use my quiet time as best as I can. My quiet time varies. Some days it’s reading, watching tv, trying to tackle creative ideas/projects or just go to sleep. Life is hectic but one has to get some mellow time in.

    PS: Tremors is a great flick! I loved that movie.

    1. I love your list of self care activities. And I’d add making new Twitter friends through celebrity themed movie marathons! 😉

  10. I loved reading this. I felt like I had so little to do when compared with your list. That’s all I had to read and I felt better. So, thank you. When I’m overwhelmed I go out by myself. Just say to my husband, I’m off to see a movie on my own. Or go for a coffee for a little while. He is very understanding of ‘me’ time. Your list did give me a little chuckle.

    1. I love coffee shops for some me time too, or a date idea. Probably because caffeine is my good friend. LOL

  11. A great stress buster: Take a walk with Cody, my black Lab. Think it’s the combination of “pacing” — always calming for me, “noticing” — watching what grabs Cody’s attention and “absorbing” — the natural beauty around me. Thanks for the reminder to take care of myself!

    1. Yes! Nature has amazing therapeutic power. I’ve been such a wuss this winter and hope to get out more with spring on the way.

  12. […] I’ve been busy working on projects. Lots of projects! […]

Tell me a story...

