Breaking a Taboo

Hello friends!  It’s another round of blog-hopping bliss with the Life List Club!  I’m blogging at the marvelous Marcia Richard’s blog and I’m talking about Boot Camp-the Life List kind.  And I’m pleased to welcome a brand new contributor to the Life List Club, guest posting here FIRST on the Happiness Project.  Give it up for David N. Walker, live in Wisconsin from the Texas range!  Ok, maybe not live, but he’s HERE!  Be sure to say hello to the other Life Listers by visiting their blogs using the Life List Club sidebar, or join the twitter party at #LifeListClub.

David N. Walker

David N. Walker is a Christian father and grandfather and a grounded pilot. He cofounded Warrior Writers Boot Camp with Kristen Lamb. You can read more of his posts at http://davwalk.wordpress.com or tweet him at @davidnwalkertx.

Breaking a Taboo

Women can do anything they want. Men have to be more careful. They must be macho at all times. There are certain things we men just don’t do.

For instance, women carry purses, but men can’t do that. Well, okay. I guess some men do. Maybe that wasn’t a good example.

Well, women wear skirts. Men certainly can’t do that. Oops. Guess I’d better not tell anyone in Scotland. They might think I was belittling their traditions.

All right, women wear heels. That’s something men absolutely don’t do. Well, except for Western boots. Or lifts. Or . . .

Hmmm . . .

Okay, women wear makeup. No man would ever do that. What? They do? Are you sure? Oh, well, yeah, of course actors do. Even John Wayne and Sylvester Stallone wore makeup to look right under the lights and cameras. I’m talking about normal men. Really? Are you sure some men do?

Well, maybe my dirty little secret isn’t so earth-shaking after all. I wasn’t going to admit it to anyone, but maybe it’s okay.

You see, last spring my wife and I spent several days with two other couples in a condominium on South Padre Island. One morning the girls left us to go get pedicures. I mean, how ridiculous is that? Spending money just so you don’t have to clip your own toenails.

When they came back they couldn’t quit talking about how good it felt. You’d have thought they’d been to visit male prostitutes or something the way they carried on.

We left to return home the next day, and I thought about all the things they’d said about their pedicures. And I had plenty of time to think on the trip back to Fort Worth. How many of you can take a 618 mile drive, one way, without even leaving your state?

By the time I got home I’d made up my mind I was going to try it. I not only thought about the pleasure the ladies said they got from their pedicures—I thought it might solve a problem I’ve been having in recent years. My arms have been shrinking. I used to be able to sit in a chair and reach my toes with ease. Nowadays I can barely see them.

Oops. Shouldn’t have said that. Now your going to think it has something to do with something growing around my middle instead of my shrinking arms. Well, whatever. Point is, if some pedicurist took over the chore of taking care of my toenails, I wouldn’t have to struggle with that.

When I mentioned it to my wife, I didn’t know whether she’d laugh or file for a divorce or what. Actually, she just said she thought it was a good idea and that I should go for it.

The following morning I stole my way into Wal-Mart. Well, I guess I sorta sidled. Had to keep an eye out to be sure no one I knew was watching when I ducked into the salon. Whew! Made it.

The young lady kept a straight face when I told her I wanted a pedicure. Maybe I wasn’t the first guy in history to do this.

She led me over to this nice, comfortable chair, had me put my feet into this miniature hot tub, and began filling it with warm water. Then she pressed a button that started something in the chair back massaging my back.

Wow. Maybe the girls were right. Maybe there really was something to this.

She spent the next 30 or 40 minutes trimming my toenails, filing them, buffing them, scraping my perennially cracked heels, rubbing unfathomably strange lotions on my feet and lower legs. Did she really have to stop sometime? Couldn’t we just spend the day doing this?

That first time hooked me. I’ve been back four times since then. The first girl did it better than the other two I’ve tried, so I now have her name and a phone number to call for an appointment when I’m ready for my monthly pedicure.

