Shake Your Groove Thing: 2020 Playlists Revealed

Woman with headphones on dancing to music

With over 50 song recommendations shared by you through social media, I had a lot of listening to do. I was introduced to some great new bands and awesome jams. Like the rest of you, I was happy to see 2020 come to a close. Even if 2021 isn’t starting out too differently, it’s nice to at least dance to something new in your pj’s.

With so many suggestions across music styles and genres, it’s always hard to choose. Not every song can make the list. But here are the 2020 playlists to send y’all out in style.

Phenomenal Woman Mix

  1. Always Alright ~ Alabama Shakes

2. Higher ~ Bishop Briggs

3. Kids Gloves ~ Serena Ryder

4. Every Heartbeat ~ Grace Potter

5. Pastime ~ Samantha Crain

6. Love Me Wild ~ Hannah Blaylock

7. Family Tree ~ Caylee Hammack

8. No Roots ~ Alice Merton

9. A Beautiful Noise ~ Alicia Keys & Brandi Carlile

10. Ride Out in the Country ~ Yola

11. Underdog ~ Alicia Keys

12. Remind Me ~ Emily King

13. Please Mr Jailer ~ Nancy and Beth

14. So Far Away ~ Mary Lambert

15. The Let Go ~ Elle King

16. You are Unstoppable ~ Conchita Wurst

17. Young and In Love ~ Ingrid Michaelson

18. Invisible ~ Zara Larsson

Cafe Mix

  1. If the World was Ending ~ JP Saxe & Julia Michaels

2. Slow Dance ~ John Legend

3. Every Now and Then ~ Noisettes

4. Home Again ~ Michael Kiwanuka

5. Too Young to Burn ~ Sonny and the Sunsets

6. Can’t Hold Me ~ Emily King

7. May I Have this Dance? ~ Francis and the Lights

8. Fly Before You Fall ~ Cynthia Erivo

9. It’ll All Work Out ~ Phoebe Bridgers

10. Send the Sun ~ Nikki Lane

11. Texas Rose ~ Ray Remington

12. The Age of Worry ~ Madison Cunningham

13. Skin ~ Rag’n’Bone Man

14. Starry Starry Night ~ Lianne La Havas

15. Where Rainbows Never Die ~ The SteelDrivers

16. Colors ~ Black Pumas

17. Bridges ~ JOHNNYSWIM

There you have it. The mixes that made me feel better about my space in the world. I hope they bring some light to you as well.

And as a thank you, the two lucky winners their own copies of the mixes are Ruth Hage and Jessica Lea! Congratulations, ladies, and thank you for sharing your suggestions with me. Dance on!

6 responses

  1. Well, crap. I somehow missed your last post calling for submissions. Too bad…I always enjoy sharing music. Looks like your readers didn’t let you down, though. Love that SteelDrivers song, btw. Happy 2021, Jess!

    1. Yah they were new to me; I liked that one too. Feel free to share some faves anyway! We’re always looking for new tunes. Happy new year!

  2. Love me some new music!! Thank you for gathering these together! Happy 2021! xo

    1. Hope you find some new tunes you love! I really love the Emily King songs. Happy new year to you and Lina!!

  3. Happy New Year, Jess. I was doing some January tidying today and came across your lovely card and 3 compilation CDs from some year back. If I didn’t say it back then, thank you for sending them all the way across the pond to me. The CDs will be played on car journeys over the coming months.

    1. That is so lovely to hear, Emma! You are most welcome. Thank YOU for sharing song recommendations with me. Safe travels to you! Hope you sing along!

Tell me a story...