Happiness Boosters and Posts that Promote You

Hello Everyone!  I’ve been training all last week (and still am) in a new Manager Position, so forgive me for not visiting as many of you as I try to. And worse, for not working on that WIP like I should be. I’m currently sitting at 51K on Oops Baby (the WIP). I’ll update you soon! In the meantime, I’ve been reading some great stuff and thought it was time for another mash up! Grab your coffee and settle in!

Coffee Time

Happiness Boosters

With summer finally here, are you feeling like you have nothing to wear? Are you on a tight budget and trying to re-purpose your closet? Nina Badzin shares Wardrobe Rescue – Her story of getting help from a Style Expert who matched up clothes that were already in her closet!

Speaking of wardrobes…What does your footwear say about your love life? The hilarious Tawna Fenske asks herself just that in Judging My Love Life By My Footwear.

Looking for a little life recharge from the solitary writer’s life? Joe Warnimont shares Breaking Through Writing Solitude with ideas to escape cabin fever and refuel again!

The Packing Tips You Don’t Want to Miss

Romance writer Erin Knightley packs 8 days worth of travel into one carry on bag! Need to see it to believe it? She’s got a video! It’s beautiful! I will definitely be implementing her tips when Joe and I take our road trip again this summer.  How to Pack for Nationals

Wondering where to go on your next vacation? I am so excited for author Patricia Sands who joined forces with Women’s Travel Network to plan a trip to Provence, France touring the sites from her book, The Promise of Provence. Looking at the itinerary, it sounds like the trip of a lifetime!  Come to France With Us Next June!

Remember when planes were fun? People dressed up to travel and the food was elegant. Renee Schuls-Jacobson reminisces When Flying Was Fun.

Make ‘Em Laugh, Make ‘Em Laugh

Jenny Hansen of the blog, More Cowbell, shares Dumb State Laws That Made Me Laugh. A few of my favorites from Jenny’s home state, California:

  • No vehicle without a driver may exceed 60 miles per hour. (Whew.)
  • It is a misdemeanor to shoot at any kind of game from a moving vehicle, unless the target is a whale.
  • Animals are banned from mating publicly within 1,500 feet of taverns, schools, or places of worship.

Amy at Left to Write was Freshly Pressed with the post Am I a Millenial? As someone who questions this constantly myself, I feel her pain. I too grew up with a rotary phone in the house and thought the best boy band was New Kids on the Block. And yet I Instagram, therefore I am… ???

Pimp and Promote

Glitter Queen and California Girl, Tameri Etherton, is getting ready to launch her new website. She’s got a great teaser of what it looks like in the form of the coolest business cards ever as well as a name competition to name her dragon mascot!  Dragon Names! RWA Prep! Movies! It’s all here today!

One of my favorite new blogs to read is Madge Madigan‘s. Looking for a laugh from a woman with real snark spark? Ok, snark too. She’s been offering her book, When Life Gives You Lemons…At Least You Won’t Get Scurvy for great deals lately so keep posted to get your copy!

Two of my favorite ladies in one place! Tiffany A. White interviews paranormal writer/blogger Catie Rhodes! Get her take on Ghosts, Haunted Houses, and Forever Road!

Geek Goddess and Steampunk Warrior Ellie Ann has released her debut novel, The Silver Sickle, and a new website! Nab your copy today!

Post-apocalyptic writer Piper Bayard still has her Reader/Blogger Challenge going on to win some PR/Schwag in honor of her amazing new book, Firelands – which I am reading and LOVING! She recently blogged about Currency of the Apocalypse – Whatcha Got?

What did I miss?

Feel free to promote a post of your own in the comments! See you there!

46 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing – love those posts, esp Am I a Millennial? I was born four years earlier, so I can safely say I’m an Xer, I suppose. Frankly, I think anyone who used a rotary phone can say that, whether they now own a TV or not. 🙂

    1. Then YAY!!! I want to be an Xer too! I seem to fit more with you lot.

      1. You definitely have the heart and soul of and X-er, Jess!

  2. Valerie Johnson | Reply

    Thank you for sharing “When Flying Was Fun.” I am still jet lagged from my 13 hours in the air two days ago. The man in front of me reclined into my lap, my tv didn’t work, and the food was seriously worse than the most awful airline food I’d ever had. And — isn’t it mean to make all of us economy class folks walk by the POD PEOPLE in first class on the way to our measly square foot of space at the back of the plane?? Glad to be home.

    1. Oh ugh! You poor thing. Where did you go?

  3. Aw, thank you so much for pimping me! I’m glad I can make you laugh and look down upon other people. lol Just kidding. I always love your comments, and always enjoy reading your blog! Thanks again!

