And the Oscar for Best Party Goes To…

Oscar StatueWelcome Friends! 

I had a fabulous time watching the Academy Awards last night!  How many of you did the same?  I loved popping in on Facebook and Twitter to see what everyone was thinking.

There was some ranting going ON!

But today it’s all about who stole the show with their looks, what wins were most shocking, and at my place, the FOOD!  😀

Let’s Start the Show!

First things first, Guests, please load up your plates with this year’s Oscar treats!  Food included:

  • Chilled Green Beans with Lemon and Sea Salt
  • Bacon and Blue Cheese Bruschetta
  • Crab Nachos
  • Stuffed Mushrooms
  • Sunflower Crackers with Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
  • Spinach Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette
  • Potatoes with Lavender
  • Lettuce Wraps with Peanut Sauce
  • Hot Ham and Cheese Sliders with Mustard and Poppyseed
  • Aloo Mater with Rice

Dinner is Served

AND SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! 

There’s still our annual “Oscar-served” pudding parfaits with strawberries, and Lemon Curd Cake with Raspberry Sauce!

Time to Talk Wardrobe!

What were some of your favorite looks this year?  I do wish there had been more color on the Red Carpet this year, but everyone truly looked STUNNING!  There wasn’t a single dress I disliked.  The ladies who really nailed it though, I think are:

Best Actress Winner, Jennifer Lawrence

She looked amazing and was so charming on the Red Carpet!  She looked young, but glamorous and very natural with her make up!  I’m thrilled for her!  22 years old, her second nomination, and her first win!  She’s also been a phenomenal spokesperson for people with mental illnesses since her shooting of Silver Linings Playbook.

Nicole Kidman

Keith Urban and Nicole Kidman

Possibly my favorite dress of them all, I thought Nicole Kidman looked killer!  Presenting this year, I thought she had the whole package – a well fitted, gorgeous gown, romantic updo, minimal jewelry but all around great look!!!

Kerry Washington

I said I loved color, and Kerry Washington’s dress was so elegant and beautiful for spring on the Red Carpet!  Her jeweled bodice looked great on her, and I loved the soft, smooth skirt and train of her dress in that bubblegum pink!

Best Actress Nominee, Jessica Chastain

I caught Jessica’s pre-show interview and she picked this dress because it reminded her of Old Hollywood – Marilyn Monroe, and I couldn’t agree more.  Critics raved for her look and how the flesh tone dress is stunning on her pale skin with the pops of red from her hair and lips.  You know this redhead was a fan!  Plus, she took her grandmother as her date, y’all!  So cute!

Charlize Theron

Presenting with Dustin Hoffman, Ms. Theron looked amazing in her chic white gown and I loved the short hair with it!  And did you guys catch her dance number with Channing Tatum??!!  She reminded me of Julie Andrews in Sound of Music!

And the Oscar Goes To…

Were you pleased with the Oscar wins this year?  Here’s a recap of the big ones:

Best Picture:  Argo

Best Director:  Ang Lee, Life of Pi

Best Actor:  Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln

Best Actress:  Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Actor:  Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained

Best Supporting Actress:  Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables

Best Original Screenplay:  Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained

I was overall VERY pleased with the variety of films recognized this year.  I had expected a sweep of either Les Mis or Lincoln, and it wasn’t the case at all!  Almost all of the 9 nominated films for Best Picture won in some of the categories.  Amour won Best Foreign Film, Zero Dark Thirty won Best Sound Editing; the only film not to receive an Oscar but was nominated for many was Beasts of the Southern Wild.  I had high hopes it would take the Best Adapted Screenplay award, but that went to Argo.  I’m sure we’ll hear more from the cast and crew of this film in the years to come!

May I present your Oscar?

May I present your Oscar?

And I have to announce the winner of my Red Carpet Giveaway is…

*opens envelope*
Congrats to Patricia, and to all of you who entered my Oscar Prediction contest, it was a very close race!  Patricia chose 5 out of 6 nominations correctly!!!  You can make your acceptance speech in the comments section! 😉

Memory Making Moments

There were a few call out performances at the Oscars this year, including its theme of Music in the Movies!  There were stellar performances from Barbara Streisand during the In Memoriam portion, as well as the ENTIRE cast of Les Miserable joining together on stage for a Les Mis medley!

My favorites were of course – Adele! Taking home the Oscar for Best Original Song, Skyfall, from the James Bond film, Skyfall, she was awesome!  And it seemed so fitting with the Academy also recognizing 50 years of Bond movies!

I also loved the performance of my favorite Bond song, Goldfinger, by Dame Shirley Bassey!  This video shows the awesome montage of Bond films they made followed by Bassey’s performance.  Sing it, sista!

By the by, Joe took a shot of me pre-party start when I wasn’t expecting it, and now we’re calling it my Bond girl shot.  What do you think?  I believe my Bond girl name would be…Cinema!  But who will my James Bond be?!

Bond girl photo

Just For Fun

What would your Oscar face look like if you just found out you won?

(My friend, Cat, and I – AKA the Sequin Sisters – share some examples!)

Oh my God, I won!!!