Okay. You macho guys laugh. You don’t have to try this if you don’t want to learn. Just don’t get in my way when I head over there for mine.

What do you think?  Have you ever tried something that’s taboo and found you liked it?  What are the benefits of breaking taboos?  Do you see any disadvantages?  

48 responses

  1. I think it’s great, men should be pampered too but obviously girls take priority 🙂

    1. Well, of course girls take priority. I wouldn’t even have known about this if I hadn’t been listening to girls.

  2. I love it! David, you rock. You not only got a pedicure, but you wrote about it. Wow. What a guy. It takes a real man to do that.

    I get pedicures two or three times a year. It totally freaked me out the first time a man worked on my feet instead of a woman. I’ve been married a long time to start sharing my feet with anyone else of the male gender, even in a professional setting. That felt like breaking a taboo to me. But he was awesome. He clearly liked feet and had a much stronger hand for the foot massage portion of the indulgence. Now, I’m totally open to having “the guy” in the shop work on my feet.

    Love this blog, Dave!

    1. Thanks, Piper. I love your blogs so much, it’s always a real pleasure to hear a comment from you.

  3. […] David Walker breaks a taboo and confesses in a very cute way on Jess Witkin’s blog. What a brave man! Breaking a Taboo […]

  4. I love this! I’d love to see my boyfriend get a pedicure. After all, I break in on his domain and relieve my stress by screaming at the TV over football games for the entire NFL season. He should follow your lead and “dip his toes” into our world :). In all seriousness, I so enjoy your writing style, David, and look forward to many more LLC posts from you!

    1. Thanks for the kudos. In case I never get a novel published, it’s nice to hear people like my blogging.

    2. Hahaha, I can’t imagine Lee getting a pedicure. Joe probably wouldn’t, and his feet are gross. LOL.

      1. They should try it. Thanks again for hosting me, Jess.

  5. Breaking taboos….I am just old enough and from a rural enough area to remember when tattoos were taboo. I have a few and love them. As common as they are, I’m always surprised at people (who I don’t know) who make nasty remarks.

    Good for you for getting a pedicure. A little luxury never hurt anybody. 😀

    1. Thanks, Catie. You may not like some of the taboos, but I love rural areas and values.

      1. This might surprise you, but I do too. I really miss living in a rural area. I don’t miss the paycheck-to-paycheck struggle to survive. However, I miss stuff like neighbors who minded their own business, peace and quiet, and privacy.

    2. I love tattoos too! Great taboo. I have a few. I think in my next life I’ll go all out and get sleeves!

      1. The tattoo that goes around my upper left thigh was meant to start a sleeve. Then, I just got lazy. You know how oozy and nasty tattoos are for a few days. Then they’re on the back of your leg, they’re worse! LOL Maybe someday I’ll still get my leg sleeve. 😀

        1. I hope you do! I love tattoos!

  6. I love this!! My husband needs to get on board so he can see what all the fuss is about 🙂 As far as taboo things go…. I guess I play my life safe becasue I can’t think of a thing. Great post!

    1. Hmm, maybe it’ll be a trait of one of your book characters? Totally taboo.

  7. Funny post, david. And kudos to you for breaking taboos! That’s what creates growth and open-mindedness. Felt good, didn’t it? We women know what’s good! Again, welcome aboard!

  8. Thanks, Marcia. And thanks to you and Jess for leeting me join LLC.

    1. But of course!! So happy to have you blogging here with us today!

  9. Great post! 🙂 You go, David! (And um, maybe I shouldn’t tell you this, but I’ve only had one pedicure in my life, so you’ve got me beat. 🙂 )

    1. You know what Jami, I think I’ve only had one too. I’ve had a couple manicures and massages, but just one pedicure. This totally made me want another one!

      1. You both need to make appointments now.

  10. Too funny. My husband will appreciate this post. He enjoys wearing a kilt and never hesitates to carry my handbag (even the purple crocodile one) but he’s been balking at a pedicure even though I’ve insisted he’d love the sensation. This might get him through the door!