    1. Right back atcha Queen Madge!

  4. Awesome happiness boosters here. Thanks so much for including me. I’m so glad you’re enjoying FIRELANDS, and I appreciate all of your support. 🙂

    1. I really want your book to become a movie. Please make that happen. And I think Ellie Ann would make a kick ass Archer.

      1. She would, but she would have to fight my daughter for the role. The two of them could pass for sisters. Thank you for your support!

        1. That’d be awesome! Can I play Bunny? I’m growing out my red hair! Pleeeeeeeease.

  5. Recently, I stretched my parameters by reading about zombies. ZOMBIES! Not normally a zombie maven, I became intrigued by T.W. Brown’s DEAD: THE UGLY BEGINNING. So O read it and blogged a review of not only that book but ZOMBLOG, also.
    My blog title, “Zombies? Who Knew?”
    http://kimwriter.wordpress.com/

    1. Lol. Welcome to the dark side!

      1. Jess, I just now saw your comment. I enjoyed Todd Brown’s zombie books better than World War Z. He was more imaginative with his zombies.

  6. Thanks so much for including me in your Happiness mash-up today. You always put together a fabulous list and I know what I will be doing on my writing breaks today. (I’ve already hit two of them …!) I’m off to RWA Nationals tomorrow (and a big WANAfest – woohoo!). Best of luck with your new job!

    1. Oooh more things to be jealous over. Going to RWA. *sad face* Have a wonderful time!!!

    2. Have a great time at the Atlanta WANA-fest, Patricia!!!

  7. Congrats on your new position AND your WIP progress (LOL! I hope training is going wonderfully. Great picks, here. YOU are a happiness booster – just sayin’!

    1. Awww that’s sweet. Thanks love! (hugs)

  8. Dang, girlie…I’m training too! Why do you put out all this magnificence when I’ve got to go to work??! Thanks for including those state laws — they made me know beyond a doubt that politicians are a bit brainless. 🙂

    1. You are magificent. Share a reblog. Everything you touch is gold! Good luck with your training!

      1. Gold…*snort* See why I adore you?

        1. In the words of the Moulin Rouge sitar “I only speak the truth.” 😀

  9. Flying is still fun! It’s just a different kind of fun these days. The secret is bloody marys, both before and during the flight. Add a barf bag, a couple of cocktail peanuts, and page 23 from Skymall Magazine and you’ve got a marvelous flight ahead of you, trust me.

    1. Lol. I like your sense of travel fun. I would sit by you. …. But then, you’d blog about me. Hmmmmm

  10. Thank you so much for posting about The Silver Sickle. Good luck on Oops Baby, I love the title. Happy writing!

    1. Same to you Ms. Ellie Ann! Much success to you friend!

  11. Thanks for the mention, dudette! I can’t wait to read your memoir. Oh, don’t worry about when you can’t visit my blog. I’d much rather know you spent time working on OOPS BABY than know you’re farting around at my website.

    1. I like farting around your website! 😛

  12. Congratulations on the new job! Woohoo! It looks like we need to squeeze in some writing sprints around your training schedule. 😉

    1. Oy. That’s all I can say about that.

  13. Thanks for the blog love, Jess! I can’t wait to read your WIP… and I LOVE the title. Not to sound too much like Ellie… 🙂

    1. Hugs! Thank you! How’s FS 2 coming along?

  14. Congratulations, Jess! This Pimp and Promote blog is great! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Feel free to share more links!

  15. Congrats, Jess. Do tell….

    1. I’ll keep you posted!

  16. Great mashup! I don’t know if I want to know what my shoes say about my love life, but now I can’t not know! I have to pop over there when I finish here. So much goodness in one place! Thank you for including me, I’m humbled to be with these awesome bloggers.

    Congrats on the new position! I love that pic of you, it’s so sweet!

    1. Can’t wait to hear what the dragon gets named!

      What do your shoes say about your love life? … SPARKLY!!! 😀

  17. Great mash up, Jess! This is a fresh take on the usual writer’s resources. Congrats on the new job!

    1. Thanks Marcia! I’ll keep you updated in an email soon!

      How are YOU, my dear?

      1. I’m kicking arse and takin names, as usual, sweets!

  18. Excellente! And congrats on the new position!

  19. That was a great Mash-up Jess! For being that busy, you sure know how to put it together girl! I’m gonna go check some of them out. Thanks! 🙂

    1. Awww, thank you Karen! I appreciate that. But I think I just have you all fooled. I’m kind of a hyper personality. LOL

Tell me a story...