What to Watch on Date Night?

It’s no secret. I love movies. I would watch one every day if I could. Joe and I have been having some date night movie nights, and I thought I’d share some ideas to watch.

How to Pick a Movie for Date Night

Wine for the MoviesHow did that get there???

So you want to watch a movie, but don’t know what to pick, right? For this edition, we’ll focus on a few comedies and great storylines you’ll both enjoy!

Sports Movies You’ll Both Love!

The Cutting Edge

Starring D.B. Sweeney as an ex-hockey player whose only forward option is to partner figure skate with Olympic hopeful Moira Kelly. It’s the love story of opposites. Sweeney is playful, both in the rink and off. But Kelly is all hard work and practice. Can the two of them meet in the middle to win Olympic gold?

Major League

This movie is one of my favorites! A group of ball players, hand selected to be the worst team ever, push together to win the pennant. And if there’s a little romance story hidden amongst the locker room humor, the better for me!

Mr. Baseball

Another classic oldie but goodie. Tom Selleck stars as a once big ball player in the states who gets signed to the Japanese Dragons. Dumped in a new country where the customs and the etiquette of the game are different, it’s going to take some learning to get used to. Plus, Selleck is in top form in this movie. Fans of Three Men and a Baby will get the same humor they know and love.

Trouble With the Curve

Great cast of Clint Eastwood, Amy Adams, and Justin Timberlake! Eastwood plays a scout whose eyesight is failing. Adams is the estranged, but dutiful, daughter who goes scouting with him to help. And Timberlake is a new scout with a whole lot of respect for Eastwood. A smart movie that deals with the politics of baseball as well as family relationships. This one is sure to have something for everyone.

Field of Dreams

“If you build it, they will come.” – Field of Dreams is one of those iconic inspirational films you both will enjoy. When a corn farmer (Costner) starts hearing voices, he believes he’s supposed to build a baseball diamond in his yard. Some of the greatest ball players in history start to visit him, and this feel good movie takes off!

A League of Their Own

In my opinion, one can’t go wrong with Geena Davis. Men and women love her. Add to that Tom Hanks and Madonna, a movie full of history, laughter, baseball, and conflict will capture both your hearts. Just remember “there’s no crying in baseball!”

Cool Runnings

Based on the true story of the first Jamaican Olympic Bobsledding Team. It’s family friendly, full of laughs, and an inspirational story to boot. Add John Candy as their trainer and you’ve got classic 90’s humor.

Remember the Titans

Another true story of a high school football team’s evolution into mixed race games. Denzel Washington plays the newly hired African American coach who must unite his team together if they’re going to survive the season. Great soundtrack here as well.

Those are some of our favorites! What are yours?

What sports movies do you love to watch that double as great date night flicks?

25 responses

  1. Sports and movies. You know you had me with this post!! Friday Night Lights was the first movie my guy and I went to see together. And it was at the drive-in in good ole West Texas at that. I knew right then and there when he took me to see the story of my life out at the drive-in that he was a keeper.

    1. Awww, you guys are so romantic. Love it!

  2. That’s a hard question, Jess! Neither I nor my husband enjoys sports. He’ll watch the super bowl just so he’s not the only guy at work who didn’t, but he doesn’t care who wins or loses. So, when it comes to sports movies, we usually don’t watch ’em.

    I’ll tell you what a date night is for us. Picking some series on Netflix we’ve never seen and just marathoning it. Like we did with Breaking Bad or The Killing or Sons of Anarchy. Our most recent is Hemlock Grove, which was directed by Eli Roth (the creator of Hostel).

    By the way, I liked The Cutting Edge. Husband thought it was sappy.

    1. LOL. We just rewatched that one and both of us were shouting “Toe pick!” for a day.

      The only TV show we watch together is The Walking Dead.

  3. We’ve been into watching stand-up comedy on Netflix.

    1. Oooh love watching comedy for date night. Always good to laugh!

      1. Mostly, also, because I tend to fall asleep while we watch movies.

  4. These are all excellent choices. I’m especially impressed with your knowledge of The Cutting Edge, a cheesy but often overlooked classic. I would add Rudy and Cinderella Man to your list.

    1. You know, I haven’t seen Rudy. As a Sean Astin fan (Hello, Encino Man!!!) I need to remedy this!

      1. Warning: have some Kleenex handy.

  5. The Cutting Edge! It’s been years since I’ve seen it. Must add it to my DVD collection.

    1. *Does the pamchenko twist*

      Fabulous movie, right?!

  6. Oh . . . Doug. 🙂

    I am very impressed with your man’s loving of what basically are sports chick flicks! The only one I haven’t seen of those is Mr. Baseball. And I saw the comment above . . . you MUST see Rudy. That is an excellent movie, but yes, tissues are a necessity!

    And I just saw Trouble with the Curve. Good movie.

    1. I think Major League and Mr. Baseball are more guy movies, but the comedy is great!

      I will add Rudy to my list.

  7. Great list of movies. The Cutting Edge is one of my favorites–hubby even liked it. 🙂 We’re so bad about getting to the movies, so we haven’t seen the newer ones (this decade!). LOL. I’ll be adding those to my list.

    1. Sounds like you need to plan a date night for you and your man!

  8. These are great classic ones! Thanks for reminding me about some of these. I just went to see, The Way Way Back with Steve Carrell at the theater and it was fabulous! Although, we usually have better luck renting rather than going to a theater! I just posted about my husband’s bad experiences at the movies. If you have a minute, take a read. 🙂 http://swimmingtomy50s.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/why-my-husband-hates-going-to-the-movies/

    1. I want to see that movie! I love Toni Collette!

      Will check out your post too!

  9. I’m not normally into sports movies however, I LOVED Cool Runnings and haven’t seen it in ages! A League of Their Own and Field of Dreams were also really good movies I’d watch again. When my kids were young, we loved Mighty Ducks, The Sandlot and Angels in the Outfield.

    1. All classics! I love all those movies!

  10. Great picks Jess. I had forgotten a lot of them. Although I have never heard of the Clint Eastwood movie. I’ve got to check that one out. Hubby and I are due for a date-night movie. Thanks girl! 🙂

    1. You’ll love Trouble with the Curve! I really enjoyed that one!

      Have fun on your date night!

  11. I’m surprised no one mentioned Bull Durham! That one was fun for sports, but also sexy as sin. Personally, I liked The Replacements, too…and The Rookie (Dennis Quaid is hot!). I could keep going as I love sports movies in general, but I’ll leave it at that for now.

    1. I haven’t seen Bull Durham, but I liked The Rookie a lot too. More to add to my list.

      1. My favorite scene in the movie?

Tell me a story...