    1. Sounds like it would be right up his ally!

    2. Hope he reads it and calls for an appointment, Lesann.

  11. Okay, David, kudos to you for getting a pedicure. Now, what about a manicure? Believe me, they are way cool as well. Have you ever had a facial? That’s ecstasy too. You go, dude. Onward to “breaking” the next taboo.
    Patti

    1. Thanks for the support, Patti. Used to get manicures years ago, but they didn’t give the wonderful feeling of a pedicure.

  12. Great post! It’s been too long since I’ve had pedicure. It might be time to make an appt.

    1. Call now, Sonia. It’s time.

  13. Awesome post, David!! You sound like my husband. I once made us a romantic massage appt and he was very concerned about getting by a dude. His sister does pedis and when she went to school for it, she had to do a male pedi and made him. He hasn’t had one since!!

    1. LOL. Too cute. I’m with you, I’d love to do a couples massage, but I don’t think he’d feel comfortable. it’s totally one of my favorite relaxing things.

    2. Maybe his experience was sorta like kissing your sister. Not exactly the same thrill as other kissing.

  14. I WISH my husband would get a pedicure! Bravo to you for breaking that taboo 😉

    1. Tell him it doesn’t hurt a bit. No downside. It’s all good.

  15. This is a great story! Good for you for breaking a taboo. Honestly, I think it’s harder for men to break cultural taboos in today’s society. The reaction is more harsh and shaming. I recently got a manicure for the first time and it was the most awkward experience of my life! I definitely have not been back.

    1. Call today for an appointment, Sara. Don’t let awkward get in the way of pampering yourself. But, as I told Patti, a manicure doesn’t compare with a pedicure for making you feel good.

  16. As a stand-up trainer, I wouldn’t have made it these 15 years without pedicures! I have my gal, “Dr. Lori,” who keeps me from foot surgery by handling any ingrown nails. Plus, she puts flowers on my big toenails. You’ll have to let us know if you so THAT. 🙂

    I break the girl / guy taboo with car chase movies. I’d much rather watch Die Hard or a Matrix kind of film than a chick flick. It cracks my husband up.

    1. What a fun pedicure? Have you tried that new crackle polish? I’ve seen people at work with it and it looks cool.

      I like a variety of movies so I get that about being excited for an action movie over the chick flick at times. My picks are Jurassic Park, Twister, Grindhouse, or Hellboy. Of course, I also adore watching Jane Austen films. 😀

    2. Sorry, Jenny. No toenail flowers – or other polish either. As for movies, I pretty much ignore them if they were made since John Wayne died. Wait, I loved, loved Steel Magnolias. Is that a chick flick? Kristen and I use it all the time to illustrate points at WWBC.

  17. Great post, David. Pedicures are fabulous. I have no problem paying someone to touch my feet. But facials are delicious. Except for the lecture I get after about my (lack of) skin care.

    Happy weekend!

    1. Thanks, Leanne, but as much as I enjoy the pedicures, I’m afraid people will just have to deal with my face as it is.

  18. LOL. David, you are a man after my own heart and I don’t feel so embarrassed after what I revealed in my last blog post!

    I’ve caught my hubby using my face tanning moisturiser on numerous occassions but that’s about it. He often asks if I will cut his toe nails, but no amount of money will tempt me into that territory. I’ve written some gruesome scenes in my time, but his feet are just too much for my mind to handle. 😀

    So glad I read this post. I absolutely loved it! xxxx

    1. Oh man, I would never cut my guy’s toenails! I don’t blame you, that is scarier than horror movies.

      So glad you stopped over, Donna!

    2. I’ve never been tempted to cut anyone else’s toenails, either. I have to get a podiatrist to do my 95 year-old mother’s toenails. Ugh.

  19. Hmmm… Good question. I don’t think so but I’m open to it. After all, breaking a rule or two allows us to have fun.

    1. Go for it, Marilag. Don’t sneak in like I did the first time. Just go do it.

Tell me a story...