Oh my God, I won!!!

We call this Screams of Success vs. Tears of Joy

We call this Screams of Success vs. Tears of Joy

Well, you win all the pudding parfait you can eat!

Happy Oscars Everyone!

Oscar Party

 

26 responses

  1. I saw the Bond Girl shot on Facebook – too cute!!

    1. I guess my weapon of choice is the dishcloth! LOL

  2. You both look amazing, and I love how into the whole ceremony you get! As for me…I was in the midst of doing my taxes and actually *forgot* the Oscars were on. First time that’s ever happened. But I’m glad to hear that Argo won best picture and Daniel Day-Lewis nabbed Best Actor. And…go, J-Lawrence! Katniss rocks!

    1. She’s so dang likeable, isn’t she? I love Jennifer Lawrence. Very humble and excited. Her acceptance speech an the follow up interviews she did are awesome. I can’t wait for SLP to come out on DVD, I’m buying it!

  3. Hi Jess! Loved your “Bond” look! The photos of the food were terrific, too!

    I agree – Nicole Kidman’s dress was absolutely stunning!

    1. Thanks Dorie! Had a blast, and picked up some great recipes ideas for book club!

  4. Jess, you are so stinking cute all dressed up! I watched a bit of the Oscars last night. I have to say Seth McFarlane’s humor was not my cup of tea. His sexist, racist, anti-semetic humor was a bit uncomfortable for me. That said, I still enjoyed listening to Adele and Barbara Streisand. And, like you, I was pleased to see a variety of winners!

    1. I agree, this was one of the most widely spread Oscar ceremonies. Exciting I think for all the casts and crews to be recognized so.

      I debated whether to comment on Seth McFarlane’s humor or not and I chose not. I am a big fan of Family Guy, so I know his humor style. And the Academy’s goal was to gain a younger audience, and more males, so they went with the guy who’s popular in that genre. Not all his jokes were my fave, but overall I did like it. The sock puppet sketch of Flight was my fave.

  5. You look awesome! Gotta love the photo of you at the sink though. Way cool. 🙂

    1. Who knew washing dishes could look so fierce?

  6. Don’t you girls look snazee! Gorgeous! Wonderful recap Jess. Thank you!

    1. Thank you Karen! I had a blast hosting the party! I wish all the WANAs could come!

  7. Looks like you had a great party! I hate to admit that I didn’t even know the Oscars were on until almost the end. You look fabulous as a Bond Girl!

    1. Lol. That was a total fluke, but it ended up being a good shot. I’ll take it!

  8. Love the Oscar Winners faces! Looks like a lot of fun 🙂

    1. Thanks Lindsay! We had a blast!

  9. You look fabulous is that swanky dress, girlfriend! How did Hugh Jackman keep his hands off you?

    I cracked up when I read “There was some ranting going ON!” I immediately thought, “Yeah, Jess, from you, about Anne Hathaway taking that little statue.” LOL. Seriously, though, it’s funny to watch people when their pick doesn’t win the Oscars; they yell at the TV like it’s a bad referee call in the Super Bowl. “Hey, are you blind?! Can’t you see that this one over here should get it? This is rigged!”

    I liked Kristin Chenoweth’s dress. I always think Queen Latifah looks classy at these events. And Bradley Cooper bringing his mom to the Oscars should have resulted in twelve Oscars thrown his direction, in my opinion. But alas, it was not his time.

    1. How DID Hugh Jackman keep his hands off me? Who says he didn’t, Julie, who says he didn’t? 😉 LOL

      And I remain loyal to my preferred picks of Jacki Weaver and Helen Hunt.

  10. First of all, I am totally blown away by your party idea/food/attire! You are incredibly creative and I am jealous that none of my friends have thought to do something this fun for Oscars night! I love Nicole Kidman’s dress, but I have to say that Jennifer Aniston’s look was my personal fave of the evening!
    Fun post, Jess!

    1. Oh Dawn, you are so welcome to come to my party anytime! I would gladly have you! You should wear Nicole Kidman’s dress! 😀

  11. Oh my gosh! I won! *wiping tears* Thank you so much! It’s such a surprise and I don’t have anything prepared to say right now … but rest assured on that stage I would be one of those getting drowned out by the orchestra playing the Jaws theme!
    Jess, I wish I lived close enough to attend your Oscar party. I love the way you get all jazzed up and the food looks amazing! And so do you as a Bond girl!
    Thank you again for this great honour …

    1. Yay! Patricia I’m so happy you won, it was well deserved with so many correct Oscar picks! And I love your Oscar speech! 😀

      Email me your address so I can send you your Oscar swag! I’m still collecting recipes from the guests, but as soon as I have them I’ll send it out! Congratulations!

      *cues orchestra*

      1. Will do and thanks again!

  12. You’re a hoot! Thanks for the great recap. Love the pic with you in sequins doing dishes. That’s exactly how I dress to vacuum my house. 🙂

    1. Well I mean who doesn’t?

  13. […] Jess Witkins gives us a recap of the Oscars. And the Oscar for Best Party Goes To . . . […]

Tell me a story...