Turn Up the Volume: New Playlists Revealed

vinyl-2722234_1280A new year brings with it new playlists! With over 70 recommendations from you all, these are some of my favorite mix tape songs yet!

While not every song shared can make it onto the mix lists, I enjoyed checking out all the artists and songs you suggested, and I downloaded many to my own library for further listening.

Here are the songs that made it on the 2018 Phenomenal Woman and Cafe Mixes! 

Phenomenal Woman Mix

1. Falling Water ~ Maggie Rogers

2. Pegasi ~ Jesca Hoop

3. Good Thing Gone ~ Elle King

4. Shine On ~ May Erlewine

5. Hearts Beat Loud ~ Keegan DeWitt & Kiersey Clemons

6. Only Love Can Hurt Like This ~ Paloma Faith

7. Don’t Wait ~ Maipei

8. Great One ~ Jessie Reyez

9. Light On ~ Maggie Rogers

10. Dream ~ Bishop Briggs

11. Armor ~ Sara Bareilles

12. Always Remember Us This Way ~ Lady Gaga

13. She’s Got You ~ Rhiannon Giddens

14. Best Years of My Life ~ Pistol Annies

15. Space Cowboy ~ Kasey Musgraves

16. Boy Band Hero ~ Emily Kinney

17. Shadow on the Wall ~ Ruby Amanfu

18. Something American ~ Jade Bird

19. Yours ~ Ella Henderson

20. Velodrome ~ Dessa

 

Cafe Mix

1. Fine ~ Noah Kahan

2. Blue Ridge Mountains ~ Larkin Poe

3. Two Blue Eyes ~ Tall Heights

4. Famous ~ Serena Ryder

5. Heart of Somebody ~ Caroline Spence

6. Kings & Queens ~ Mat Kearney 

7. Slow Burn ~ Kasey Musgraves

8. Us ~ James Bay

9. Hurt Somebody ~ Noah Kahan & Julia Michaels

10. Roll the Bones ~ Shakey Graves

11. Say Love ~ James TW

12. Beyond ~ Leon Bridges

13. If I Say ~ Mumford & Sons

14. Leave a Light On ~ Humbird

15. Telluride ~ The Lone Bellow

16. Stranger ~ Sawyer Fredericks

17. The Gold ~ Manchester Orchestra

18. Everytime I Hear That Song ~ Brandi Carlile

19. Unraveling ~ Frances Cone

20. Your Water ~ Parker Millsap & Sarah Jarosz

***

Now, without further ado, the winners of the mix tapes themselves, and with great gratitude for their suggestions as I used some from each of them, the 2018 mix tape collections go to Darla from She’s a Maineiac and Mark from Swinged Cat

Until next time, keep dancing, friends!
And feel free to share more of your favorite songs below
as the search for this year’s fave tunes begins NOW! 

6 responses

  1. Woo-hoo! Thanks, Jess. I always look forward to these playlists, as you well know. I like to consider myself pretty knowledgeable about music, so I’m always surprised by just how many new discoveries I find here.

    Let me know if you need my new address.

    1. Congratulations to a long time reader and song suggester! I used a couple of your picks on the cafe mix. Hoping you and Tara find some more cool ones!

  2. Yay!! I can’t wait to listen to some new tunes. Thank you!

    1. Thank YOU for your suggestions! I love that Leon Bridges song.

  3. […] the full 2018 playlist, click here. Also, 2017 was a great songlist, too, if I do say so […]

  4. […] share your thumbs up’s with me. Or, for more inspiration, here’s the full 2019 and 2018 […]

Tell me a story...