A Mini-Road Trip and Mash Up

Hey Peeps!  How are you all today?  I’ve been thinking of you!  I’m currently on a two day hiatus trip home to give my mom and pop their Mother’s Day and Father’s Day presents early.  I’ve got a crazy summer schedule starting up, so I’m glad I got to hang out with the family for a day.  Spent the three hour drive home jammin to old school Tori Amos cds, which was fun and don’t worry, I know you’re jealous.

Today, I slept in until 8 am!  Then I stayed in bed and read until 10!  When I went downstairs I was loudly greeted by my 3 year old niece dressed all in pink princess wardrobe.  I managed to squeeze in a mini work out by chasing her around and doing what I consider to be weighted leg curls because we played “Super Sonja” for quite some time until my legs gave out.  We totally earned that snack break of juice and chex mix.

Many of you are up to more studious things, or things that made me laugh, so I’m happy to share them all with you!  Please feel free to chat, and know I’ll be with you momentarily after I drive the 3 hours back home.

On Writing and Reading:

Kristen Lamb has been blogging some REALLY INTERESTING stuff on the nature and future of the publishing industry.  Find out what’s in store for Barnes and Noble in Big Six Publishing is Dead – Welcome the Massive Three and also The WANA Plan to Save Bookstores and Revive Publishing.

Leanne Shirtliffe, of Wordbitches, recently wrote about a topic I could relate to:  My Love Hate Relationship With Triberr.  What’s your take on this new social media aid?

And Rachelle Gardner had guest blogger Dineen Miller talking about how to put some marketing in your book!  Rooted Marketing:  Building Marketing Tools Into Your Story.

Movie Reviews (Mostly on The Avengers):

Amanda Rudd got advanced screening tickets to The Avengers!  OMG!

Jillian Dodd has you covered this MANday, blogging about the men of The Avengers.  And don’t forget, it’s not to late to enter the MANday Contest!  Find out how to win a $500 Amazon Gift Card here.

Tiffany A White gives her Fabooolous opinion on the flick in Time to Avenge.

Ellie Ann Soderstrom and the gang at Slacker Heroes gives us their Most Anticipated Summer Movies reviews and expectations.

Because Exercise and Nutrition are Growing More Important to Me:

Sherry Isaac guest blogged at the Life List Club about her plan of attack or lack thereof with her exercise routine.  I totally empathized, you might too.  Now she’s got me making changes.  Check out Weigh the Method, Relish the Outcome.

I love this article posted by August McLaughlin, who should be your go to blogger for nutrition and well being.  August explores the myths and gives tips on Body Image.

That’s what I’ve been reading!  Got a link for me?  Include it with your comments!  And I’ll be there to join you soon!

17 responses

  1. WOOT! A mention on the Jess Witkin’s blog. I’m famous!

    Enjoy your road trip, cherish your visit, thanks for the shout out, and thanks for the princess leg curl tips. Safe journey!

    1. Oh, I’ve got more ideas for us. Just wait.

  2. Leanne Shirtliffe | Reply

    Thanks for the kind shout. I actually took one week off from Triberr after that. 🙂

    Happy sleeping in! (And I love summer driving…)

    1. It ended up being a nice drive until the last half hour which would periodically downpour for 2 minutes, then be sunny and clear. It repeated that craziness for awhile, but I did get in a nice walk after my arrival while it was still sunny!

  3. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos | Reply

    Thanks for including my blog in your mash up!!

    1. How’s the MANday challenge going?

      1. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos | Reply

        It’s building slowly. I still have a lot of work to do!!

  4. Sounds like you’re having such an awesome visit home, Jess. Glad to hear it! Can’t thank you enough for the blog support and warm shout out. You’re the BEST. Off to check out links I’ve missed… Your fam is lucky to have ya! And so are we.

    1. Sweetest. Comment. Eva! 😀

  5. Thanks for including me, Jess! I can’t wait to meet you!! 🙂

    1. Good thing we’re going as professionals, I can totally see us being the troublemakers passing notes in class!

  6. Looks like we have the same “required reading” list. And, for the record, I love Tori Amos. In fact, I am Tori Amos in my car. Seriously. 😉

    1. “And if I die today I’ll be the happy phantom…” Loves me some Tori too. I think she got me through high school.

  7. So jealous. I really, really wish I could hear “Cornflake Girl” right now. BTW, thought of you the other night when I took Tara to Voodoo for her first-ever maple bacon bar. The verdict? Thumbs up! 🙂

    1. I didn’t doubt it for a minute! Have one for me!

  8. Such great links. Heading over to read the Triberr one now. I cannot stand triberr. I don’t use it, but as someone who uses Twitter, I find it very cliquey. It seems to lead to a barrage of links being tweeted at the rest of us. I know that sounds crabby–but I feel it’s taken some of the authenticity out of the Twitter experience.

    1. Well, you’ll have a thing or two to say about Leanne’s post then. Enjoy!

Tell me a story...