Mixtape Madness: Share Your Song Suggestions

It’s that time again.

Despite everything going on in the world, some things remain. The annual blog share of song suggestions for an old school mixtape gift is one of them.

Mixtape

Since 2004 I’ve made my mom and sister two mixtapes for Christmas, a Phenomenal Woman Mix featuring all female artists (power ballads and dance worthy, feel good tunes) and a Cafe Mix featuring easy listening jams.

For years I’ve asked for your help. Your song suggestions help me find the most diverse mix of artists and songs, as well as some truly awesome music videos, albums, and songs to play on repeat.

Why might this be the most fun year to collab on a mixtape? I don’t about y’all, but music has been one of the biggest mood lifters for me during this pandemic. Life is stressful. Why not dance some of it out, after all no one is watching if you’re really isolating. *thumbs up*

So I hope you’ll comment below and share with me your favorite song suggestions. Who are the artists you’ve discovered this year? What songs are you playing on repeat right now? What’s your fave song ever? The tune that no matter where you are when you hear it, you have to dance?

Tell me your suggestions for the 2020 Phenomenal Women and Cafe Mixes. As a bonus, I’ll draw TWO LUCKY WINNERS from everyone who comments who will win a copy of the mix cd’s for themselves. Winners and playlists announced in January.

To get started, here are a few songs that made the 2019 lists.

Phenomenal Woman Mix

Call on Me ~ Starley

Stay High ~ Brittany Howard

The Storm ~ ZZ Ward

Came Here for Love ~ Sigala & Ella Eyre

Cafe Mix

My Own Fault ~ Manny Walters

The Weary Kind ~ Ryan Bingham

Lost in the Light ~ Bahamas

Your Somebody Else ~ Flora Cash

Send in those song suggestions! Put on a playlist, share your thumbs up’s with me. Or, for more inspiration, here’s the full 2019 and 2018 lists.

Thank you for your suggestions. Thank you for your good energy. Thank you for dancing along with me and helping spread a little joy, which coincidentally, is my mama’s name. We can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Tell me a story...