Mom? Dad? I’m a Businesswoman.

I’m pretty sure they thought I was going to say “pregnant”. 

I called them on the phone a week ago to announce I had very big news. There was a period of silence, dare I call it a “pregnant pause,” when I blurted out the words “I’m a businesswoman!” 

IMG_7899Two weeks ago I made a very bold life-changing decision. I gave my notice to the nonprofit agency I have worked at for almost three years. Undergoing numerous management changes, the transition process for me and my role was anything but smooth. A place which had once made my heart full with its mission, seemed to be doing the opposite now. So I knew it was time to step out.

I had been job hunting for a few months. Putting my feelers out there, networking, and looking for ways to grow my skillset. And as life has a way of doing, everything changed all at once.

I accepted a part-time position with an online family travel publication (more to come on that later!) Then, I set up my own small business to handle my freelance writing, storytelling, and production of Listen to Your Mother: La Crosse. Which is pretty awesome because now Witkins Productions, LLC is a thing.

And finally, I was called up one day to discuss a full-time gig with the local arts and culture magazine I had been freelancing for since last September. I was honored, did my homework and met with the owner/editor, and happily accepted. So today is my first day as Digital Media Manager & Brand Ambassador for SEVEN magazine.

So no, I’m not pregnant. In fact, I’m not trying to be at this time. (Though that’s none of your beeswax.) I’m simply far too busy being a badass businesswoman and building up my Fempire.

Thanks and endless gratitude to all those who championed for me, sent me opportunities, became references, became sponsors, became allies, answered questions, and just sent encouragement my way. You are beautiful people, and y’all have made my days bright again.

Thank you,
Jess

 

26 responses

  1. Congratulations, you fabulous, inspiring, amazing woman! :-*

  2. Congratulations, roomie! I wish you all good things. xo

  3. Congrats!! I’m so excited for you. Best of luck on your new adventure!

  4. Welcome to the world of self employment! Best job in the world… you get to CHOOSE which 18 hours a day you work! (Seriously, though… working for yourself is awesome.)

  5. Congratulations! That’s how you live your dream! You’ll rock this!

  6. Congratulations, Jess!!

  7. I love this!! Congratulations!!

  8. What sparkly news! Congrats, Jess!

  9. Way to go, Jess! Although, I can kind of relate to your parents’ eager anticipation of that ‘other’ news …
    You’ve always been original, enterprising, and smart and it’s great fun to follow along on your journey. Your Empire is indeed building! May the Force be with you! Oh … wait … I think it already is!

  10. That. Is. AWESOME!!! So proud of you. Big virtual hugs!!!

    But…..are you SURE you’re not pregnant? 😉

  11. Fantastic news!! Working for a magazine was always one of my dream jobs. I interviewed for a position with one years ago, but the owner/editor was straight-up psychotic. Crisis averted – whew! Congratulations on all your good news. Go get ’em, tigress!

  12. Congratulations! You go girl! Woo hoo! Mover and a shaker! Ow!

    🙂

  13. Congratulations! That is so awesome! 🙂

  14. Congratulations! It’s always a delight to hear about someone making their writing a success!

  15. I’m so freaking proud of you! Go, Jess! Cheering for you all the way.

  16. Yay!! Go, girl. So proud and happy for you, Jess. You deserve the best and Mathair and I know you’ll be a great success. ❤

    1. You two are phenomenal champions!

  17. Congrats!! Gave a discouraged new grad some hope, thank you 😊

    1. New grad? Girl, don’t worry so hard. I wish someone had told me how your 20’s are for making messes and growing into yourself. Call it a stamp in the passport and have a great journey!

      1. Doing my best to take a breath! Haven’t even gotten calls back, but trying to have faith that its all going to happen eventually

        1. Totally been there. Keep breathing. And spend free time pursuing what you love. Who know? Your roads could meet!

Tell me a story...

