Page 56, Sentence 5

It’s National Book Week!  Time to celebrate, like this woman!

See, she knows how to party!  Grab the closest book to you, go to page 56, sentence 5, and copy it into my comments.  Paste these instructions in your own blog and see how many book lines you can read.  Don’t give away the book unless someone asks though!  It’s more fun to see all the different quotes and guess where they came from.  Here’s my book quote:

“Let’s waddle home, kids,” Dad would say.

Happy reading and writing during National Book Week!  Quick it’s almost over, participate now!

13 responses

  1. “The Germans thought they was improving things,” I said.
    Armageddon In Retrospect: Kurt Vonnegut

  2. I’ve seen this meme for about a year now, and I’ve learned from it. What I’ve learned is that I really should clean up around here. I’ve had the very same nearby book this whole time, and I have memorized the line. “Harvey himself proposed the syndication, but he implied that greater circulation was his only concern, not how much money is made.” It’s from Mark Twain’s autobiography. But it sort of speaks to blogging.

    1. Well you get props for fessing up to it! lol.

  3. “That he no longer was an object of amusement he received with equanimity, but that he now seemed to rank among the furniture nettled his pride.”

  4. “She lifts the freshly pressed yellow sari from the bed, and wraps it proficiently around her body until the embroidered pink border is aligned perfectly on her left shoulder.”

    1. Ooooh, beautiful. What are you reading?

      1. “Secret Daughter” by Shilpi Somaya Gowda…it’s our next Book Club read. Good, so far!

        Wendy

  5. “Captain Flume was obsessed with the idea that Chief White Halfoat would tiptoe up to his cot one night when he was sound asleep and slit his throat open for him from ear to ear.”

    Ooh…cool line. From the amazing Catch-22. Read it last year and loved it.

  6. Though they’d been aboard less than two days, all the low-lifes, ne’er-do-wells and slobs in general had somehow found each other, kindred spirits, and were sitting around in noisy, moronic pockets having drinking competitions.

  7. What a fun idea! Then I start looking through my piles of books and can’t find anything that is fiction! I am such a nonfiction guy. Well, textbooks are boring but how about The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Zombies?
    “…was told to him when Victor Frankenstein was a passenger on his vessel…”
    Cool idea.

    1. hey nonfiction books totally count!

  8. “Dear Maddy. You are so innocent. You believe anything anyone tells you. Next thing you’ll tell me the devil is beside me.”—Alice Hoffman, The Third Angel

    So that’s more than sentence 5, but I felt like I needed to post the whole thing.

    Great post!

    1. Cute lines. Or condescending, I have no context to put them in to be sure. lol.

Tell me a story...

